CMC GOVT 1481: Governments, Business and Civil Society in an Age of Globalization, a
Comparison between the United States and Europe
Professor Patrick Chamorel
Contents:
General Information
Help
With Library Research - Links to web pages that give specific help
with Library Research.
Citing
Your Sources - For help with citation of sources, both paper and
electronic. There are three helpful sites for this. For non-governmental
information the Libraries' Citing electronic and print documents is excellent.
Brief Guide
to Citing Government Information - For help with citing government
information resources, this site is extremely helpful.
Back To Contents List
Finding Books
Blais
Use the Libraries online catalog to search for books, using the most significant words in your research
topic. If your keyword search finds some relevant titles, look at the subject headings that have been assigned;
you can click on them to find more books on that subject.
In addition to Blais, there are other library catalogs that can be used
to search for books. They include:
Link+ -
A union (multi-library) catalog and book request service that allows Claremont
Colleges students, faculty and staff to borrow books unavailable at our
Libraries. This service is provide fasters delivery of materials than traditional
Interlibrary Loan Services, usually in 3-5 days.
WorldCat
on FirstSearch - A nation-wide union (multi-library) catalog that allows searching
of a selection of databases and shows holdings of most libraries in North
America and the U.K. If the Libraries do not own these items, the materials
may be borrowed through ILL.
Back To Contents List
Finding articles in scholarly journals or magazines
If you want to find articles in scholarly journals or in magazines or
newspapers, you will need to use an index. The Libraries have many indexes
in electronic format, and these databases are listed by title and by subject
on the Libraries web site under “Research”. You may need to search Blais
by title of the source (journal or magazine title) to determine if the
library has the publication that you have located in an index. Remember
that authors and titles of articles are NOT in Blais.
Databases for locating articles on government and politics include:
(Note: A link to each database can also be found on the Libraries' web
site under either the Databases--by
Subject or Databases--by
Title list).
Academic
Universe (Lexis/Nexis) This is a full-text database consisting
of millions of articles covering the fields of business, law and legislation,
medicine, and general news.
EconLit Provides
access to citations with abstracts for scholarly resources in economics
and related subjects from more than 550 international economic journals.
It covers from 1969-present. It is available only to users at the Claremont
Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
PAIS
Index to public policy and social issues, information in a wide range of
subjects. PAIS on Ovid indexes journals back to 1972, and is available
in paper back to the early 1900's. Contains selected citations to journal
articles, books, government documents and reports. Also indexes foreign
language publications.
Worldwide Political
Science Abstracts Citations with table of contents from more than
300 journals worldwide in political science and government. Available only
to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges
proxy server or modem pool. Covers journals from 1975- present, and is
updated monthly.
Social Sciences Abstracts Provides access to citations for articles
and book reviews published in over 415 major international English-language
scholarly journals in the social sciences. A great database for beginning
research on topics in anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science
and many other disciplines in the social sciences.
Back To Contents List
Finding Information on International Politics and Economics Using the Web
-
Meta-Sites
Political Science Subject Research Guide -- The Libraries have set up subject-
oriented Research Guides to help you with your research. It repeats much of the information
here, in a more general way, but it also has a list of journals, fact-based sources like Who's Who and
other reference books by topic, and other Political Science-related Library resources.
Research
Guide to Government Information This Research Guide
has been created to provide guidance in finding Information in International
Government Publications and from International Inter-Governmental Agencies.
Provides links to course guides.
Government
Information Resources Page – Provides links to departmental information, Federal, State and International government
agencies, specific subject guides, alphabetical lists of popular sites, and others.
International
Affairs Page Provides selected links to directories, agency link sites (meta-sites), and links
for International Law. Titles and links for country information and maps.
International
Organizations-This page is created and maintained by The International
Documents Task Foce of The Government Documents Round Table of The American
Library Association. It provides an alphabetical listing of International
Governmental Organizations websites, many of which have online datanases
and publications as well as online lists.
Statistical
Universe Comprehensive index to U.S. statistical information. Some
full-text, some citations. Indexes both official government and statistics
from private sources. This resource is available only to users at the Claremont
Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
University
of Michigan International Relations Agencies and Information on the Web
- Excellent WWW site which provides access to many sources of information
International Government Relations. Links to agencies, foreign governments,
news sources, tresties, and a special focus on United States Policy.
- Specific Sites
Alexandria
Digital Library This is a site which allows you to view maps of
countries.
Background Notes These
are a collection of publications from the U.S. State Dept. on countries. Updated regularly with demographic, political
and economic information. The information is more extensive than the CIA
World Factbook.
CIA
World Factbook This publication has country information including
demographic, political and economic data.
CNN Europe A sub-site of
CNN which gives European news. It also gives current information on political
events and public figures.
European Central Bank In addition
to providing links to all the European System of Central Banks, this site
is full of links to information about the new monetary system.
European
Parliament This site provides links to press releases, full text
minutes of sessions and information about meetings. Allows searching by
key issues, speakers, dates, etc.
Eurostat:
Statistical Office of the European Communities (World Wide Web);
Collects data from the National Statistical Institutes of each of the 15
member states of the European Union.
European Union This is
the official web site of the European Union. It is multilingual, allowing
searching in several languages in topics such as key issues and offical
documents. Provides direct links to related Web sites.
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
(Foreign Broadcast Information Service) (1975-1996). (CD-ROM Hon Search Center)
Index to translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers,
periodicals, and government statements from around the world. The translations
are published as a set, which is owned in microfiche in the Government
Publications and Microforms Department. Covers 8 world areas. (For 1996
- current see:
World News Connection. (Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center,
please see a Reference Librarian for access.)
World Development Indicators from the World Bank. Presents downloadable data providing
a comprehensive statistical survey of indicators on world view, people,
environment, economy, states and markets, and global links. The database
covers the years 1978 to 1997 in most cases. Available only to users in
the search centers of the Libraries.
World News Connection
You must ask at the Honnold/Mudd Reference Desk for this resource, the librarian
will enter the password for you. Contains translations of broadcasts, news
agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements
from around the world, available within 48 hours. The older translations
are also published as a set, which is owned in microfiche in the Government
Publications and Microforms Department. Covers 8 world areas.For pre-1996,
see: FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service).
Back To Contents List
Information Specifically for this class
Information for the U.S.
- White House Briefing Room
"The purpose of this service is to provide easy access to current Federal
economic indicators. It provides links to information produced by a number
of Federal agencies. All of the information included in the Economic
Statistics Briefing Room is maintained and updated by the statistical units
of those agencies. All the estimates for the indicators presented in the
Federal Statistics Briefing Rooms are the most currently available values." Be aware that there are
more in-depth and historical statistics at the website of the originating agency. Links are provided.
- Statistical
Universe This index will help you locate particular data elements that you
may not find otherwise. Some data is full-text, some citations. Indexes both official government and statistics
from private sources. This resource is available only to users at the Claremont
Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- STAT-USA is a database from the
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, intended to help U.S. trade exports to other nations. Look under NTDB, then
Current and Historical Trade Leads. Also, look under State of the Nation for current and historical economic and financial
releases and economic data.
Information for International Organizations
European Central Bank In addition
to providing links to all the European System of Central Banks, this site
is full of links to information about the new monetary system.
European
Parliament This site provides links to press releases, full text
minutes of sessions and information about meetings. Allows searching by
key issues, speakers, dates, etc.
Eurostat:
Statistical Office of the European Communities (World Wide Web);
Collects data from the National Statistical Institutes of each of the 15
member states of the European Union.
European Union This is
the official web site of the European Union. It is multilingual, allowing
searching in several languages in topics such as key issues and offical
documents. Provides direct links to related Web sites.
OECD Statistical Compendium
Provides OECD data on a wide range of topics including Agriculture and Food,
Development and Aid, General Economic Problems, Economic Indicators, National
Accounts, Employment, Energy, Financial and Fiscal Affairs, Industry, Science and
Technology.
World Bank The World Bank Group is one of the world's
largest sources of development assistance. Use this website for documents and news items; the statistical
information will be available through World Development Indicators (see below)
World Development Indicators from the World Bank. Presents downloadable data providing
a comprehensive statistical survey of indicators on world view, people,
environment, economy, states and markets, and global links. The database
covers the years 1978 to 1997 for most data elements. This class will use the trade and economic data.
You must use this database in the Honnold/Mudd Search
Center.
Other country information (France, German, Britain)
World Development Indicators from the World Bank. Presents downloadable data providing
a comprehensive statistical survey of indicators on world view, people,
environment, economy, states and markets, and global links. The database
covers the years 1978 to 1997 for most data elements. This class will use the trade and economic data.
You must use this database in the Honnold/Mudd Search
Center.
STAT-USA is a database from the
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, intended to help U.S. trade exports to other nations. Look under GLOBUS, then
Market and Country Research.
Information for NGOs
ATTAC - Association for the Taxation of
financial Transactions for the Aid of Citizens "A group linking
citizens, associations, trade unions and newspapers founded ATTAC in France on June 3rd, 1998 around the
platform. The idea for this initiative came from an editorial article
written by Ignacio Ramonet: "Disarm the markets", published in Le Monde
diplomatique in December 1997. The French association later contributed
towards the birth of the international movement ATTAC, while
working with numerous partners in the world."
Continental Direct Action Network
"consists of many autonomous locals working to overcome corporate
globalization and all forms of oppression. They are part of a growing
movement united in common concern for justice, freedom, peace, and
sustainability of all life, and in a commitment to take direct action to
realize radical visionary change."
Global Exchange is "a
human rights organization dedicated to promoting environmental,
political, and social justice around the world. Since their
founding in 1988, they have been striving to increase global awareness
among the US public while building international partnerships around the
world."
Jobs with Justice "mission is to
improve working people’s standard of living, fight for job security, and protect workers’
right to organize. JwJ’s core belief is that in order to be successful,
workers’ rights struggles have to be part of a larger campaign for economic
and social justice. To that end, JwJ has created a network of
local coalitions that connect labor, faith-based, community, and
student organizations to work together on workplace and community
social justice campaigns."
Public Citizen "is a
national, nonprofit consumer advocacy organization founded by Ralph
Nader in 1971 to represent consumer interests in Congress, the executive
branch and the courts. We fight for openness and democratic
accountability in government, for the right of consumers to seek redress
in the courts; for clean, safe and sustainable energy sources; for
social and economic justice in trade policies; for strong health, safety
and environmental protections; and for safe, effective and affordable
prescription drugs and health care."
Information for International Corporations
Start with the following print resources:
- D&B Business Rankings, HON REF HG 4057 A23 2001 (has an international
section at the back)
- European Business Rankings, HON REF HG 4132 E8 1992
Databases:
- FIS Online access to Mergent (Moody's) Company Data and
International Company Data, a database containing information on over 25,000 companies worldwide. Provides historical
data going back 10 years in some cases, data is downloadable into Excel format.
- Academic
Universe (Lexis/Nexis) This is a full-text database consisting
of millions of articles covering the fields of business, law and legislation,
medicine, and general news. Check for foreign news stories under General News, then World News.
For further help in your research,
or finding or using Government Publications, please contact
the Library Subject Specialist for Government/Political Science and International
Relations, Ruth Schooley,
ruth.schooley@libraries.claremont.edu. You may also reach her at (909) 607-7122.
|