Academic
Universe Congressional Universe Statistical
Universe GPO Access
Pomona 135: Policy Implementation and Evaluation
Professor Krista D. Caufman
Honnold/Mudd extensively collects materials in the subject area of Politics,
Government, and Law. These materials can be found in the General Library
Collections and the Government Publications Collections. This course guide
is designed to help you focus on some of the most relevant information
resources in your subject area.
If you have questions about any of these resources or if you would like
to schedule an appointment to work on your particular research topic, please
contact Mary Martin in Honnold/Mudd Library, ext.18923 (621-8923) mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu.
Finding
Information on The Legislative Process and Public Policy
Help
With Library Research
-
Help
With Library Research - For help specific to Library Research
-
Citing Your Sources
- For help with citation of sources, both paper and electronic. There are
two helpful sites for this. For non-governmental information the Libraries'
Guide to citation is excellent.
Back To Contents List
How
to Cite Government Information Resources
-
Brief
Guide to Citing Government Information - Government Information
is cited differently from most other books and articles as there is what
is called a "corporate author". For help with citing government information
resources, the following site is extremely helpful.
-
Basic
Legal Citation - This citation primer is based on the Sixteenth
Edition of the "Bluebook." This document links, point by point, to the
disk version of this material held on the LII's Folio Webserver. A few
of the example links that are functional on disk do not work on the net.
-
Citing
Electronic & Print Documents - This page provides links
to basic Guides to Citation in both print and electronic formats. Links
to several basic citation guides such as MLA, APA, and Turabian Style Guides.
Back To Contents List
Selected
Subject Headings in Legislation and Public Policy
Administrative Responsibility - United States
Air -- Pollution -- Law and legislation -- United States
Air quality management -- Government policy -- Economic aspects
-- United States
Federal-city relations -- United States
Intergovernmental fiscal relations -- California
Local finance -- United States
Local government -- United States
Municipal government -- United States
Public Policy Law -- United States
State-local relations -- United States
United States -- Social policy -- Case studies
Back To Contents List
Finding Books
-
Blais - the
online catalog of the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges (DEN, HON, SGM,
SPR), is searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, and call number.
In addition to materials in the four libraries, Blais also includes
materials at the Claremont School of Theology (STC), Rancho Santa Ana Botanic
Gardens (RSA), and the Center for Research Libraries (in Chicago). Books
can be searched by author, title, or subject. If you are unsure of the
exact title or if your subject search doesn't produce the results you hoped
for, try a "Words in title" search using two or three of the most significant
words from the title or subject you are trying to find. Subject searching
requires use of Library of Congress Subject Headings. A list of possible
subject headings is provided above.
-
Link+ -Union catalog
and book request service that allows Claremont Colleges students, faculty
and staff to borrow books unavailable at our Libraries. This new service
is expected to provide faster delivery of materials than traditional Interlibrary
Loan Services. Participating libraries include CSU Fullerton, CSU Hayward,
CSU Long Beach, Cal Poly Pomona, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, San Diego State,
San Francisco State, San Jose State, Occidental College, and the Claremont
Colleges.
-
WorldCat
on FirstSearch - Union catalog of over 36 million records of any
type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts
written as early as the 11th century. Firstsearch) -- has holdings
of most libraries in North America and the U.K.. These materials may be
borrowed through ILL.
Back To Contents List
Finding General and Popular
Articles in Journals and Newspapers Using Database Indexes
To find articles you must use periodical indexes. Although a few journal
databases are full text, most journal indexes list only article citations
and do not include the full text of the articles. You must locate the journal
in order to find and read the article you need. Search Blais by title of
the journal to determine if the Libraries own the journal you need.
Use the list of Alphabetical
List of Databases or the Subject Listing (directly below the link
to the Alphabetical List) or the appropriate Subject Research Guide for
more suggestions on the best databases for your research.
Use the following print, online and CDROM indexes to find articles and other
materials on specific topics. For questions, please do not hesitate to
call Mary Martin, Government Publications and International Relations,
at extension x18923.
Back To Contents List
Links
to Federal Resources on the WWW
-
Academic
Universe(Lexis/Nexis)This is a full-text database consisting of
millions of articles covering the fields of business, law and legislation,
and general news. There are terminals available in the Reference, Government
Publications, and Asian Studies departments. You may also Telnet through
the Library Services Menu. Also has more than 650 full-text information
sources such as newspaper articles, journals, newsletters, wire services,
and broadcast transcripts, which are updated as often as daily. There are
legal resource files, which contain primary sources such as cases, statutes,
and regulations as well as secondary materials such as law review articles
etc. There are restrictions on its use, and you must be a Claremont
Colleges student to use Academic Universe. You may access Academic Universe
through the Library Web Page. You may also Telnet through the Library Services
Menu.
-
Congressional Universe
(CIS) Congressional Information Service Index (CIS) Congressional
Compass (Congressional Information Service) (1970-current). Guide, index
and abstracts to hearings, committee prints, reports and documents issued
by Congress. (Also available on CD-ROM from 1989 - current) With Congressional
Compass, researchers can track legislative and public policy issues as
well as the activities of committees and members of Congress. Actually
provides links to certain files in
-
C-SPAN C-SPAN
is a public service created by the American cable television industry to
provide access to the proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives
and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed,
debated and decided.
-
Thomas
(House
of Representatives through Library of Congress). Includes: Bill Text, Congressional
Record Text, Bill Summary & Status, Hot Bills, now called "Congress
This Week" and "Major Legislation"), the Congressional Record Index, and
the Constitution (now found, along with other historical Congressional
documents, under the "Historical Documents" category on the THOMAS home
page). Enhancements in the types of legislative data available, as well
as in search and display capabilities, have been continuously added.
-
U.S. Government
Printing Office (GPO Access) Search the full text of the Federal
Register, Congressional Record, Congressional Bills and other Federal Government
information online via GPO Access. Locate and download electronic information
from numerous Federal agencies.
Administrative Law (Executive Branch)
-
Code of Federal Regulations. Hon Ref US AE 2.106/3:1998.
A compilation of final rules and
regulations produced by executive branch agencies to elaborate on Public
Laws, organized by subject
matter in 50 "Titles" parallel to those of US Code (see above). Updated
annually. (Available on Academic
Universe Lexis/Nexis), and at the
U.S.
Government Printing Office (GPO Access)
-
The Federal Register. Hon Gov US Microfiche GS 4.107:42.
A daily compilation of Presidential
Executive Orders, Proclamations and reorganization plans, as well as all
rules and regulations proposed by executive branch agencies. Also contains
notices of public meetings, hearings, etc. (Available on Academic
Universe Lexis/Nexis and and at the U.S.
Government Printing Office (GPO Access)
For additional information on Government information resources and
Law, see these additional web pages:
Back To Contents List
Finding State and Local Government
Information
Links to State Resources on the WWW
-
California State Government Page
This WWW site is maintained by the State of California to provide links
to elected officials, State Courts, and government agencies within the
state. There are also links to state codes and regulations, voting and
election information, and additional sites of interest.
-
California Code of Regulations
This
page has links to California Administrative Regulations, except for Title
22, which is available in paper.
-
California State
Legal Resources (UC Berkeley) This site provides a nice guide
to California State Legal Resources both in paper and on the WWW. Search
titles found in this guide on Blais,
for our call numbers, or ask at the reference desk for locations.
-
State and Local
Government on the Net This site provides links to WWW pages for
all the states, multi-state organizations, and National Organizations and/or
coalitions of local government.
-
State Law
This WWW site provides links to state government codes available online.
(Optional: Where it is located) Description of resource.
-
California
State History Guide This source provides excellent reviews
of the literature by time period, by topics on Asians, Blacks, Chicanos,
Women and on Urban History, and detailed descriptions of major archival
sources in California.
Back To Contents List
Links to Local Government Resources on the WWW
-
Local Government Home Page
Links to official city and county government web sites for all 50 states,
including links to city, county, and international organizations. Public
services arranged by service and then state.
-
Citynet
This is a "not-so-governmental site) Arranged by state and territory with
links to web sites in individual cities. Primarily, business, tourism,
and transportation information. See below for municipal codes.
-
Municipal Codes On-Line
(Seattle Public Library) In an effort to make municipal codes throughout
the nation more accessible to the public, Seattle Public Library staff
have prepared this list of links to city and county codes available for
unrestricted searching on the World Wide Web.
Back To Contents List
Last updated: .
Questions or comments? Please contact: mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu
Government
Home | Libraries
Homepage | Contact
Us | Search
| Help
| Blais
|