Course Guide for EU Scholars Seminar: Rival Models of Capitalism in Europe
(PS 115/POLI 195) Spring 2001
Nigel Boyle
Contents:
Finding Books
Search Blais, the Libraries
online catalog, using the most significant words in your research topic.
If your keyword search finds some relevant titles, look at the subject
headings that
have been assigned; you can click on them to find more books on that
subject.
Sample searches:
- Author:
- Kitschelt, Herbert
- Giddens, Anthony
- Title:
- The third way and its critics
- Continuity and change in contemporary capitalism
- Keyword: (also called "Word", Blais assumes a Boolean "and")
- europe capitalism
- slovenia economy
- Subject headings: (precise terms assigned by Library of Congress,
clickable in Blais)
- Communist countries - economic policy
- Post communism
- Fiscal Policy - Europe Eastern
In addition to Blais, there are other library catalogs that can be used
to search for books. They include:
Link+ - A union (multi-library)
catalog and book request service that
allows Claremont Colleges students, faculty and staff to borrow books
unavailable at our
Libraries. This service is provide fasters delivery of materials than
traditional Interlibrary
Loan Services, usually in 3-5 days. Participating libraries include CSU
Fullerton, CSU Hayward, CSU Long Beach,
Cal Poly Pomona, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, San Diego State, San
Francisco State, San Jose
State, Occidental College, and the Claremont Colleges.
WorldCat
on
FirstSearch - A union
catalog that shows holdings of most libraries in North America and the
U.K.. These materials
may be borrowed through ILL.
Back To Contents List
Finding articles in scholarly journals or magazines
If you want to find articles in scholarly journals or in magazines or
newspapers, you will need to use an index. The Libraries have many
indexes in electronic
format, and these databases are listed by title and by subject on the
Libraries web site
under “Research”. You may need to search Blais by title of the source
(journal or magazine
title) to determine if the library has the publication that you have
located in an index.
Remember that authors and titles of articles are NOT in Blais.
Databases for locating articles on government and politics include:
(Note: A link to each database can also be found on the Libraries' web
site under either the
Databases--by Subject or
Databases--by Title list).
Academic
Universe (Lexis/Nexis)
This is a full-text database consisting of millions of articles covering
the fields of business, law and legislation, medicine, and general
news.
Newspaper
Abstracts
Includes citations from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Christian
Science Monitor, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal as well as many
other newspapers.
On FirstSearch.
PAIS
Index to public policy and social issues, information in a wide range of
subjects. PAIS on Ovid indexes journals back to 1972, and is available
in paper back to the early 1900's. Contains selected citations to
journal articles, books, government documents and reports. Also indexes
foreign language publications.
Political Science Abstracts Citations with table of contents from
more than 300 journals worldwide in political science and government.
Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool, covers journals
from 1975- present, and is updated monthly.
United Nations Documents Index
(Access UN) (1965 - current) Indexes documents, periodicals and
general interest publications published by the United Nations. The
library has many of
these publications in paper, in addition to a comprehensive subscription
to the United Nations
Collection on microfiche. This collection is only indexed in UNDOC, the
UN Documents
Index. Available in paper, on local CD-ROM, on the CD-ROM Network and on
the WWW.
Wilson's Reader's Guide Abstracts to Periodical Literature
General,
multi-disciplinary index. Contains records for general and popular
articles in all subjects. Ovid covers sources back to 1983; in paper
back to the turn of the century located in Honnold/Mudd Index Room/Table
1. Preceded by 19th Century Readers Guide covering 1890-1899, and
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, covering 1802-1906, also in
Honnold Index Room/Table 1.
Wilson's Social Sciences Abstracts Provides access to citations
for articles
and book reviews published in over 415 major international
English-language
scholarly journals in the social sciences. A great database for
beginning research on topics
in anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many other
disciplines in the social sciences.
World News Connection Provides
access to the fulltext English language translations of foreign news
service articles, translations of foreign speeches and other news items
from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) For coverage of
1975-1996 use FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) Ask a
Reference Librarian in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center to log you into
this database.
Back To Contents List
Finding Government Information (Primary Sources) at The
Libraries
Government publications are those created, issued, published or financed
by a government agency. Such agencies can be at international, national,
state, regional, county, or local levels. In addition to typical
government
documents such as laws, congressional hearings, and court reports, there
are a variety of
materials on a wide range of topics. These include such things as census
data, economic
data, educational reports, environmental studies, industrial surveys,
health information,
marketing research, legal materials, and statistics on just about any
subject imaginable.
Government information is considered to be a primary source. Primary
sources are defined as the
raw, unanalyzed material that is the starting point and basis of all
good research. A
primary source can also be anything that offers a first-hand account,
such as letters,
maps, photographs, paintings, a poem, the manuscript of a novel, a
newspaper
advertisement, a diary, transcripts of congressional hearings, census
data, statistics or a
report.
Generally, you should search Blais for government
publications owned by the libraries. Also, look in Finding
Government Publications in the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges.
Not all of the government's publications are in Blais, and some require
special
finding tools to locate them. Refer to these pages if you need something
not listed in
Blais, and request the publication from Interlibrary Loan if it is not
held at
Claremont.
Back To Contents List
Finding Information on American Government and International Politic
Using the Web
- Meta-Sites
Government
Publications Department Home Page This page has been developed
specifically for the use of students, faculty and staff of the Claremont
Colleges. Provides links to departmental information, Government
Agencies, specific subject guides, alphabetical lists popular sites, and
several
more specific pages.
International
Affairs Page (Claremont Government Publications Online)
Provides
selected links to directories, agency link sites (meta-sites), and links
for International Law. Titles and Links for Country Information; Maps.
International
Organizations-This page is created and maintained by The
International Documents Task Foce of The Government Documents Round
Table of The American Library Association.
It provides an alphabetical listing of International Governmental
Organizations websites, many of which have online datanases and
publications as well
as online lists.
Research Guide to International Government Information This
Research Guide has been created to provide guidance in finding
Information in International Government Publications and from
International Inter-Governmental Agencies. Provides links to course
Guides.
Statistical
Universe Comprehensive index to U.S. statistical information.
Some full-text,
some citations. Indexes both official government and statistics from
private sources.
This resource is available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or
connecting to a
Claremont Colleges modem pool.
University
of Michigan International Relations Agencies and Information on the
Web
- Excellent WWW site which provides access to many sources of
information
International Government Relations. Links to agencies, foreign
governments,
news sources, tresties, and a special focus on United States Policy.
- Specific Sites
Access UN (United Nations
Documents Index) (1979 - current) Indexes documents ,
periodicals and general interest publications published by the United
Nations. The library has many of these publications in paper,
in addition to a comprehensive subscription to the United Nations
Collection
on microfiche. This resource is available only to users at the
Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
Alexandria
Digital Library This is a site which allows you to
view maps of countries.
Background
Notes These are a collection of publications on countries
updated regularly with demographic,political and economic information.
The
information is more extensive than the CIA World Factbook.
CIA
World Factbook This publication has country information
including
demographic, political and economic data.
CNN Europe A sub-site
of CNN which gives European news. It also gives current information
on political events and public figures.
European Central Bank
In addition to providing links to all the European System of Central
Banks, this site is full of links to information about the new monetary
system.
European
Parliament This site provides links to press releases,
full text minutes of sessions and information about meetings. Allows
searching by key issues, speakers, dates, etc.
Eurostat:
Statistical Office of the European Communities (World Wide
Web); Collects data from the National Statistical Institutes
of each of the 15 member states of the European Union.
European Union
This is the official web site of the European Union. It is multilingual,
allowing searching in several languages in topics such as key issues and
offical documents. Provides direct links to related Web sites.
FBIS
(Foreign Broadcast Information Service) (1975-1996).
(CD-ROM Hon Search Center)
Index to translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions,
newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the
world. The
translations are published as a set, which is owned in microfiche in the
Government
Publications and Microforms Department. Covers 8 world areas. (For 1996
- current see: World News
Connection
Government
Information
Resources Page – This page has been developed specifically for
the
use of students,
faculty and staff of the Claremont Colleges. Provides links to
departmental information,
Government Agencies, International agencies, specific subject guides,
alphabetical lists of
popular sites, and
several more specific pages.
Radio Free
Europe This site provides links to news broadcasts from allover
Europe and the
United States.Includes links to audio news in many different languages.
World Development
Indicators from the World Bank. Presents downloadable data
providing a comprehensive
statistical survey of indicators on world view, people, environment,
economy, states and markets, and global links. The database covers the
years 1978
to 1997 in most cases. Available only to users in the search centers of
the Libraries.
World News Connection
You must ask at the Honnold/Mudd Reference Desk for this resource, the
librarian will enter
the password for you. Contains translations of broadcasts, news agency
transmissions,
newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the
world, available within 48 hours. The older translations are also
published as a set,
which is owned in microfiche in the
Government Publications and Microforms Department. Covers 8 world
areas.For
pre-1996, see: FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service).
Back To Contents List
General Information
Help With
Library Research - Links to web pages that give specific help with
Library Research.
Citing
Your Sources - For help with citation of sources, both paper and
electronic. There are
three helpful sites for this. For non-governmental information the
Libraries' Citing electronic and print documents is excellent.
Brief Guide to
Citing Government Information - For help with citing government
information resources,
this site is extremely helpful.
Back To Contents List
For further help in your research, or finding or using Government
Publications, please
contact:
The Library Bibliographer for Government Publications and International
Relations is Mary
Martin, mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu. You may also reach her at (909)
621-8923.
The Library Bibliographer for Government/Political Science is Ruth
Schooley, (ruth.schooley@libraries.claremont.edu)
You may also call at (909) 607-7122.
BRS 3/2001
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais