Pomona Politics 178: Political Economy of Development
Professor Pierre Englebert
Honnold/Mudd extensively collects materials in the subject area of
International Relations. These materials can be found in the General Library
Collections and the Government Publications Collections. This course guide is
designed to help you focus on some of the most relevant information resources
in your subject area.
Help with Library Research
Online
Help - For additional help available from this page.
Help
With Library Research - For help specific to Library Research
Citing
Your Sources - For help with citation of sources, both paper
and electronic. There are two helpful sites for this. For non-governmental
information the Libraries' Guide to citation is excellent.
Brief Guide
to Citing Government Information - For help with citing government
information resources, the following site is extremely helpful.
Selected Subject Headings in International Relations
Asia Economic Conditions
Development Policy
East Asia - Economic Conditions
Ethnic Groups
Finance European Economic Community Countries
Human Rights
International Development Economics
International Finance
International – Sustainable Development
Race Relations
World Development-Economic Policy
World Conflict
Interlibrary Loan
If you need to borrow materials from other libraries, submit your ILL requests
at the H/M Information Desk, the H/M Reference Desk, or use the online
ILL form on the Libraries web site.
If you have questions about any of these resources or if you would like
to schedule an appointment to work on your particular research topic, please
contact Mary Martin in Honnold/Mudd Library, ext.18923 (621-8923) mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu.
FINDING INFORMATION ON INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS TOPICS
FINDING BOOKS
Blais - the
online catalog of the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges (DEN, HON, SGM,
SPR), is searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, and call number.
In addition to materials in the four libraries, Blais also includes
materials at the Claremont School of Theology (STC), Rancho Santa Ana Botanic
Gardens (RSA), and the Center for Research Libraries (in Chicago).
Books can be searched by author, title, or subject. If you are unsure
of the exact title or if your subject search doesn't produce
the results you hoped for, try a "Words in title" search using two
or three of the most significant words from the title or subject
you are trying to find.
Subject searching requires use of Library of Congress Subject Headings.
Consult the reference librarian on identifying subject headings. See below,
following the list of library catalogs for are some typical subject
headings in International Relations. The Government Publications department
has a handout with directions on its use. Most International Government
Publications
but not all, particularly older International Government publications.
Please ask for assistance from the Government Publications Specialist you
require historical information. Other databases and indexes must be used
to access publications not yet in Blais. See further information below
on computer databases.
CSULink -Union
catalog and book request service that allows Claremont Colleges students,
faculty and staff to borrow books unavailable at our Libraries. This new
service is expected to provide faster delivery of materials than traditional
Interlibrary Loan Services. Participating libraries include CSU Fullerton,
CSU Hayward, CSU Long Beach, Cal Poly Pomona, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo,
San Diego State, San Francisco State, San Jose State, Occidental College,
and the Claremont Colleges.
Melvyl
- the combined library catalogs of the UC and Cal State universities. These
materials may be borrowed through
Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
RLIN
(Includes the English Short Title Catalog) - Online database of
bibliographic records of books, serials, maps, sound recordings, manuscripts
and archival material held by member libraries.
webCATS
- Provides links to numerous online public-access library catalogs with
web interfaces.
WorldCat
on FirstSearch - Union catalog of over 36 million records of any
type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts
written as early as the 11th century. Firstsearch) -- has holdings
of most libraries in North America and the U.K.. These materials may be
borrowed through ILL.
Back To Contents List
Finding Information
in Journals, Newspapers and Databases Using Database Indexes
Use the following print and CDROM indexes to find articles and other
materials on specific topics. For questions, please do not hesitate to
call Mary Martin, Government Publications and International Relations,
at extension x18923.
Firstsearch.
One can also telnet through the Library Services Menu. This database is
a menu driven reference service consisting of dozens of databases, including
the OCLC union catalog WorldCat. WorldCat contains
more than 25 million bibliographic records, representing holdings of more
than 9000 libraries. First Search can also be used to search
approximately 2 dozen periodical and other reference databases. See category
11; News and Current Events, or 12, Public Affairs and Law.
Academic
Universe(Lexis/Nexis)
This is a full-text database consisting of millions of articles covering
the fields of business, law and legislation, and general news. There are
terminals available in the Reference, Government Publications, and Asian
Studies departments. You may also Telnet through the Library Services Menu.
Ethnic Newswatch
Ethnic Newswatch
is a full text database containing articles
from ethnic and minority newspapers from across the county. On Library
LAN.
Newspaper
Abstracts Includes citations from the Los Angeles Times, New
York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal
as well as many other newspapers. On FirstSearch, and as a telnet connection
through the Library Services Menu.
Pais Index to public policy and social issues, information in a wide range of
subjects. Contains selected citations to journal articles, books, government
documents and reports. Also indexes foreign language publications. Library
has paper and electronic sources, although limited coverage in electronic
format. Available on Ovid.
Wilson Social Sciences Abstracts General scholarly index. On Ovid back to 1984; available
also as Telnet connection through the Library Services Menu and in paper
back to 1974; preceded by The International Index to Periodicals and The
Social Science and Humanities Index, both located in the Honnold/Mudd Index
Room.
Statistical Universe
This database combines the indexes and abstracts from the U.S. Government (American
Statistics Index); International Intergovernmental Organizations, (Index
to International Statistics); and State and non-governmental sources (Statistical
Reference Index) Available only to users on the Claremont Colleges network.
United Nations Documents
Index) (1975 - current) Indexes documents , periodicals and
general interest publications published by the United Nations. The library
has many of these publications in paper, in addition to a comprehensive
subscription to the United Nations Collection on microfiche. This collection
is only indexed in UNDOC, the UN Documents Index. Available in paper, on
local CD-ROM,on the CD-ROM Network and on the WWW.
Wilson's Reader's Guide Abstracts to Periodical Literature General,
multi-disciplinary index. Contains records for general and popular articles
in all subjects. On OVID back to 1983; available also as telnet connection
through the Library Services Menu and in paper back to the turn of the
century, Honnold/Mudd Index Room/Table 1. Preceded by 19th Century Readers
Guide covering 1890-1899, and Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, covering
1802-1906, also Honnold Index Room/Table 1.
World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators
Presents downloadable data providing a comprehensive statistical survey of indicators
on world view, people, environment, economy, states and markets,
and global links. Data back to 1960 where available. [Previous versions,
2001
2001
and
2000,
2000,
still available in the search centers of the Libraries only. Note: some 2000 version indicators are not available in the
2001 version.]
Back To Contents List
Finding Information Using the
World Wide Web - Meta-Sites
Government
Publications Department Home Page – This page has been developed
specifically for the use of students, faculty and staff of the Claremont
Colleges. Provides links to departmental information, Government Agencies,
specific subject guides, alphabetical lists popular sites, and several
more specific pages.
Research Guide to International Government Information -
This Research Guide has been created to provide guidance in finding Information
in International Government Publications and from International Inter-Governmental Agencies. Provides links to course guides, WWW sites, electronic database indexes, and also traditional paper indexes.
International
Organizations - This
page is created and maintained by The International Documents Task Foce
of The Government Documents Round Table of The American Library Association.
It provides an alphabetical listing of International Governmental Organizations
websites, many of which have online datanases and publications as well
as online lists.
University
of Michigan International Relations Agencies and Information on the Web
- Excellent WWW site which provides access to many sources of information
International Government Relations. Links to agencies, foreign governments,
news sources, tresties, and a special focus on United States Policy.
Back To Contents List
MM 9/8/98
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais