Academic
Universe Congressional Universe Statistical
Universe GPO Access
International Governmental Information:
Finding Primary Source Materials
International government information is defined as information
published or derived from an Intergovernmental Organization, which is composed
of a coalition or group of governments that have joined together for some
common purpose. The organizations, such as the United Nations, World Bank,
Organization For Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), or the World
Health Organization, for example. These organizations publish information
on a wide variety of topics, and it is often organized by subject, country,
region, and world group. The most common information avsilable from these
organizations is economic and social. It is important to differentiate
here between intergovernmental oganization information and information
from foreign govenrments, which is usually published by that government.
Finding International Governmental
Information
Course Guides
Links to International Governmental
Organizations
Links
To Facts and Thematic Maps of Countries
Links
to Electronic Bibliographic Databases
Links
to Full Text Electronic Databases
Finding
International Government Publications (Books & Journals)
Finding
Treaties (International & U.S.)
Course Guides
-
Course
Guide for International Politics This is a link to a course guide
for a class in International Politics, a Pomona ID taught in fall
1997. It will change for 1998.
-
Course
Guide for International Relations This is a link to a class in
International Relations taught also at Pomona in Spring 1998.
-
Course Guide
for Model United Nations (MUN) This guide is designed to
assist students n doing research for the Model United Nations simulation
held at Yale University each spring. There is club at the Claremont Colleges
that coordinates student activties of those participate. We have a comprehensive
collection of United Nations publications and have excellent resources
to assist these students.
Back to Top of Page
Links
To International Governmental Organizations
-
International
Organizations -This
page is created and maintained by The International Documents Task Foce
of The Government Documents Round Table of The American Library Association.
It provides an alphabetical listing of International Governmental Organizations
websites, many of which have online datanases and publications as well
as online lists.
-
International
Organization Web Sites Comprehensive site maintained by the
Union of International Organizations that lists non-governmental as well
as governmental web sites. Searchable by name, subject and regional group.
-
International
Affairs Page (Claremont Government Publications Online) Provides
selected links to directories, agency link sites (meta-sites), and links
for International Law.
Titles and Links for Country Information & Maps
Back to Top of Page
Links
To Facts And Thematic Maps Of Countries
-
CIA
World Factbook This publication has country information including
demographic, political and economic data. .
-
Background
Notes These are a collection of publications on countries updated
regularly with demographic,political and
-
Alexandria
Digital Library This is a fantastic site which allows you to view
maps of countries.
Back to Top of Page
Links To Bibliographic Electronic
Databases (CD-ROM & WWW)
-
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) (1975-1994).
(CD-ROM Hon Search Center)
Index to translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers,
periodicals, and government statements from around the world. The translations
are published as a set, which is owned in microfiche in the Government
Publications and Microforms Department. Covers 8 world areas. (For 1996
- current see: World News Connection
)
-
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1970-)Index to public policy and social
issues information in a wide range of subjects. Contains selected citations
to journal articles, books, government documents and reports. Also indexes
foreign language publications. Library has paper and electronic sources.
Available on the OVID network.
-
Statistical Universe
This database combines the indexes and
abstracts from the U.S. Government (American Statistics
Index, or ASI); International Intergovernmental Organizations,
(Index to International Statistics or IIS); and State and
non-governmental sources (Statistical Reference Index or SRI)
Index to International Statistics, or IIS is an excellent index
to publicationsof International Governmental Organizations,in a variety
of subject areas. Available only to users on the Claremont Colleges network.
-
Access UN (United Nations Documents
Index) (1979 - current) Full text resolutions only.
Indexes documents , periodicals and general interest publications published
by the United Nations. The library has many of these publications in paper,
in addition to a comprehensive subscription to the United Nations Collection
on microfiche. This collection is only indexed in UNDOC,
the UN Documents Index paper edition located in Hon Ref
Links
To Full Text Electronic Databases
-
Eurostat:
Statistical Office of the European Communities (World Wide
Web) Collects data from the National Statistical Institutes
of each of the 15 member states of the European Union.
-
International
Monetary Fund (IMF) Staff Country Reports This site provides
access to IMF Staff Country Reports full text.
-
Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development Provides links to sources and actual
data sets forthe following categories and others: Agriculture, Demography,
Development Co-operation, The Development Assistance Comittee Economic
Accounts for Agriculture, Economic statistics, Education statistics. etc.
-
Access UN (United Nations Documents
Index) (1979 - current) Full text resolutions only.
Indexes documents , periodicals and general interest publications published
by the United Nations. The library has many of these publications in paper,
in addition to a comprehensive subscription to the United Nations Collection
on microfiche. This collection is only indexed in UNDOC,
the UN Documents Index paper edition located in Hon Gov International.
-
World Development
Indicators 1998 HON ELECTRONIC DATABASE ON CD-ROM AVailable
on the Library LAN. (from the World Bank) Presents downloadable data providing
a comprehensive statistical survey of indicators on world view, people,
environment, economy, states and markets, and global links. The database
covers the years 1978 to 1996 in most cases.
Finding International Government Publications
(Books & Journals)
-
Handbook of
International Economic Statistics.
Hon Ref Desk PREX 3.10/7-5:996. Provides
statistics for selected noncommunist
countries and all communist countries, for national accounts, foreign
trade, foreign ade, energy, minerals
and metals, agriculture, transportation, manufacturing, construction,
communications, etc.
-
Index to International Statistics.
Hon Microforms Ref Z7552 I53. CIS. 1983- Month/Annual
(also available on CD ROM - see section on Electronic Databases)
-
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Index (1915 - current) Hon Reference Indexes See
below under electronic databases for description.
-
UNDOC - The United Nations Documents Index.
(1946 - current)Hon Ref Z 6482 U451. Indexes documents and publications
published by the United Nations. Personal/corporate name, title, subject
indexes. (also available on CD-ROM, see below)
-
Yearbook of International Organizations.
Hon Ref Desk JX 1904 AN42. Directory of International Organizations.
Subject and alphabetical indexes. Index to International Organizations
by name and subject. Gives pertinent information as to size, focus, contacts,
etc.
UNITED NATIONS. Statistical Office.
-
Commodity Trade Statistics. (Its Statistical
Papers Series D) Hon Gov Int JX 1 J977 A2C.
-
Compendium of Social Statistics. (Its
Statistical Papers Series K) Hon Gov Int HA 12.5 A1 U5.(Series
k no. 4)
-
Demographic Yearbook. (United Nations.
Statistical Office) Latest Hon Ref Desk HA 17 D396.Updated
by: Population And Vital Statistics.
Hon Gov Int HA 13 .U5P. United Nations. Statistical Office. Statistical
Papers Series. A)
-
Energy Statistics Yearbook. (Its Statistical
Papers Series J) Hon Gov Int HD 9502 A1 W62x.
-
Handbook Of International Trade And Development
Statistics. (United Nations Conference on Trade and development)
Latest Hon Gov Int HF 1016 U44x.
-
Industrial statistics yearbook.
(continues) Yearbook of Industrial Statistics. Hon Gov Int
54 U459.
-
Statistical Digest. (United Nations Educational, Scientific and
Cultural Organization). Hon Gov Int AZ 361 U453X.
-
Statistical Yearbook. (United Nations.
Statistical Office) Hon Gov Int HA 125 U63. Updated
by:
-
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics. (United
Nations. Statistical Office) Hon Gov Int HC 57 U66
-
Unesco Statistical Yearbook. United
Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Hon
Gov Int AZ 361 UN2.
-
World Statistics In Brief. (United
Nations. Statistical Office) Statistical Papers. Series M.) Hon
Ref Desk HA 154 W67x
-
Yearbook Of National Accounts Statistics.
(United Nations. Statistical Office) Hon Gov Int HC 79 I5
U5.
-
Yearbook of International Trade Statistics.(United
Nations. Statistical Office) Hon Gov Int HF 91 U473
REGIONAL COMMISSIONS:
United Nations. Economic Commission for Europe.
-
Economic Bulletin For Europe.Hon
Gov Int HC 240 Al U2714.
See also: OECD, EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES
United Nations. Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific.
-
Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific.
Annual. Hon Ref Desk HA 1664 S791x.
-
Statistical Indicators for Asia and the Pacific.
Quarterly. Hon Gov Int HC 411 S73 86.
-
Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific.
Annual. Hon Gov Int HC 422 U5x.
For Japan see also: OECD
United Nations. Economic Commission for Latin America.
-
Economic Survey of Latin America. Annual.
Hon Ref Desk HC 161 UN3.
-
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America.
Annual.Hon Ref Desk HA 755 A68.
FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ORGANIZATION OF THE UNITED NATIONS
-
FAO Production Yearbook. Hon Gov
Int HD 1421 Y43.
-
FAO Trade Yearbook. Hon Gov Int HD
1421 Y43.
-
The State of Food and Agriculture. Annual.
Hon Gov Int 5401 U6 A317x.
INTERNATIONAL LABOUR OFFICE
-
Yearbook of Labour Statistics.Hon
Ref Desk HD 4826 I63
WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION
-
The Global Burden of Disease : a comprehensive
assessment of mortality and disability from diseases, injuries, and risk
factors in 1990 and projected to 2020. Hon Ref Desk RA441
.G56 1996.
-
World Health Statistics. Annual through
1994. Hon Ref Desk RA 651 W6.
INTERNATIONAL BANK FOR RECONSTRUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT (WORLD BANK)
-
World Bank Atlas. Annual. Hon Ref
Desk G 1046.G1 I5.
-
World Debt Tables. Annual. Hon Ref
Desk HJ 8899 W672.
-
World Development Report. Annual. Hon
Ref Desk HC 59.7 W659. (Older issues in Hon Gov Int)
-
World Tables. Annual. Hon Ref Desk
HC 59 .W669 1976 - current.
INTERNATIONAL MONETARY FUND
-
Balance of Payments Statistics. Hon
Ref Desk HF 1041 IN8. Earlier issues in Hon Gov Int
-
Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook.
Hon Ref Desk.HF 91 .I65 Annual . (Updated by quarterly periodical
in HON PER) Earlier issues in Hon Gov Int.
-
Government Finance Statistics Yearbook.
Hon Ref Desk HJ 101 G68. Earlier issues in Hon Gov Intl.
-
International Financial Statistics Yearbook.
Hon Ref Desk HG61 .I57 Annual. (Updated by monthly issues
in HON PER) Earlier issues in Hon Gov Int..
-
World Economic Outlook. Annual. HON
GOV INT HC 59 I6x.
ORGANIZATION FOR ECONOMIC COOPERATION AND DEVELOPMENT
-
International
Direct Investment StatisticsYearbook Annuaire des Statistiques
D'Investissement
-
Direct International (Hon Ref Desk
HG 4538 I5355)
-
Main Economic Indicators. Hon Gov
Int HC 10 068x. (Latest in Hon Ref)
-
Main Economic Indicators. Historical Statistics.
Hon Gov Int HC 10 042.1960-1990. (Latest in Hon Ref)
-
OECD Economic Surveys: [name of country]
Annual.
-
OECD Economic Outlook. Hon Gov Int
HC10 .018. Latest on Hon Per.
-
OECD Series A. Statistics of Foreign Trade.
Monthly.
-
OECD Series B. Statistics of Foreign Trade.
Annual Tables by Reporting Countries. Hon Microforms HC 1016 .0735.
-
Series C. Foreign Trade of Commodities.
Annual. Hon Microforms HF 1016 .0736
EUROPEAN COMMUNITES
-
Basic Statistics of the Community.
(Statistical Office) Annual. Hon Gov Int HA 1107 EU74.
-
Bulletin of the European Community. Hon
Gov Int. Broken holdings from 1975. Latest in Hon Per Display
-
European Economy and Supplements.
Monthly. Hon Gov Int HC 241.2 E857. Latest in Hon Per
Display
-
Eurostat Review. (Statistical Office)
Annual. Hon Gov Int HA 1107.5 A15 1977-86. Latest in Hon Per Display
-
Eurostatistics. (Statistical Office)
- Hon Gov Intl. HA1107.5 .E895 Latest in Hon Per Display
-
Panorama of EC Industry. Hon Ref Desk
HC 241.2 P313. 1989 - current.
Finding International Government Publications
Journals
-
Asia Pacific Development Journal
Hon Gov Intl.; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Asian Development Review Hon Gov Intl.
HC411 .A7545; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Asia-Pacific Population Journal Hon
Gov Intl. HA4551 .A83; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Bulletin of Labour Statistics Hon Gov
Intl. HD4826 .I53; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Bulletin of the European Union Hon
Gov Intl. HC241.2 .A212; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Cepal Review Hon Gov Intl. HC121
.U55b; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Direction of Trade Statistics
Hon Gov Intl. HF91 .I65; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
European Access Hon Gov Intl. HC 241.2
.E79; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
European Economy Hon Gov Intl. HC 241.2
.E857; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Eurobarometer Hon Gov Intl. HN
380.5 .Z9 P83; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Financial Market Trends Hon Gov Intl.
HG136 .F56; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
IMF Survey Hon Periodicals. Current
year only; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Indicators of Industrial Activity Hon
Gov Intl. HC10 .O693c; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Industry & Environment Hon Gov Intl.;
latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
International financial Statistics Hon
Gov Intl. HG 61 .I57; latest issues in
Honnold Periodicals
-
Main Economic Indicators
Hon Gov Intl. HC 10 .S675 ; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics
Hon Gov Intl. HC 57 U66 ; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Monthly Statistics of Foreign Trade
Hon Gov Intl. HF91 .O672a; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals OECD
Economic Outlook Hon Gov Intl. HC 10 .O18; latest issues
in Honnold Periodicals
-
OECD Observer Hon Gov Intl.
HC 240.A1 O2; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Our Planet Hon Gov Intl. HC79.E5
O87; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Refugees Hon Gov Intl. HV640 .R435;
latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Social Europe Hon Gov Intl.
HD5764.5.A6 S65; latest issues in Honnold
Periodicals
-
Unasylva Hon Gov Intl. SD1
.U5; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals [Also
available Online Unasylva
]
-
U.N. Observer & International Report
Hon Gov Intl. JX 1977.A1 U2; latest issues in Honnold
-
Periodicals.
-
UN Chronicle Hon Gov
Intl. JX 1977.A1 U564; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
Unesco Courier Hon Gov Intl.
v.42#6 (Jun.1989)-Current ; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
World Bank Economic Review Hon
Gov Intl. HC 59.69 .W67; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
-
World Health Hon Gov
Intl. RA 421.W63 W6; latest issues in Honnold Periodicals
Finding Treaties ( International
& U.S.)
-
Council of Europe
European Treaty Series (ETS) began in 1949 and consists of the conventions
and protocols of the 40 members of the Council of Europe. ETS are not the
agreements of the European Union. This web site has treatiea by subject
category, and links to other cited agreements within the text.
-
European
Union Selected Instruments Taken From Treaties of the European
Union Commission. Full text of many of the major treaties on which the
European Union is based.
-
Organization of American
States (OAS) The Treaties and status of Inter-American Treaties
are being continued on this web site. Consists of multipartite agreements
concluded among OAS members.
-
Food and Agriculture Organization
of the United Nations (FAO) Site has posted multilateral
treaties and their texts and status information (states that have signed
or ratified the treaties).
-
United
Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
List of international agreements of UNESCO with links to texts of the agreements.
Does not have signatories or citations, but valuable nonetheless.
-
World Intellectual
Property Organization (WIPO) WIPO administers a number of agreements
in the area of intellectual property rights, copyright, designs, citations,
and trademarks. Texts and status can be obtained from this web site.
-
United Nations
This site allows searching of treaties registered with the UN and published
in the UN Treaty Series (UNTS) by country, subject, international organization,
UN-related agency, region, popular name, and keyword in title. Includes
treaties signed prior to 1946. Also allows searching for multilateral
treaties as to status, date of entry into force, status, and registration
number. Registration required.
-
United States (Treaties in Force)
This site has, the entire full text publication Treaties in Force (TIF),
the offical annual index to treaties, although no actual text of treaties.
Most citations are to United States Treaties and Other International Agreements.
United States
(1) (Senate, House and Executive Reports) and United
States (2) (Senate and House and Treaty Documents) United States.Congress)
Full text Senate Executive Reports and Senate Treaty Documents from the
104th Congress (1996) Texts are also available for free by faxing a request
to the Senate Document Room at (202) 228-2815.
Back to Top of Page
Back
to Research Guide table of contents
Last updated on February 4, 1999
by Mary Martin. For questions and comments, please contact: mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais
|