Finding Information Using the World Wide Web
Titles and Links for Country Information & MapsGovernment Publications Department Home Page – This page has been developed specifically for the use of students, faculty and staff of the Claremont Colleges. Provides links to departmental information, Government Agencies, specific subject guides, and alphabetical lists of popular sites.
International Relations Page. is one of several subject-specific pages. In addition to these general pages, there are the following specialized pages
United Nations Webpage This Web site is the official Web site of the United Nations and provides links to a wide range of resources. Of special interest is the United Nations Documentation: Research Guide.
The UN Scholars Workstation at Yale University. This site contains a broad range of information of interest to UN scholars.
For general information about countries usefule sites are the
Access UN (United Nations Documents Index) (1966?- current)
Indexes documents , periodicals and general interest publications published by the United Nations. The library has many of these publications in paper, in addition to a comprehensive subscription to the United Nations Collection on microfiche. Also contains fulltext of resolutions.This collection is only indexed in the UN Documents Index, available on the WWW. There is a retrospective index which covers 1975-1992, called UNBIS PLUS on CD ROM. Available as a Local CD-ROM.
Basic Reference sources on UN activities (non-electronic)World News ConnectionFBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
Index to translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the world. The translations are published as a set, which is owned in microfiche in the Government Publications and Microforms Department. Covers 8 world areas. An annual comprehensive review of United Nations activities. Provides references to documents and includes some votes on resolutions.
Guides to Citing Government InformationBasic Facts About the United Nations (HON GOV INTL REFJX1977 A37 B3 1995)
A general introduction to the role and function of the United Nations and its related agencies.
Yearbook of the United Nations ( HON GOV REF DESK JX1977.A37 Y4 1995)
An annual comprehensive review of United Nations activities. Provides references to documents and includes some votes on resolutions.Un Chronicle. (Current in HON GOV PERIODICALS, older in HON PERIODICALS STACKS) Published bimonthly. Provides a summary of the highlights of activities of all major organs of the United Nations, and includes important resolutions, votes, and speeches.
Searching Electronic DatabasesBrief Guide to Citing Government Information A site which provides guides to citing government information, both in traditional and electronic format. Guide to Citing Print and Electronic Resources A site which provides guides to citing government information, both in traditional and electronic format.
Use the following print and CDROM indexes to find articles and other materials on specific topics.
Firstsearch. One can also telnet through the Library Services Menu. This database is a menu driven reference service consisting of dozens of databases, including the OCLC union catalogWorldCat. WorldCat contains more than 25 million bibliographic records, representing holdings of more than 9000 libraries. First Search can also be used to search approximately 2 dozen periodical and other reference databases.
Ethnic Newswatch is a full text database containing articles from ethnic and minority newspapers from across the county. On Library LAN.
Newspaper Abstracts (FirstSearch) Includes citations from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal as well as many other newspapers. On FirstSearch, and as a telnet connection through the Library Services Menu.
Pais Index to public policy and social issues, information in a wide range of subjects. Contains selected citations to journal articles, books, government documents and reports. Also indexes foreign language publications. Library has paper and electronic sources, although limited coverage in electronic format. Available on Ovid.
Wilson's Social Sciences Abstracts General scholarly index. On Ovid back to 1984; available also as Telnet connection through the Library Services Menu and in paper back to 1974; preceded by The International Index to Periodicals and The Social Science and Humanities Index, both located in the Honnold/Mudd Index Room.
For questions, please do not hesitate to call Mary Martin, Government Publications and International Relations, at extension x18923.Wilson's Reader's Guide Abstracts to Periodical Literature General, multi-disciplinary index. Contains records for general and popular articles in all subjects. On OVID back to 1983; available also as telnet connection through the Library Services Menu and in paper back to the turn of the century, Honnold/Mudd Index Room/Table 1. Preceded by 19th Century Readers Guide covering 1890-1899, and Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, covering 1802-1906, also Honnold Index Room/Table 1.
Back
To the Government Publications Page
Back
to the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges Page
MM 2/03/00