Pomona
Politics 90: Quantitative Methods for Political Science
Professor Pierre Englebert
Honnold/Mudd extensively collects materials in the subject area of Political
Science and Government87. These materials can be found in the General Library
Collections and the Government Publications Collections. This course guide
is designed to help you focus on some of the most relevant information
resources in your subject area.
Help With Library Research
Online
Help - For additional help available from this page.
Help
With Library Research - For help specific to Library Research
Citing
Your Sources - For help with citation of sources, both paper
and electronic. There are two helpful sites for this. For non-governmental
information the Libraries' Guide to citation is excellent.
Brief
Guide to Citing Government Information - For help with citing government
information resources, the following site is extremely helpful.
Interlibrary Loan
If you need to borrow materials from other libraries, submit your ILL requests
at the H/M Information Desk, the H/M Reference Desk, or use the online
ILL form on the Libraries web site.
If you have questions about any of these resources or if you would like
to schedule an appointment to work on your particular research topic, please
contact Mary Martin in Honnold/Mudd Library, ext.18923 (621-8923) mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu.
FINDING STATISTICAL INFORMATION
Finding
Federal & State Government Statistical Information
Finding International Government
Information
Finding
General & Popular Articles Using Selected Database Indexes
Finding Statistical Information on
the WWW
Finding
Federal & State Government Statistical Information
General Links
Statistical Universe
is a guide to very current U.S. Government Statistics.
Statistical Universe connects to full-text information
such as that found in Statistical Abstract of the United States. This database
requires a password which you must obtain from the Government Publications
Reference Desk. It actually replaces the current (1998-) American Statistics
Index (ASI) - (1974 -1991) HON MICROFORM REF Z 7554 I53. Indexes
statistics in U.S. government publications issued by the federal government.
(This resource is available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool)
Statistical Reference File (SRI)- (1991-to date) HON MICROFORMS REF
Z 7554 U5 Indexes individual state, organizational and trade publications.
Available through Statistical Universe.
Statistical
Resources via University of Michigan Documents Center
This site is awesome, and believe it or not almost too complete - however
it has been created by a documents librarian (who has won all kinds of
awards for their web site) If you see something here that you think we
should link to, let us know! Resources are organized by categories, and
has links to web sites, governmental as well as non-governmental some databases
are available through IP address - so you will have to go through the Libraries
of The Claremont Colleges Home Page.
Specific Links to Agencies
& Statistical Collections
California
Demographics Office/Educational Demographics Unit The California
State Department of Education has compiled and published extensive detailed
educational demographics reports on their WWW site. The data is based on
the CBEDS data bank.
California
Statistical Abstract The California Statistical Abstract
is a compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of the
state. The volume is cooperative effort of various state agencies to provide
a source for a wide variety of data about the state. Published by the Department
of Finance, Financial and Economic Research Unit. Tables site contributors,
for additional data sources divided into subject categories comparable
with paper editions for time series downloadable and printable
Census Bureau Home
Page (U.S.) This page has a user-friendly subject index to
statistics gathered by The Census Bureau on population, housing, employment,
income, poverty, and all kinda of demograzphics. Provides some current
economic indicators. Links to WWW sites which allow custom extract of Census
data, as well as The Labor Statistics Bureau, that gathers statistics jointly
with the Census Bureau.
Education
Statistics (U.S. Dept.of Education Publications) Fll text
data files such as The Condition of Education and The
Digest of Education Statistics from the U.S. Department of Education
Energy Research Abstracts, (1977-to date) HON GOV US E
1.17 Now available throught the DOE
Information Bridge. The DOE Information Bridge, a component of
DOE’s EnergyFiles, provides free, convenient, and quick access to full-text
DOE research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials,
biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer
and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
National Election
Studies (Univ. of Michigan) Data on voting, public opinion,
and political participation data analysis and research for social scientists,
teachers, students, and policy makers
STAT-USA
This web site is maintained by the U.S. Commerce Department, is the site
for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative
information from the Federal government. There are several databases, including
he National Trade Databank, and the Export Yellow Pages. Currently available
by password from a Reference Librarian. Contains economic news and data
statistical information by subject password available in the Government
Publications Department.(This resource is available only to users on
the Claremont Colleges Network with a password.)
Finding
International Government Information
Research
Guide to Internatonal Government Information This guide has been
developed by the Government Publications and International Relations bibliographer
to meet the research need in the areas of International Government Information.
Last updated September 1998.
Links to Electronic Databases (CD-ROM & WWW)
Eurostat:
Statistical Office of the European Communities (World Wide
Web) Collects data from the National Statistical Institutes
of each of the 15 member states of the European Union.
Index to International Statistics -(ISI) (1983-to date )HON
MICROFORMS REF INDEXES Z 1223 Z9 I5 Indexes
statistics in International Intergovernmental Publications. Also valuable
for any International reference as it
indexes by country and subject. Available through
Statistical Universe.
(This resource is available only to users on the Claremont Colleges network.)
Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development Provides links to sources and actual
data sets for the following categories and others: Agriculture, Demography,
Development Co-operation, The Development Assistance Comittee Economic
Accounts for Agriculture, Economic statistics, Education statistics. etc.
Selected
World Development Indicators
The World Development Report 1997 offers the Selected World Development
Indicators, 18 statistical tables providing instant access to the most
comprehensive and current data available on social and economic development
in more than 200 economies. Covering three broad areas--the people, the
environment, and the economy--topics range from health and education to
purchasing power parity to land use and natural resources. The following
are features of this database: partial set of tables, complete set of tables
available on CD-ROM, combines data from two paper publications, World Development
Report and World Tables, comprehensive source of historical data sets CD-ROM
allows files to be downloaded into spreadsheet programs.
World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators
1998 Hon Electronic Database on CD-ROM (from
the World Bank) Presents downloadable data providing a comprehensive statistical
survey of indicators on world view, people, environment, economy, states
and markets, and global links. The database covers the years 1978
to 1996 in most cases.(This resource is available only to users within
the Libraries.)
Finding
General & Popular Articles Using Selected Database Indexes
Academic
Universe(Lexis/Nexis)
This is a full-text database consisting of millions of articles covering
the fields of business, law and legislation, and general news. There are
terminals available in the Reference, Government Publications, and Asian
Studies departments. You may also Telnet through the Library Services Menu.(This resource is available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.)
Pais Index to public policy and social issues, information in a wide range of
subjects. Contains selected citations to journal articles, books, government
documents and reports. Also indexes foreign language publications. Library
has paper and electronic sources, although limited coverage in electronic
format. Available on Ovid. (This resource is available outside the
Libraries only to students, faculty and staff of the Claremont Colleges.)
Wilson Social Sciences Abstracts General scholarly index. On Ovid back to 1984;
available also as Telnet connection through the Library Services Menu and
in paper back to 1974; preceded by The International Index to Periodicals
and The Social Science and Humanities Index, both located in the Honnold/Mudd
Index Room. (This resource is available outside the Libraries
only to students, faculty and staff of the Claremont Colleges.)
Finding Information Using the World
Wide Web - Meta-Sites
Government
Publications Department Home Page –- This page has been developed
specifically for the use of students, faculty and staff of the Claremont
Colleges. Provides links to departmental information, Government Agencies,
specific subject guides, alphabetical lists popular sites, and several
more specific pages.
International
Organizations -- This
page is created and maintained by The International Documents Task Foce
of The Government Documents Round Table of The American Library Association.
It provides an alphabetical listing of International Governmental Organizations
websites, many of which have online datanases and publications as well
as online lists.
Public Policy, Economics & Business -- This is a page within the Government Publications Department Home Page that provides links to some very valuable site hat have data sets and general information about data available.
Statistical
Resources via University of Michigan Documents Center -- This site is awesome, and believe it or not almost too complete - however
it has been created by a documents librarian (who has won all kinds of
awards for their web site) If you see something here that you think we
should link to, let us know! Organized by categories links to web sites,
governmental as well as non-governmental.(This resource is available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.)
9/16/98 MM
Government
Home
|
Libraries
Homepage
|
Contact
Us
|
Search
|
Help
|
Blais