Academic Universe
Congressional
Universe Statistical
Universe GPO
Access
PP490k: LA County Women's Health Project
Fall 2000
Jean Schroedel/Brooke Herndon
Secondary sources - Books
BLAIS - To locate books at
Claremont, search
the Libraries' online catalog. Books can be searched by author, title,
keyword, or subject.
To search for a person, as AUTHOR or as SUBJECT, search by last name,
first name:
Schweitzer, Stuart .
Subject searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings.
Here are some typical subject headings dealing with poverty, women and
women's health issues.
- Health Promotion
- Minority Women -- Health and Hygiene
- Poverty
- Women's health services -- United States
- Minorities -- United States -- Health and hygiene
- Minorities -- United States -- Medical care
- Clinical health psychology -- United States --
Cross-cultural studies
- Cervix uteri -- Cancer -- Diagnosis -- Cost
effectiveness
You can also use Library of Congress subject headings to search most
other library catalogs (the University of California's MELVYL,
RLIN, Cal
Poly Pomona, etc.), and to search
WorldCat (details below).
If you are unsure of the exact title or if your subject search doesn't
produce the results you hoped for, try a KEYWORD search using two
or three of the most significant words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
If you are trying to find a book that isn't listed in Blais, here
are
some options:
- Search LINK+.
This button is located on the Blais screen, after you've done a Blais
search. When you click on the LINK+ button, the search is
automatically done for you, and you will see if any of the
other CSULINK libraries owns the book. By entering your library card
number (your student ID number), you can initiate an inter-library loan.
Watch your Blais "view your own record" listing for notification that it
can be picked up at the Honnold/Mudd Circulation Desk, or tell
Circulation to notify you by email. You should receive your book in
about 3-5 days.
- Do an Interlibrary Loan.
Fill out the online form by clicking on
"Interlibrary Loan" from the Research page. You may receive your book or
article in 7-21 days. You don't need to locate which library owns the
book to do an interlibrary loan, they will do this for you.
- What if I don't have time to do an Interlibrary Loan? Your best
option is to locate the book or journal at a local university or college, and
go there to photocopy what you need. (you probably won't be able to
check out the book.) Click on the Libraries' Home Page, "Research"
option, then on "Library Catalogs".
- WorldCat - a
catalog that is national in scope. It looks different than Blais, but it
uses the same search terms and basic indexes (author, title, subject,
keyword, etc).
Once you find a book listed in Worldcat, you should click on
"Libraries with this item" to see where the book is located. If you need to, you
can make an
InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request.
Secondary sources - Journal Articles:
If you want to find articles in scholarly journals or in magazines or
newspapers, you will need to use an index. The Libraries have many
indexes in electronic format, and these databases are listed by title
and by subject on the Libraries web site under "Research". You may need
to search Blais by title of the source (journal or magazine title) to
determine if the library has the publication that you have located in an
index. Remember that titles of articles ARE NOT in Blais.
Databases for locating articles on poverty and women's health include:
(Note: A description of each database can be found on the Libraries' web
site by accessing either the
Databases--by Subject or
Databases--by Title list).
-
MEDLINE - Provides access to citations for articles on all areas of medicine.
-
AIDS & Cancer Research Abstracts - Provides access to scholarly
citations for the worldwide literature on AIDS, immunology, virology and
cancer genetics.
- Web of Science - Provides access to
scholarly citations for books and articles, and links to some fulltext
articles, in the sciences and social sciences. Electronic version of
Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
- Contemporary
Women's Issues - deals primarily with women's studies and gender issues, but
has some citations for cervical cancer, etc.
- GenderWatch - also
deals primarily with women's studies and gender issues, but has some citations for
cervical cancer, etc.
- BiblioLine Women's
Resources International - also deals primarily with women's studies and gender
issues, but has some citations for cervical cancer, etc.
- Black Studies on
Disc (available only in the Libraries) - deals primarily with citations for scholarly and popular articles, reviews,
books, dissertations, and other materials in the humanities, social
sciences, and the arts produced by and about people of African descent
worldwide.
- Chicano
Database - Provides access to citations for scholarly journal articles, books,
articles in popular magazines and newspapers, and other publications
about Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American
immigrants.
- Ethnic Newswatch -
Provides access to fulltext articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the
ethnic and minority press. Contains mostly popular publications,
although some scholarly material is also included.
-
Sociofile - Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles
from the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the
social and behavioral sciences.
-
Wilson Social Sciences Abstracts - Provides access to citations for
articles and book reviews published in over 415 major international
English-language scholarly journals in the social sciences
-
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International - Provides
access to selected citations for journal articles, books, government
documents and reports and foreign language publications. Topics covered
include economic, political, business, finance, law, international trade
and relations, public administration, government, political science,
public policy and social issues.
-
PsycINFO - Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles
in psychology and the behavioral sciences.
Primary sources:
- National Center for Health Statistics
From top page, click on "Data Warehouse", then "Search" for cervical cancer.
First Record: "Implementing Recommendations for the Early Detection of
Breast and Cervical Cancer Among Low-Income Women"
Talking point: Citation Chasing. It's ok to use other people's
citations! But do verify them, reading them to make sure they're
pertinent and accurate. Also, look to see where they got their raw
data.
ALSO- browse other data resources at this site- click on "National
Cancer Data", "Public-use data files and documentation", and do a search
for "Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) program".(see below)
- Statistical
Universe
- an index to statistical sources Click on "Search Abstracts",
start by searching "cervical cancer in all fields and Los Angeles in all fields". Try other search terms also.
- Rand California
- an online source of
California statistics. Click on "California Statistics", "Health and Socioeconomic", "Medi-Cal
Eligibility". Also, click on "Search the statistics database" and search
for "cancer".
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
- The Centers for Disease Control's monthly journal of national-level health statistics.
Click on "search" and search for "cervical cancer".
- SEER program - (NCI)
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program. Authoritative database on cancer
incidence and survival. Information on more than 2.5 million cancer cases is included in the SEER
database, and approximately 160,000 new cases are accessioned each year within the SEER catchment
areas.
Other links on Claremont's Voxlibris web pages that can help in your research:
For help in using the CD-Roms or other Government Publications, please
contact Ruth Schooley, (ruth.schooley@libraries.claremont.edu)
to make an appointment for loading, training, and extracting these files.
You may also call at (909) 607-7122.
The Library Bibliographer for Sociology is Cindy
Snyder, cindy.snyder@libraries.claremont.edu. You may also reach her at (909)
607-7106. Please contact her for help in researching sociology topics.
The Library Bibliographer for Government Publications is Mary
Martin, mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu. You may also reach her at (909)
621-8923.
BRS 9/2000
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais
|