Pathfinder for Research Methods in Psychology
Using The Library Catalog to Find Books, Journals, and CD-Roms
Blais --
To locate books, journals, or CD-Roms at Claremont, search Blais,
the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges online catalog. Please note that
you can search for journals by title of the journal (example: Journal
of Psychology), but not for titles or authors of articles in those
journals.
Publications can be searched by author, title, or subject. If you are
unsure of the exact title or if your subject search doesn't produce the
results you hoped for, try a "Words in title" search using two or three
of the most significant words from the title or subject you are trying
to find.
Scope of Data Presentations
Data cited herein are available via the agencies' web site, or via CD-Rom
and/or paper in the Government Publications Dept. Please be aware that
the data will be presented differently in each format (e.g. CD-Rom vs.
web vs. paper), and may be aggregated differently according to their respective
interfaces and algorithms.
Categories of Data Available Pertinent to Psychology
Demographic - Population and housing
data from the Bureau of the Census
Justice - Crime and delinquency data
from the Dept. of Justice
Health - Vital and other statistics
from the Dept. of Health and Human Services
Demographic
Web:
U.S. Bureau of the Census
is the government agency for a wealth of official (government) statistics
on population, employment and housing. On its web page, the Bureau links
to derived datasets by topic. Be forewarned that some links contain no
basic data, just information on where the information is available. Also,
the statistics available on the Census Web site may not be as in-depth
as on the CD-Rom. Consult a Government Publications Librarian for help
in locating the particular data you need.
The Current Population
Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted
by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey
has been conducted for more than 50 years. The CPS home page is a joint
project between the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and the U.S. Bureau
of the Census. It offers:
---publications of CPS statistical data
---extraction of data from CPS data sets using Ferret or BLS Labstat
---detailed information on the history, methodology, and concepts of
the CPS
CD-Rom:
Consult a Government Publications Librarian for help in locating and
loading CD-Roms. You may find most CD-Roms listed in BLAIS by searching
the Subject: United States -- Census, 21st, 1990 -- Data bases.
You may also find an exhaustive listing of Census CD-Roms, with descriptions
of content, by searching Infomine
at UC Riverside. Use the search term "1990 Census of Population and
Housing".
Examples of CD-Rom holdings:
1990 census of population and housing. Summary tape file 3A. California
(Los Angeles County) [computer file] SuDoc call number: HON GOV CD-ROM
C 3.282/2:CD 90-3 A-05/992. Summary Tape File 3 discs contain sample data
weighted to represent the total population. Summary tables report responses
to census questions about families, education, employment, income, and
housing.
Current population survey: annual demographic files: March
1991, 1992, 1993. SuDoc call number: HON GOV CD-ROM C 3.224/12:991-93.
The Annual Demographic File contains household interview data regarding
employment/unemployment status, weeks worked in the past year, hours worked
per week, occupation, household income, and household non-cash benefits.
Data are collected in March of each year by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Justice
Web:
The Bureau of
Justice Statistics is the federal website for statistics on crimes
and victims, drugs and crime, criminal offenders, and various other statistics
on the criminal justice system. There is also some downloadable data for
state, locality, and federal district.
The Federal Bureau of Investigation
offers information about law enforcement activities and crime and in the
United States as well as descriptions of FBI programs and activities. Included
are statistics, reports, and articles about crime and law enforcement in
the United States. Publications include recent issues of the FBI Law Enforcement
Bulletin and the NCIC 2000 newsletter as well as Uniform Crime Report data
in Crime in the United States.
CD-Rom:
Crime in the United States SuDoc call number: HON GOV CD-ROM
J 1.14/7-8:995. Presents crime statistics for the nation as a whole, as
well as for regions, states, counties, cities, towns, and college and university
campuses. These data are compiled from monthly law enforcement reports
or individual crime incident reports transmitted directly to the FBI or
to centralized state agencies that then report to the FBI.
Health
Web:
U.S. National Center
for Health Statistics is the government agency for official (government)
statistics on these topics:
-
Behavioral Risk Factors (Overweight, Serum cholesterol levels, Smoking
during pregnancy, and Tobacco use)
-
Diseases (Selected chronic conditions (Long-term illness), Hypertension,
and Pelvic inflammatory disease)
-
Infant and Child Health (Breastfeeding, Infant mortality, Low birthweight,
and Prenatal care)
-
Infertility (Fecundity status)
-
Sex Education (Sex education before age 18)
-
Sexual Activity (Age of partner at first intercourse, Percent who ever
had intercourse, and Percent whose first intercourse was not voluntary)
-
Use of Contraceptives (Contraceptive use at first intercourse, Consistency
of oral contraceptive use, Consistency of use of other contraceptives,
and Current contraceptive status)
-
Vital Events (Births, Births by method of delivery, Births by payment for
delivery, Births (unwanted), Deaths, Leading causes of death, and Life
expectancy)
CD-Rom:
These are some of the titles available in the Honnold/Mudd Government
Publications Search Center. Ask a Government Publications Librarian for
help in loading and using these:
National Health Interview Survey. SuDoc call number: HON GOV
CD-ROM HE 20.6209/4-3:10/(no.1-7). (7 CD-Roms) Information about the health
characteristics and health status of the civilian, non-institutionalized
population of the United States is collected in household interviews through
the National Health Interview Survey. Data records on the CD-ROM may be
retrieved using the Statistical Export and Tabulation System (SETS) software.
National Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey. SuDoc call
number: HON GOV CD-ROM HE 20.6209/4-5:13(no.2-7). (6 CD-Roms) The National
Hospital Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (NHAMCS) collects data on the health
care provided by hospital emergency departments and outpatient departments
to the population of the United States. Data records on the CD-ROM may
be retrieved using the Statistical Export and Tabulation System (SETS).
Birth Cohort Linked Birth/Infant Death Data Set (also called Multiple
Causes of Death, Fetal Death Data File) SuDoc call number: HON GOV
CD-ROM HE 20.6209/4-7:20/(no.1-7) (7 CD-Roms) Each year's ( 1985, 1986,
1987, 1988, 1990, 1991)Linked Birth/Infant Death Data Set contains three
separate data files comprising nearly 4,000,000 records. The Numerator
file includes linked records of live births and infant deaths for the year's
birth cohort. The denominator-plus file contains the live birth file for
the year. These files are offered as a numerator/denominator data set to
give users the means to compute infant mortality rates. The third file,
the unlinked file, contains information from the death certificates for
all infant death records which could not be linked to their corresponding
birth certificates. SETS retrieval software allows access to the files.
1990 National Hospital Discharge Survey SuDoc call number: HON
GOV CD-ROM HE 20.6209/7-2:13/1. Covers discharges from noninstitutional
short-stay hospitals, exclusive of federal, military, and Veterans Administration
hospitals, located in the 50 states and the District of Columbia.
The Longitudinal Study of Aging, 1984-90 SuDoc call number: HON
GOV CD-ROM HE 20.7041:1. (one CD-ROM) The CD-Rom contains three files:
LSOA Interview and National Death Index Data; Medicare Hospital Record,
Part A; and Other Medicare Use Record, parts A and B.
Other useful information:
Brief
Guide to Citing Government Information A site which provides
guides to citing government information, both in traditional and electronic
format.
Guide
to Citing Print and Electronic Resources A site which provides
guides to citing government information, both in traditional and electronic
format.
For help in using the CD-Roms or other Government Publications, please
contact Ruth Schooley, (909/607-7122 or ruth.schooley@libraries.claremont.edu)
to make an appointment for loading, training, and extracting these files.
The Library Bibliographer for Psychology is Meg Garrett, meg.garrett@libraries.claremont.edu.
You may also reach her at (909) 607-7101. Please contact her for help in
researching psychology topics.
BRH 2/98
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais