Pitzer Politics 195 & PS 119:
European Union Scholars Seminar
Professors David Andrews and Nigel Boyle
Honnold/Mudd extensively collects materials in the subject area of International
Politics. These materials can be found in the General Library Collections
and the Government Publications Collections. This course guide is designed
to help you focus on some of the most relevant information resources in
your subject area.
If you have questions about any of these resources or if you would like
to schedule an appointment to work on your particular
research topic, please contact Mary Martin in Honnold/Mudd Library,
ext.18923 (621-8923)
mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu.
Help With Library Research
Help With
Library Research- For help specific to Library Research
Citing
Your Sources - For help with citation of sources, both paper
and electronic. There are two helpful sites for this. For non-governmental
information the Libraries' Guide to citation is excellent.
Brief Guide
to Citing Government Information - For help with citing government
information resources, the following site is extremely helpful.
Selected Subject Headings in European Relations
Citizenship -- European Union countries
Council of the European Union -- Reform
Ethnic Groups
European cooperation
European Union
European Union Countries -- Politics and government
Finance European Economic Community Countries
Human Rights
Legitimacy of governments -- European Union countries
National security -- Europe
World Development-Economic Policy
World Conflict
Interlibrary Loan
If you need to borrow materials from other libraries, submit your ILL requests
at the H/M Information Desk, the H/M Reference Desk, or use the online
ILL form on the Libraries web site.
If you have questions about any of these resources or if you would like
to schedule an appointment to work on your particular research topic, please
contact Mary Martin in Honnold/Mudd Library, ext.18923 (621-8923)
mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu.
Finding Information on European
Relations Topics
Finding
Books
Finding
Information in Journals, Newspapers and Databases Using Database Indexes
Finding
Information on the WWW
Finding International Government Information
Finding Books
Blais - the
online catalog of the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges (DEN, HON, SGM,
SPR), is searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, and call number.
In addition to materials in the four libraries, Blais also includes
materials at the Claremont School of Theology (STC), Rancho Santa Ana Botanic
Gardens (RSA), and the Center for Research Libraries (in Chicago).
Link + -Union
catalog and book request service that allows Claremont Colleges students,
faculty and staff to borrow books unavailable at our Libraries. This new
service is expected to provide faster delivery of materials than traditional
Interlibrary Loan Services. Participating libraries include CSU Fullerton,
CSU Hayward, CSU Long Beach, Cal Poly Pomona, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo,
San Diego State, San Francisco State, San Jose State, Occidental College,
and the Claremont Colleges.
Melvyl
- the combined library catalogs of the UC and Cal State universities. These
materials may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
webCATS
- Provides links to numerous online public-access library catalogs with
web interfaces.
WorldCat
on FirstSearch - Union catalog of over 36 million records of any
type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts
written as early as the 11th century. Firstsearch) -- has holdings
of most libraries in North America and the U.K.. These materials may be
borrowed through ILL.
Finding Information in Journals,
Newspapers and Databases Using Database Indexes
Use the following print and CDROM indexes to find articles and other
materials on specific topics. For questions, please do not hesitate to
call Mary Martin, Government Publications and International Relations,
at extension x18923.
Academic
Universe(Lexis/Nexis)
This is a full-text database consisting of millions of articles covering
the fields of business, law and legislation, and general news. There are
terminals available in the Reference, Government Publications, and Asian
Studies departments. You may also Telnet through the Library Services Menu.
Electronic
Journals The library subscribes to a database of electronic
journals maintained by JStor. Journals can be selected and searched full
text. Most full text electronic holdings are only to within three years.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index to public policy
and social issues, information in a wide range of subjects. Contains selected
citations to journal articles, books, government documents and reports.
Also indexes foreign language publications. Library has paper and electronic
sources, although limited coverage in electronic format. Available on Ovid.
Wilson Social Sciences Abstracts General scholarly index. On Ovid back
to 1984; available also as Telnet connection through the Library Services
Menu and in paper back to 1974; preceded by The International Index to
Periodicals and The Social Science and Humanities Index, both located in
the Honnold/Mudd Index Room.
Wilson's Reader's Guide Abstracts to Periodical Literature General, multi-disciplinary
index. Contains records for general and popular articles in all subjects.
On OVID back to 1983; available also as telnet connection through the Library
Services Menu and in paper back to the turn of the century, Honnold/Mudd
Index Room/Table 1.
Finding Information Using the
World Wide Web Sites
- Meta-Sites
Government
Publications Department Home Page This page has been developed
specifically for the use of students, faculty and staff of the Claremont
Colleges. Provides links to departmental information, Government Agencies,
specific subject guides, alphabetical lists popular sites, and several
more specific pages.
International
Affairs Page (Claremont Government Publications Online) Provides
selected links to directories, agency link sites (meta-sites), and links
for International Law. Titles and Links for Country Information & Maps.
International
Organizations -This
page is created and maintained by The International Documents Task Foce
of The Government Documents Round Table of The American Library Association.
It provides an alphabetical listing of International Governmental Organizations
websites, many of which have online datanases and publications as well
as online lists.
Research
Guide to International Government Information
This Research Guide has been created to provide guidance in finding Information
in International Government Publications and from International Inter-Governmental
Agencies. Provides links to course Guides.
Statistical Universe
Statistical
Universe
Guide to very current U.S. Government Statistics that
has replaced Statistical Masterfile. Statistical Universe
connects to full-text information such as that found in Statistical Abstract
of the United States. It actually replaces the current (1998-) American
Statistics Index (ASI) - (1974 -1991) HON MICROFORM REF Z 7554 I53.
Indexes statistics in U.S. government publications issued by the federal
government. [World Wide Web. This resource is available only to users
at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.]
University
of Michigan International Relations Agencies and Information on the Web
- Excellent WWW site which provides access to many sources of information
International Government Relations. Links to agencies, foreign governments,
news sources, tresties, and a special focus on United States Policy.
- Specific Sites
Alexandria
Digital Library This is a fantastic site which allows you to view
maps of countries.
Access UN
Access UN (United Nations Documents Index)
(1979 - current) Indexes
documents , periodicals and general interest publications published by
the United Nations. The library has many of these publications in paper,
in addition to a comprehensive subscription to the United Nations Collection
on microfiche. [This resource is available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.]
Background
Notes These are a collection of publications on countries updated
regularly with demographic,political and economic information. The information is more extensive than the CIA
World Factbook.
CIA
World Factbook This publication has country information including
demographic, political and economic data.
European
Institutions The site provides links to the major European
Institutions such as the European Commissin and the Statistical Office of the
European Communities.
European Central Bank
In addition to providing links to all the European System of Central Banks,
this site is full of links to information about the new monetary system.
European
Parliament This site provides links to press releases, full
text minutes of sessions and information about meetings. Allows searching by
key issues, speakers, dates, etc.
Eurostat:
Statistical Office of the European Communities (World Wide
Web) Collects data from the National Statistical Institutes
of each of the 15 member states of the European Union.
European Union
This is the official web site of the European Union. It is multilingual,
allowing searching in several languages in topics such as key issues and offical documents. Provides direct
links to related Web sites.
FBIS
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
(1975-1996).
(CD-ROM Hon Search Center)
Index to translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers,
periodicals, and government statements from around the world. The translations
are published as a set, which is owned in microfiche in the Government
Publications and Microforms Department. Covers 8 world areas. (For 1996
- current see:
World News Connection
World News Connection)
Radio Free Europe
This site provides links to news broadcasts from allover Europe and the
United States.Includes links to audio news in many different languages.
World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators
Presents downloadable data providing a comprehensive statistical
survey of indicators on world view, people, environment, economy, states
and markets, and global links. Data back to 1960 where available. [Previous versions,
2001
2001
and
2000,
2000,
still available in the search centers of the Libraries only. Note: some 2000 version indicators are not available in the
2001 version.]
World News Connection
World News Connection
This database requires a pasword that can be obtained at the Honnold/Mudd
Reference Desk.
Index to translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers,
periodicals, and government statements from around the world. The translations
are published as a set, which is owned in microfiche in the Government
Publications and Microforms Department. . Covers 8 world areas.For pre
1996, see: FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service).
Back To Contents List
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais