CMC Government 149: The Foreign Relations of the United States
Professor Harold W. Rood
Honnold/Mudd extensively collects materials in the subject area of Foreign
Relations. These materials can be found in the General Library Collections
and the Government Publications Collections. This course guide is designed
to help you focus on some of the most relevant information resources in
your subject area.
If you have questions about any of these resources or if you would like
to schedule an appointment to work on your particular research topic, please
contact Mary Martin in Honnold/Mudd Library, ext.18923 (621-8923) mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu.
Finding
Information in Foreign Relations
Help With Library Research
Help With
Library Research - This links to a page that contains general
help specific to research using library resources, many of which are electronic.
Citing
Your Sources - For help with citation of sources, both paper
and electronic. There are two helpful sites for this. For non-governmental
information the Libraries' Guide to citation is excellent.
Brief Guide
to Citing Government Information - For help with citing government
information
Government
Information Research Guide (Federal Government Publications) This
is a guide for finding United States Government publications in Honnold/Mudd
Library.Not all U.S. government publications are available through the online catalog. This guide provides
for detailed assistance.
Government
Publications Department Home Page - This page has been developed
specifically for the use of students, faculty and staff of the Claremont
Colleges. Provides links to departmental information, Government Agencies,
specific subject guides, alphabetical lists popular sites, and several
more specific pages. resources, the following site is extremely helpful.
History
Research Guide. For a comprehensive guide to library and Internet
resources in both traditional (paper) and electronic format see this guide.
Back To Contents List
Selected Subject Headings in
Foreign Relations
- Decolonization -- History
- Diplomats -- United States -- History -- 18th century
- Europe -- History.--1789-1815
- European federation
- Great Britain -- Foreign relations -- United States
- Great Britain. Treaties, etc. United States, 1850 Apr. 19
- Jay's treaty, 1794
- United States -- Foreign relations -- 1783-1815
- United States -- History, Military
- United States -- History Revolution, -- 1775-1783
- United States -- Politics and government -- 1789-1797
- United States -- Territorial expansion
Back To Contents List
Finding Facts and Maps on Country
Information
- CIA
World Factbook This publication has up-to date (1998) country information
including demographic, political and economic data.
- Background
Notes These are a collection of publications from the U.S. Department
of State with varied demographic, political and governmental information
on most countries that is updated regularly.
- Alexandria
Digital Library This is a fantastic site which allows you to view
digitized CIA maps of countries as well as the world.
-
Handbook of International Economic Statistcs This source has up to date economic information that includes many
PDF files of charts and maps.
Back To Contents List
Finding Books
Blais - the online
catalog of the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges (DEN, HON, SGM, SPR),
is searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, and call number.
In addition to materials in the four libraries, Blais also includes
materials at the Claremont School of Theology (STC), Rancho Santa Ana Botanic
Gardens (RSA), and the Center for Research Libraries (in Chicago).
Many Government Publications but not all, particularly older United
States and International Government publications are cataloged in Blais.
Please ask for assistance from the Government Publications Specialist you
require historical information. Other databases and indexes must be used
to access publications not yet in Blais. See further information below
on computer databases.
Link+ - Union catalog and
book request service that allows Claremont Colleges students, faculty and
staff to borrow books unavailable at our Libraries. This new service is
expected to provide faster delivery of materials than traditional Interlibrary
Loan Services. Participating libraries include CSU Fullerton, CSU Hayward,
CSU Long Beach, Cal Poly Pomona, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, San Diego State,
San Francisco State, San Jose State, Occidental College, and the Claremont
Colleges.
Melvyl - the combined
library catalogs of the UC and Cal State universities. These materials
may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
webCATS
- Provides links to numerous online public-access library catalogs with
web interfaces.
WorldCat on
FirstSearch - Union catalog of over 36 million records of any type
of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written
as early as the 11th century. Firstsearch) -- has holdings of most
libraries in North America and the U.K.. These materials may be borrowed
through ILL.
Back To Contents List
Finding General and Popular
Articles in Journals and Newspapers Using Database Indexes
Use the following print and CDROM indexes to find articles and other
materials on specific topics. For questions, please do not hesitate to
call Mary Martin, Government Publications and International Relations,
at extension x18923.
Academic Universe(Lexis/Nexis)
This is a full-text database consisting of millions of articles covering
the fields of business, law and legislation, and general news. There are
terminals available in the Reference, Government Publications, and Asian
Studies departments. You may also Telnet through the Library Services Menu.
Pais
Index to public policy and social issues, information in a wide range of
subjects. Contains selected citations to journal articles, books, government
documents and reports. Also indexes foreign language publications. Library
has paper and electronic sources, although limited coverage in electronic
format. Available on Ovid.
Wilson Social Sciences
Abstracts General scholarly index. On Ovid back to 1984; preceded by The International Index to Periodicals and The
Social Science and Humanities Index, both located in the Honnold/Mudd Index
Room.
Wilson Reader's
Guide Abstracts General, multi-disciplinary
index. Contains records for general and popular articles in all subjects.
On OVID back to 1983; available also in paper back to the turn of the century, Honnold/Mudd
Index Room/Table 1. Preceded by 19th Century Readers Guide covering 1890-1899,
and Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, covering 1802-1906, also Honnold
Index Room/Table 1.
Back To Contents List
Finding Information on Government and Foreign Affairs on the WWW
American
Government Resource Guide. This is another guide to resources in
Government available electronically for current sources, and in paper for
historical government publications sources.
Archiving Early
America Here you will find original newspapers, maps and writings
from 18th Century America. An array of authentic documents that form an
historical record of a significant time in the American experience-- the
Colonial Period, the War of Independence, and the presidencies of George
Washington and Thomas Jefferson.
Congressional
Universe (CIS) Congressional Information Service Index (CIS)/Congressional
Compass (1970-current). Guide, index and abstracts to hearings, committee
prints, reports and documents issued by Congress. (Also available on CD-ROM
from 1989 - current) With Congressional Compass, researchers can track
legislative and public policy issues as well as the activities of committees
and members of Congress. Actually provides links to certain files in Lexis/Nexis/Academic
Universe. Congressional Compass/Congressional Information Service Index
(CIS) (1970-current). This resource is available only to users at the
Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
For historical congressional documentation back to 1789 see resource below.
Congressional
Masterfile 1Congressional Masterfile I Provides indexing for major Congressional documents
including U.S. Serials Set, 1789-1969; U.S. Senate Executive Documents
and Reports, 1817-1969; U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings; 1833-1969;
and U.S. Congressional Committee Prints, 1830-1969. [This resource is available
only to users in the search centers of the Libraries - This resource
is available only to users within the Libraries.]
Constitution
links Here you will find different sites that include the U.S.
Constitution, Amendments to the Constitution, the Bill of Rights and even
scanned copies of the original Constitution.
Counselquest
COUNSEL QUEST™ is a premier internet legal research web tool. Designed
to guide its guests to the vast amount of legal and governmental resources
available on the internet in a quick, concise and easy to use format. As
an added convenience, C.Q. has developed the Remote Briefcase™, a pop-up
index of this site to take with you on your internet quest (only available
with JavaScript enhanced web browsers).
The
Declaration An online exhibit presented by the Library of Congress
detailing the chronology of the Declaration of Independence, with some
graphics.
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service see
World News Connection
The
Federalist Project Vote Smart's compilation of links to historic
documents includes the Federalist Papers.
Radio Free Europe Site that provides audio, text, and live broadcasts
24 hours a day for many European Countries.
Also has full-text magazine articles and maintains
archival information.
U.S.
Constitution Page. Try the annotated version of the U.S. Constitution
and other Founding Documents (The Federalist Papers) etc. for an eczcellent
reference.
U.S.
Constitution (Hypertext Version) Here you will find the text of
the U.S. Constitution, Amendments, and the Bill of Rights, in a hypertext
format that permits a fuller understanding of the original meaning of the
Constitution. Links to other pertinent sites such as the Supreme Court
are also included.
University of Michigan Documents Center Links to Federal, State, International, and NGO (Non-Governmental)
Organizations web sites as well as links to pther specialized resources.
World News Connection, 1996-
World News Connection, 1996-
Provides access to the fulltext English language translations of
foreign news service articles, translations of foreign speeches and
other news items from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS).
This resource is available to users only in the Honnold/Mudd search center.
For coverage of 1975-1996 use
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
This resource is available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries.
Back To Contents List
For questions and comments, please contact Mary Martin, mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu
Government
Home | Libraries
Homepage | Contact
Us | Search
| Help
| Blais