How
to Cite Government Information Resources
Brief
Guide to Citing Government Information - Government Information
is cited differently from most other books and articles as there is what
is called a "corporate author". For help with citing government information
resources, the following site is extremely helpful.
Basic
Legal Citation - This citation primer is based on the Sixteenth
Edition of the "Bluebook." This document links, point by point, to the
disk version of this material held on the LII's Folio Webserver. A few
of the example links that are functional on disk do not work on the net.
Citing
Electronic & Print Documents - This page provides links
to basic Guides to Citation in both print and electronic formats. Links
to several basic citation guides such as MLA, APA, and Turabian Style Guides.
Back To Contents List
Selected
Subject Headings in Anglo-American Law
Anglo-American Law
Civil Rights
Coke, Edward, Sir, 1552-1634
Common law -- England -- History
Common Law -- Great Britain
Common Law -- United States
Jurisprudence
Law -- History and Criticism
Law -- Great Britain -- History and Criticism
Law -- United States -- History and Criticism
United States -- Constitutional Law
Back To Contents List
Finding
Books
Blais
- the online catalog of the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges (DEN, HON,
SGM, SPR), is searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, and call number.
In addition to materials in the four libraries, Blais also includes
materials at the Claremont School of Theology (STC), Rancho Santa Ana Botanic
Gardens (RSA), and the Center for Research Libraries (in Chicago). Books
can be searched by author, title, or subject. If you are unsure of the
exact title or if your subject search doesn't produce the results you hoped
for, try a "Words in title" search using two or three of the most significant
words from the title or subject you are trying to find. Subject searching
requires use of Library of Congress Subject Headings. A list of possible
subject headings is provided above.
CSULink -Union
catalog and book request service that allows Claremont Colleges students,
faculty and staff to borrow books unavailable at our Libraries. This new
service is expected to provide faster delivery of materials than traditional
Interlibrary Loan Services. Participating libraries include CSU Fullerton,
CSU Hayward, CSU Long Beach, Cal Poly Pomona, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo,
San Diego State, San Francisco State, San Jose State, Occidental College,
and the Claremont Colleges.
WorldCat
on FirstSearch - Union catalog of over 36 million records of any
type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts
written as early as the 11th century. Firstsearch) -- has holdings
of most libraries in North America and the U.K.. These materials may be
borrowed through ILL.
Back To Contents List
Finding
Legal Resources in Paper
Primary Sources
Constitution
-
The Constitution of the United States, Revised and Annotated.
Hon
Gov US Y 1.1/3:99-16 1992. Analysis of cases decided by the Supreme
Court of the United States to June 29, 1992. Annotated commentary on each
section of the Constitution, with reference to interpretation in relevant
Supreme Court cases.
Statutes (Legislation)
-
The United States Code. Hon Gov Ref US Y 1 2/5:988.
All statutes currently in force, organized by subject matter in fifty "Titles"
and well indexed. Supplements for years since the last complete edition.
Also available in CD-ROM, and on Academic
Universe(Lexis/Nexis)
-
United States Statutes at Large. Hon Gov Ref US GS
4.111. Laws passed each session of Congress organized chronologically
by their Public Law (PL) number. "Slip laws" are individual prints of new
laws which are received as they are enacted and shelved loosely in containers.
-
United States Code Annotated Hon KF62 .A3 The
U.S. Code Annotated is a commercial version of the U.S. Code that is annotated
with a keynote subject indexing and other features added by West's' Publishing
Company.
Secondary Sources (Selected)
-
Black's Law Dictionary. Hon Ref KB 561 1968. For translation
of legal terminology.
-
The Guide to American Law : Everyone's Legal Encyclopedia Hon
Ref KF 156 G77 1983. Excellent source of historical encyclopedic information
on the law - updated by West's Encyclopedia of American Law.
-
Index to legal periodicals Hon Ref Periodicals 1926-1987 in
paper in the index section. (Index to Legal Periodicals): Indexes articles
from over 600 legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs,
law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States,
Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Includes book
reviews.
-
West's Encyclopedia of American Law Hon Ref Fol KF 154 W47 1998.
Comprehensive source of information on the U.S. system of federal and
state constitutions, statutes, regulations, and common-law decisions.
Finding Tools
-
(CIS) Congressional Information Service Index, Abstracts, and Legislative
Histories. Hon Microforms Ref KF 49 C62. Commonly known as CIS.
Since 1970, the best guide to Congressional committee hearings, reports,
and documents, as well as for Public Laws and Conference Committee reports.
Consult the Index first, then the Abstracts, which will give
you the "Y numbers" to locate the materials on the shelves or in microfiche.
The Legislative History volumes are more recent, but cover Public
Laws well. 1989 - current also available on CD-ROM and on the WWW; see
description below for Congressional Masterfile, for
1970 - current, see Congressional Universe.
-
Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Names. Hon Ref Desk KF 80
55 1992 (Second copy in reference). So you want to know what law people
are referring to when they say "The Clean Air Act" or "Gramm-Rudman"?
-
United States Code Congressional and Administrative News.
Hon
K UN2 CA 1993. A periodical updating of newly enacted public laws and
their legislative histories, as well as presidential documents. (Older
issues in general library stacks)
Judicial Decisions
-
The Constitution of the United States, Revised and Annotated.
Hon
Gov US Y 1.1/3:99-16 1992. Annotated commentary on each section of
the Constitution, with reference to interpretation in relevant Supreme
Court cases.
-
United States Reports: Cases adjudged in the Supreme Court. Hon K UN3A
(general library stacks) A digest of all cases decided by the Supreme Court
throughout its history. Most recent cases are issued as Slip Opinions,
which are then collected in Official Reports of the Supreme Court
before being included in United States Reports.Supreme Court
Reporter (West's) Hon K Su761 Comprehensive review of Supreme
Court Cases and decisions. Kept updated by advance sheets.
-
U.S. Supreme Court Digest (Lawyer's Edition). Hon KF 101.1
D 32 v. 55. (general library stacks) A complete and current index to
Supreme Court cases.
Secondary Sources (Selected)
-
Black's Law Dictionary. Hon Ref KB 561 1968. Excellent source
for definitions and translations of legal terminology.
-
Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States, Constitutional Law. Hon Ref KF101.9 L36 1975. This is an excellent source of additional material such as apellate briefs to Supreme Court cases.
-
Law journals such as the Harvard Law Review, UCLA Law Review,
Administrative Law Review, etc. Use a periodical index such as
Index to Legal Periodicals, or search on Academic
Universe(Lexis/Nexis) in the Law Review File for citations to as
well as full-text law review articles..
-
Corpus Juris Secundum. Hon K C811S A Complete Restatement
of the Entire American Law. Has a general index and a loose-leaf translation
table.
-
United States Law Week. Hon Ref KF 175 U8x Loose-leaf service
that reports Federal Circuit and Supreme Court decisions weekly.
Finding Tools
-
Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation 16th edition. Hon Ref Desk KF
245 B58 1996. This not only lists forms of legal citation, it is a
key to deciphering them.
-
Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Names. Hon Gov Ref KF 80
55 1992 (Second copy in reference). So you want to know what law people
are referring to when they say "The Clean Air Act" or "Gramm-Rudman"?
-
Shepard's Federal Case Names Citator (Ninth Circuit Court) Hon Ref Desk
K SH 477 F4. Lists names and citations for the Federal Reporter, Federal
Circuit Court Cases.
-
Shepard's United States Supreme Court Names Citator.
Hon Ref
Desk K SH47 S9 1987 (general library stacks) This publications lists
case name and citations that appear in U.S. Supreme Court Reports
(Lawyer's
Edition), United States Reports (Lawyer's Edition), and United
States Supreme Court Reports, second series).
-
United States Supreme Court Decisions: An Index to Excerpts, Reprints
and Decisions. Hon Ref KF 101.6 G83 1983. Although published
in 1983, this is a concise, one volume index to books on Supreme Court
Decisions.
-
West's general digest. eighth series also called Tenth decennial
digest : American digest system: and American Digest System,
Hon K. Am3 D10. A digest of all current decisions of the American courts
as reported in the National reporter system and other standard reports
: continuing the 10th decennial digest part 1.
Administrative Law (Executive Branch)
Primary Sources
-
President and the White House
-
Public Papers of the Presidents. Hon Gov Ref US GS 4.113.
(Prior to Herbert Hoover, the volumes are shelved in the general library
stacks under J 81 B96 - some papers are in Hon Microfilm) Everything
each President has ever done that was recorded on paper is in this series.
-
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. Hon Gov Ref
US GS 4.114:18. Collection of such documents as press releases, executive
orders, proclamations, speeches, etc. More current than the above.
Administrative Agencies
-
Code of Federal Regulations. Hon Ref US AE 2.106/3:1998.
A compilation of final rules and regulations produced by executive branch
agencies to elaborate on Public Laws, organized by subject matter in 50
"Titles" parallel to those of US Code (see above). Updated annually. (Also
available on Academic
Universe (Lexis/Nexis) ) and the Federal Bulletin Board)
-
The Federal Register. Hon Gov US Microfiche GS 4.107:42.
A daily compilation of Presidential Executive Orders, Proclamations and
reorganization plans, as well as all rules and regulations proposed by
executive branch agencies. Also contains notices of public meetings, hearings,
etc. (Also available on Academic
Universe (Lexis/Nexis) and the Federal Bulletin Board)
Back To Contents List
Finding Historical Resources
For access to an annotated version of the U.S. Constitution and other
Founding Documents (The Federalist Papers) etc. try the U.S.
Constitution Page.
For information on library resources in History, which includes Politics,
connect to the excellent Research Guide in History located on the Library's
Research section (Click on "Research Guides", then scroll down
to the subject History and click).
Another excellent guide to resources in Government available electronically
for current sources, and in paper for historical government Publications
sources, is the American
Government Resource Guide.
Archiving Early
America Here you will find original newspapers, maps and writings
from 18th Century America. An array of authentic documents that form an
historical record of a significant time in the American experience-- the
Colonial Period, the War of Independence, and the presidencies of George
Washington and Thomas Jefferson.
Counselquest
COUNSEL QUEST™ is a premier internet legal research web tool. Designed
to guide its guests to the vast amount of legal and governmental resources
available on the internet in a quick, concise and easy to use format. As
an added convenience, C.Q. has developed the Remote Briefcase™, a pop-up
index of this site to take with you on your internet quest (only available
with JavaScript enhanced web browsers)
U.S. Constitution (Hypertext
Version) Here you will find the text of the U.S. Constitution,
Amendments, and the Bill of Rights, in a hypertext format that permits
a fuller understanding of the original meaning of the Constitution. Links
to other pertinent sites such as the Supreme Court are also included.
Constitution
links Here you will find different sites that include the U.S.
Constitution, Amendments to the Constitution, the Bill of Rights and even
scanned copies of the original Constitution.
The
Federalist Project Vote Smart's compilation of links to historic
documents includes the Federalist Papers.
The
Declaration An online exhibit presented by the Library of Congress
detailing the chronology of the Declaration of Independence, with some
graphics.
Back To Contents List
Finding Information on Anglo-American Law Using the
WWW
Academic
Universe(Lexis/Nexis)
This is a full-text database consisting of millions of articles covering
the fields of business, law and legislation, and general news. There are
terminals available in the Reference, Government Publications, and Asian
Studies departments. You may also Telnet through the Library Services Menu.
Also has more than 650 full-text information sources such as newspaper
articles, journals, newsletters, wire services, and broadcast transcripts,
which are updated as often as daily. There are legal resource files, which
contain primary sources such as cases, statutes, and regulations as well
as secondary materials such as law review articles etc. There are restrictions
on its use, and you must be a Claremont Colleges student to use Academic
Universe. You may access Academic Universe through the Library Web Page.
You may also Telnet through the Library Services Menu.
Congressional
Universe (CIS) Congressional Information Service Index (CIS) Congressional
Compass (Congressional Information Service) (1970-current). Guide, index
and abstracts to hearings, committee prints, reports and documents issued
by Congress. (Also available on CD-ROM from 1989 - current) With Congressional
Compass, researchers can track legislative and public policy issues as
well as the activities of committees and members of Congress. Actually
provides links to certain files in Lexis/Nexis/Academic Universe. Congressional
Compass/Congressional Information Service Index (CIS) (1970-current). For
historical congressional documentation back to 1789 see:
Congressional
Masterfile I: 1768-1969Congressional Masterfile I: 1768-1969Provides
indexing for major Congressional documents including U.S. Serials Set,
1789-1969; U.S. Senate Executive Documents and Reports, 1817-1969; U.S.
Congressional Committee Hearings; 1833-1969; and U.S. Congressional Committee
Prints, 1830-1969. [This resource is available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries - This resource is available only to
users within the Libraries.]
C-SPAN C-SPAN
is a public service created by the American cable television industry to
provide access to the proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives
and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed,
debated and decided.
Court TV
America Lawyer Media, L.P. presents this web site. Use the search engine
to find information on the case or issue you are researching.
House Law Library
Contains: U.S. Federal laws (arranged by original published source or agency),
U.S. state and territorial laws, laws of other nations, treaties and international
law, law school law library catalogues and services, and attorney and legal
profession directories.
Thomas
(House
of Representatives through Library of Congress). Includes: Bill Text, Congressional
Record Text, Bill Summary & Status, Hot Bills, now called "Congress
This Week" and "Major Legislation"), the Congressional Record Index, and
the Constitution (now found, along with other historical Congressional
documents, under the "Historical Documents" category on the THOMAS home
page). Enhancements in the types of legislative data available, as well
as in search and display capabilities, have been continuously added.
USSC+ Supreme Court
Decisions This site is the easiest, I have found, to search
for Supreme Court Decisions from 1966-Present & Leading Cases from
1793-1966 (USSC+). For additional Law-Related sites, see Government
Affairs, in the Course & Subject Guides section of this site.
Supreme
Court decisions Cornell Law School has mounted this impressive
web site that lists Supreme Court cases since 1990, as well as a listing
of state statutes on the net with a topical index, and a new court statistics
service.
Supreme Court Oral
Arguments (audio) Northwestern University Library has mounted audio
copies of the Supreme Court arguments for cases back to 1961. You must
have the correct hardware and software (not available in the Government
Publications Dept) to listen to these files.
U.S. Government
Printing Office (GPO Access) Search the full text of the Federal
Register, Congressional Record, Congressional Bills and other Federal Government
information online via GPO Access. Locate and download electronic information
from numerous Federal agencies.
Back To Contents List
Last updated on January 26, 1998 by Mary Martin. For
questions and comments, please contact: mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu
Government
Home | Libraries
Homepage | Contact
Us | Search
| Help
| Blais