Pathfinder for Research in Sociology
Using The Library Catalog to Find Books, Journals, and CD-Roms
Blais --
To locate books, journals, or CD-Roms at Claremont, search Blais,
the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges online catalog. Please note that
you can search for journals by title of the journal (example: Journal
of Sociology), but not for titles or authors of articles in those journals.
Publications can be searched by author, title, or subject. If you are
unsure of the exact title or if your subject search doesn't produce the
results you hoped for, try a "Keyword" search using two or three of the
most significant words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
Using Library Databases To Find Articles
The Claremont Libraries' Databases
page has links to databases that will help you find journal articles. If
you click on Sociology, under the Database Subject Categories, you see
the databases most useful for your subject discipline. For this class,
the Sociological Abstracts or the Social Sciences Abstracts databases might be particularly useful.
Web Resources
The GODORT
International Organizations page is a librarians' compilation of
links to web pages for international organizations. Of these, the World
Health Organization has some statistics from the World Health Report.
(The complete World Health Report is available in paper format in the Library,
see below) GODORT also has a page of links for Foreign
Governments, which may or may not have useful information for your
particular country.
You may also find some pertinent statistics at the United
Nations web site. Be aware that much of the UN statistical information
is available on paper in the Libraries. (see below for listing)
The U.S. State Dept. has a web site listing Country
Background Notes that give a broad description of various countries.
The Central Intelligence Agency gives a similar product with their World
Factbook, which is also available on paper (see below for listing).
The National Library
of Medicine has free databases to search health-related topics.
Click on "Search MedLine free". You will not see the full text of the article,
but will find citations to articles that you can get through Inter-Library
Loan if Claremont doesn't have the journal.
Statistical Resources in the Library (Paper Copies and CD-Rom)
Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Bureau of the
Census) HON GOV REF DESK C 3.134:997. (Additional copy shelved at HON REF
DESK HA202.C4 Un3 1997) Previous issues are shelved under HON GOV REF US
C 3.134:(yr), going back to the late 19th century. This is a good source
for basic level statistics, and is a good pointer to more detailed information.
Demographic Yearbook. (United Nations) HON GOV REF DESK HA17
.D396 1995. Previous issues are shelved in the HON GOV INTL collection
under the same call number.
Political Handbook of the World. HON REF DESK JF 37 P61 1997
(additional copy at HON GOV REF DESK JF 37 P61 1995-96.) Previous issues
are shelved in the HON stacks under the same call number.
Social Indicators of Development. (World Bank) HON GOV REF DESK
HC59.69 .S63 1996. Previous issues are shelved in the HON GOV INTL collection
under the same call number.
Statistical Yearbook. (United Nations) HON GOV REF DESK AZ361
.Un2 1997. Previous issues are shelved in the HON GOV INTL collection under
the same call number.
World Development Indicators on Cd-Rom. (World Bank) HON GOV
CD-ROM. You must come to the Honnold Government Publications Reference
Desk during regular reference hours
so a librarian may load and help you with this CD-Rom.
World Factbook. (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency) HON GOV REF
DESK PREX 3.15:995. (Additional copy at HON REF DESK G122 .U56a 1993-94)
Previous issues are shelved in the HON GOV US collection under HON GOV
US PREX 3.15:(yr).
World Health Report (World Health Organization) HON GOV REF DESK
RA8 .A265 1995. Previous issues are shelved in the HON stacks under the
same call number.
World Tables. (World Bank) HON GOV REF DESK HC59 .W669 1995.
(Additional copy at HON REF DESK HC59 .W669 1995) Previous issues are shelved
in the HON GOV INTL collection under the same call number.
Other useful information:
Hours
that the Reference Desk is staffed.
Brief
Guide to Citing Government Information A site which provides guides
to citing government information, both in traditional and electronic format.
Guide
to Citing Print and Electronic Resources A site which provides guides
to citing government information, both in traditional and electronic format.
For help in using the CD-Roms or other Government Publications, please
contact Ruth Schooley, (ruth.schooley@libraries.claremont.edu)
to make an appointment for loading, training, and extracting these files.
You may also call at (909) 607-7122.
The Library Bibliographer for Sociology is Cindy
Snyder, cindy.snyder@libraries.claremont.edu. You may also reach her at (909)
607-7106. Please contact her for help in researching sociology topics.
BRH 2/98
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais