Pathfinder for Public Policy
Using The Library Catalog to Find Books
Blais
To
locate books, search Blais,, the Libraries of the Claremont
Colleges online catalog.
Books can be searched by author, title, or subject. If you are unsure
of the exact title or if your subject search doesn't produce the results
you hoped for, try a "Words in title" search using two or three of the
most significant words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
Subject searching requires use of Library of Congress Subject Headings.
Here are some typical subject headings in International Relations. The
Government Publications department has a handout with directions on its
use. Current, incoming U.S. documents are catalogued in Blais
and older holdings will be added soon. Most International Government Publications
and some California State documents are in Blais. Other databases
and indexes must be used to access publications not yet in Blais. For further
information on computer databases, see the handout on computer databases
or consult a reference librarian.
Selected Subject Headings in Public Policy
Crime and Criminals-United States
Firearms-Industry and Trade-United States
Firearms-Law and Legislation-United States
Gun Control
Gun Control-Law and Legislation
Interest Groups
Lobbying-United States
National Rifle Association
World Politics
Finding General and Popular Articles Using Database
Indexes
Use the following print and CDROM indexes to find articles and other
materials on specific topics. For questions, please do not hesitate to
call Mary Martin, Government Publications and International Relations,
at extension x18923.
Firstsearch
One can also telnet through the Library Services Menu. This database is
a menu driven reference service consisting of dozens of databases, including
the OCLC union catalog WorldCat. WorldCat contains
more than 25 million bibliographic records, representing holdings of more
than 9000 libraries. First Search can also be used to search
approximately 2 dozen periodical and other reference databases. See category
11; News and Current Events, or 12, Public Affairs and Law.
Academic Universe (Lexis\Nexis)
This is a full-text database consisting of millions of articles covering
the fields of business, law and legislation, and general news. There are
terminals available in the Reference, Government Publications, and Asian
Studies departments. You may also Telnet through the Library Services Menu.
Ethnic Newswatch is a full text database containing articles
from ethnic and minority newspapers from across the county. On This resource is available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries.
Newspaper
Abstracts Includes citations from the Los Angeles Times, New
York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal
as well as many other newspapers. On FirstSearch, and as a telnet connection
through the Library Services Menu.
Pais Index to public policy and social issues, information in a wide range of
subjects. Contains selected citations to journal articles, books, government
documents and reports. Also indexes foreign language publications. Library
has paper and electronic sources, although limited coverage in electronic
format. Available on Ovid.
Wilson Social Sciences Abstracts General scholarly index. On Ovid back to 1984;
available also as Telnet connection through the Library Services Menu and
in paper back to 1974; preceded by The International Index to Periodicals
and The Social Science and Humanities Index, both located in the Honnold/Mudd
Index Room.
Wilson's Reader's Guide Abstracts to Periodical Literature General,
multi-disciplinary index. Contains records for general and popular articles
in all subjects. On OVID back to 1983; available also as telnet connection
through the Library Services Menu and in paper back to the turn of the
century, Honnold/Mudd Index Room/Table 1. Preceded by 19th Century Readers
Guide covering 1890-1899, and Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, covering
1802-1906, also Honnold Index Room/Table 1.
Finding Information Using the World Wide Web
This website has been developed specifically for the use of students,
faculty and staff of the Claremont Colleges. It provides links to departmental
information, Government Agencies, specific subject guides, alphabetical
lists popular sites, and several course-specific pages such as the International
Relations Page.
MM 9/23/97
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais