Pathfinder for Research in American Politics
Finding General Information about American Politics Using
the World Wide Web
S
U.S.
Constitution page has the annotated full text of the Constitution
with links to other full-text sources such as The Federalist Papers.
American
Government Resource Guide. is a course-specific guide to comprehensive
sources in both traditional (paper) and electronic resources that consist
mostly of WWW links.
History
Research Guide is an excellent resource for information on
library resources in History, which includes Politics. To find, connect
to the Library's Reference & Instruction Page: (Click on "Research
Guides", then scroll down to the suject History and click.
Finding Information on Members of Congress Using the
World Wide Web
Project
Vote Smart Input your zip code and find out who your representatives
are. This site even links to the US Postal Service zip code lookup site
if you don't know the zip. Also finds members by state and name. This site
returns information on both federal and state elected officials. It also
gives biographical, contact and officials' response to their questionnaire
on certain issues.
U.S. Congress Web Page
The web page of Congress provides links to many resources including member
pages, committee pages, and addresses and email addresses of members. For
finacial information on members of Congress and PACs (Political Action
Committees) there are two useful sites.
FecInfo is
a non-partisan site from the Center for Responsive Politics that compiles
campaign finance information from the Federal Elections Commission. It
also contains information on PACs.
Federal
Election Commission is the official US Government Website for
campaign finance oversight. It contains finance information for the Presidential
and Congressional candidates, and PACs.
Finding Information on Legislation Using the World
Wide Web
Academic
Universe (Lexis-Nexis) This is a full-text database consisting
of millions of articles covering the fields of business, law and legislation,
and general news. Nexis consists of more than 650 full-text information
sources such as newspaper articles, journals, newsletters, wire services,
and broadcast transcripts, which are updated as often as daily. Lexis is
primarily a legal-resource database, which contains primary sources such
as cases, statutes, and regulations as well as secondary materials such
as law review articles etc. There are restrictions on its use, and you
must display a Claremont Colleges ID and sign up to use it. There are terminals
available in the Reference, Government Publications, and Asian Studies
departments. You may also Telnet through the Library Services Menu.
Thomas
(House of Representatives through Library of Congress). Includes: Bill
Text, Congressional Record Text, Bill Summary & Status, Hot Bills,
now called "Congress This Week" and "Major Legislation"), the Congressional
Record Index, and the Constitution (now found, along with other historical
Congressional documents, under the "Historical Documents" category on the
THOMAS home page). Enhancements in the types of legislative data available,
as well as in search and display capabilities, have been continuously added.
Finding Statistical Information on American Politics
Statistical
Universe is a guide to U.S. Government Statistics that has replaced
Statistical Masterfile. This resource is available only to users on the Claremont Colleges
network. Statistical Universe connects to full-text information
such as that found in Statistical Abstract of the United States. This database
requires a password which you must obtain from the Government Publications
Reference Desk.
STAT-USA
is a database which provides access to economic and trade statistics from
the U.S. Government. It has information from several branches of government,
and requires a password which may be obtains from the Government Publications
Reference Desk.
National Election
Studies is a site which offers data on voting, public opinion,
and political participation that serves the research needs of social scientists,
teachers, students, and policy makers concerned with understanding the
theoretical and empirical foundations of mass politics in a democratic
society.
Guides to Citing Government Information
Brief
Guide to Citing Government Information A site which provides
guides to citing government information, both in traditional and electronic
format.
Basic
Legal Citation A site which provides guides to citing legal
sources, both in traditional and electronic format.
To Find Books and Articles Using The Library Catalog
and Electronic Database Indexes
Blais To
locate books, search Blais,, the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges online
catalog.The on-line catalog, is now available to students at the Honnold/Mudd
Library using the World Wide Web Interface. Each citation found in footnotes,
indexed, bibliographies, the card catalog, or the on-line catalog contains
information that can be used by Blais to lead you to other sources. Expand
such pieces of information by using them as "subject headings," authors'
names or call number locations to help you find other sources that are
grouped together. Then use these pieces of information to begin a "new"
search in the card catalog, on Blais, or to "browse the shelf" in a particular
call number location. Think of it as computerized free association, linked
to concrete research data and information.
Books can be searched by author, title, or subject. If you are unsure
of the exact title or if your subject search doesn't produce the results
you hoped for, try a "Words in title" search using two or three of the
most significant words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
Subject searching requires use of Library of Congress Subject Headings.
Here are some typical subject headings in Government. The Government Publications
department has a handout with directions on its use. Current, incoming
U.S. documents are catalogued in Blais and older holdings will be added
soon. Few California State documents are in Blais. Other databases and
indexes must be used to access them. For further information on computer
databases, see the handout on computer databases or consult a reference
librarian.
Selected Subject Headings in Government
Affirmative Action
Civil Rights
Constitution - United States
Constitutional Law - United States
Ethnic Groups
Human Rights
Race
Representative Government and Representation
United States
United States Constitution
United States - 14th Amendment
United States Race Relations
United States Supreme Court
Finding General and Popular Articles Using Database
Indexes
Use the following interdisciplinary print and CDROM indexes to find
articles and other materials on specific topics. Many items are located
solely in the libraries; some are available solely in print. Some electronic
links are available only to staff, students, and faculty of the Claremont
Colleges. All print items, unless otherwise noted, are in Honnold/Mudd.
For questions, please do not hesitate to call Mary Martin, Government Publications
and International Relations, at extension x18923.
Firstsearch
One can also telnet through the Library Services Menu. This database is
a menu driven reference service consisting of dozens of databases, including
the OCLC union catalog WorldCat.
WorldCat contains more than 25 million
bibliographic records, representing holdings of more than 9000 libraries.
First Search can also be used to search approximately 2 dozen periodical
and other reference databases. See category 11; News and Current Events,
or 12, Public Affairs and Law.
Newspaper
Abstracts Includes citations from the Los Angeles Times, New
York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal
as well as many other newspapers. On FirstSearch, and as a telnet connection
through the Library Services Menu.
Pais Index to public policy and social issues, information in a wide range of
subjects. Contains selected citations to journal articles, books, government
documents and reports. Also indexes foreign language publications. Library
has paper and electronic sources, although limited coverage in electronic
format. Available on Ovid.
Wilson Social Sciences Abstracts General scholarly index. On Ovid back to 1984; available
also as Telnet connection through the Library Services Menu and in paper
back to 1974; preceded by The International Index to Periodicals and The
Social Science and Humanities Index, both located in the Honnold/Mudd Index
Room.
Wilson's Reader's Guide Abstracts to Periodical Literature General,
multi-disciplinary index. Contains records for general and popular articles
in all subjects. On OVID back to 1983; available also as telnet connection
through the Library Services Menu and in paper back to the turn of the
century, Honnold/Mudd Index Room/Table 1. Preceded by 19th Century Readers
Guide covering 1890-1899, and Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, covering
1802-1906, also Honnold Index Room/Table 1.
MM 2/23/98
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais