Pomona ID1: Prof. Cluett, Fall 2000
Great Games on the Silk Road: Diplomacy and Trade in Ancient and Modern Central Asia
Martha Smith, Ruth Schooley, Honnold/Mudd Library
WEB RESOURCES
Sample web site on the Silk Road:
A New "Silk Road" to Economic Prosperity Thursday, August 14, 1997
http://www.intellectualcapital.com/issues/issue101/item4495.asp
When searching the Web for a broad subject the problem is the extremely large amount of
material you will retrieve that may or may not be pertinent.
Try using a search engine such as HotBot (www.hotbot.com)
that will allow you to specify that your term (Silk Road) appear in the page
title, and add a secondary term (Economics). It will also rank findings by
relevancy. You may wish to limit by domain (.edu. or .org, for example)
to avoid commercial sites like travel agencies. Many commercial sites primarily provide
material for sale, though some contain useful information as well.
When using web sites for information, always view the site critically. Who created it?
The Heritage Foundation created the site above. What are their credentials?
How recently was it updated? Do they have a bibliography you can use for sources that you
can verify?
REFERENCE SOURCES
These are print resources that may be helpful to you. They are shelved in HON REF, on the
third level of the Multi-Tier Stacks, near the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
-
The Cambridge ancient history HON REF D 59 C14 1970 (10 volumes)
-
Cambridge History of Islam. HON REF DS 35.6 C3
-
Encyclopedia of China : the essential reference to China, its history and culture .
HON REF FOL DS705 .P47 1999
-
Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East . HON REF DS43 .E53 1996
-
Islamic peoples of the Soviet Union : with an appendix on the non-Muslim Turkic peoples
of the Soviet Union : an historical and statistical handbook .
HON REF DK34.M8 A35 1986
-
The newly independent states of Eurasia : handbook of former Soviet republics.
HON REF DK17 .B34 1997
-
The Oxford companion to classical civilization. HON REF DE5 .O92 1998
-
Russia & Eurasia documents annual. HON REF DK274.A2 .U88
-
Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States : documents, data, and analysis.
HON REF FOL DK1.5 .R876 1997
FINDING BOOKS
Search Blais, the Libraries
online catalog under SUBJECT for books
related to the topic of popular music. Here are some suggested subject
headings:
-
Silk Road
-
Asia -- History
-
Economic Assistance - American - Former Soviet Republics
-
Asia Economic conditions
Also, search these keywords:
- Silk Road
- Azerbaijan
- Turkmenistan
- Kazakhstan
- Tajikistan
- Uzbekistan
- Caspian
- Great Game
- pipeline(s)
Here is a sample Blais record:
Author
Stuttard, John
Title
The new silk road : secrets of business success in China today / John B. Stuttard ;
foreword by James J.
| LOCATION |
CALL NO |
STATUS |
| HON |
HD58.7 .S797 2000 |
DUE 01-18-01 |
Imprint New York : John Wiley, c2000
Descript
xv, 144 p. ; 23 cm
Note
Includes index.
The location information will
tell you in which library the item is located. Most books on this topic
are at Honnold (HON) Library. The call number will lead you to the
specific shelf location. The status will tell you if the book is
available or already checked out. (If a book you need is checked out, place
a recall on it at the Circulation Desk.)
FINDING ARTICLES
-
Select Research
on the Libraries’ homepage, then select Databases-By Title.
-
Select one of these databases:
ABC Pol Sci SEE
Political Science Abstracts
Political Science Abstracts
Academic Universe
Provides access to full text news stories (both U.S. and international) from newspapers and
news magazines, law journal articles, business references, legal codes, judge's decisions,
SEC filings, and medical journal citations.
Historical Abstracts includes
abstracts for scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published
worldwide on world history, covering 1450 AD to present.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International includes selected
citations for journal articles, books, government documents and
reports and foreign language publications. Topics covered include economic, political, business,
finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, government, political
science, public policy and social issues.
Political Science Abstracts
Political Science Abstracts
Provides access to citations for articles in more than 300 political science and government journals.
[1984- present; updated 3 times per
year.]
Wilson Humanities Abstracts includes selected archaelogy, art, classics,
film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, world history and world literature
journals.
-
Search your keyword or phrase, such
as: Silk Road, or regional trade barriers combined with Asia or
Russia.
-
Display the complete reference,
and look for the heading Catalog Holdings. This will tell you if
the journal is located at Honnold Library.
-
Journals in Honnold are in alphabetical
order by journal title and are located in the Honnold (west) side of the
building, first floor.
Here is a sample citation:
Title : Central Asia: the Silk Road catches fire.
Source : Economist, 325:44-6 D 26 1992.
Catalog Holdings
Denison Periodicals has CURRENT YEAR ONLY
Honnold Microforms Periodicals has v.238(1971)-303#7504(Jun.1987),
v.306(1988)-325#7791(Dec.1992/Jan.1993), v.338(1996)-latest MICROFICHE
shipment
Honnold Periodicals has v.14(May/Dec.1856)-332(Sep./Jan.1994/95),
v.334(1995)-337(1995) and CURRENT YEAR ONLY.
Abstract
Geopolitical, economic, social, and environmental dimensions in the region following the breakup of the Soviet Union.
Highlights the problems of overpopulation, water shortages, ethnic conflict, disputes among Islamic groups, and influence
of more powerful neighboring states.
Subject Headings
Central Asia
Regionalism -- Central Asia
State succession -- Soviet Union
Geopolitics
Central Asia -- Government and politics
Central Asia -- Economic conditions
Central Asia -- Social conditions
Spheres of influence -- Central Asia
You can see in the CATALOG HOLDINGS
line that The Libraries have this journal, Economist, in several places according to
different dates. Denison Library has only the current year (2000) but this citation is for 1992.
Honnold Periodicals has this issue, as does Honnold Periodicals Microfiche.
MORE HELP
If you need further assistance or
wish to schedule a research appointment, please contact
Martha Smith (Languages and Linguistics)
x73997, martha.smith@libraries.claremont.edu
or
Ruth Schooley (Government) x77122,
ruth.schooley@libraries.claremont.edu.
|