Local Menu
Research guides by subject
Databases
Electronic Journals
Online Resources
Library catalogs
Quick facts & ready reference
 
   
   

Need help?

ask us

email | chat | phone

 
 
Home   >   eResearch Tools   >   Databases   >   Web of Science Database Guide

Web of Science Database Guide

  • Libraries’ Website – http://libraries.claremont.edu
  • Click on ‘Databases’ under ‘eResearch Tools’
  • Click on ‘W’ in the hotlinked alphabet list
  • Click on ‘Web of Science’
    • Choose the FULL SEARCH option!  Easy search will only retrieved 100 results!
    • Select “Science Citation Index” or “Social Science Citation Index” or both
    • You can use the buttons and drop down boxes below the Citation Databases box to limit your search by year or years, or the latest additions. 
    • Web of Science is not a full text database.  You will need to use Blais in order to locate your articles.  Search Blais for the title, location, and holdings information of your journal.

General Search

  • Topic Search
    • Subject searching by looking for specified terms in the title, abstract, or keywords. 
      • Check the “Title Only” box if you want your search results to contain your term in the title of the article
  • Author Search
    • Search for articles by an author or authors.  *NOTE* Web of Science requires you to use the last name and initials, or the first initial and the asterisk (*) symbol.  You will not receive results if you type the name out in full!
  • Source Title
    • Use this feature to search for articles published in a specific journal.
  • Address
    • Use this feature to search for articles published by the author’s institution, corporation, or country.  Use the “Abbreviations List”  if you have trouble getting search results. 

Combine Searches

  • Combining your searches will refine your search results.  This feature is located on the button navigation tool bar, and is the second to last button.
  • Clicking on the “Combine Searches” button will show you your search history, with the searches numbered.
  • Input into the text box the searches you want to combine, e.g. #1 and #2 and click “Search.&rdquo

The Abstract Page

  • The abstract page is the page you see when you click on an article title from your search results. 
  • Citation Information
    • At the top of the page you will see the citation information for your article.  Included is the author or authors, article title, year, volume, issue, and journal title.  This information will be crucial for your bibliography as well as for locating the article in the libraries or via inter-library loan. 
    • To find the article in the libraries, you must search for the journal title in Blais.  Note the libraries holdings for the journal and double check to make sure the library has the years you need.  If not, then you will need to inter-library loan your article.  Inter-library loan is accessible from the “Getting Materials” menu on the libraries’ home page.
  •  Key Words Plus or Author Keywords
    • Make note of these keywords.  You can use these terms when searching Web of Science, Blais, or any other database.  These terms are helpful in providing alternate vocabulary words to enhance your searches. 
  • Cited References
    • This is the bibliography of the article.  You can click on this link to see what article the author studied while writing.  Articles that are indexed in Web of Science will be linked.
  • Times Cited
    • If the article you are reviewing has been cited by other scientists, those other article citations are listed here.  Articles that are indexed in Web of Science will be linked. 
  • Related Records
    • Clicking this button will search Web of Science for related articles based on the cited reference lists.  Click on ‘Explanation” for further information.

Citation Searching in Web of Science

  • Why do Citation Searching?
    • Have partial citation information
    • Want to see how ‘popular’ an article is
    • Trace the development of an idea over time
      • Forwards and backwards searching
    • Quick and dirty research
      • Take a citation from an abstract you really like, and see who is citing them and what they’re citing.  It’s all relevant. 
  • Click “Cited Ref Search” link
    • Input as much data as you have!
      • Name, source, year
    • Cited Author
      • Search for articles by an author or authors.  *NOTE* Web of Science requires you to use the last name and initials, or the first initial and the asterisk (*) symbol.  You will not receive results if you type the name out in full!
    • Cited Work
      • This will search for citations from specific journals.  Use the “List” link if you are having difficulty with the abbreviations.
    • Cited Year
      • This will search for citations in specific years.
    • Results Page
      • Linked citations are indexed in Web of Science
      • Has author name, source, volume, issue, year – everything you need to know to find the article. 
        • What happens if you don’t know what the abbreviations are?
          • Use the “List” link from cited ref search page, or the “Source List” link on the general search page.
      • Links go to abstracts of indexed citations.
  • From “General Search”
    • From the abstract page
      • Cited references – the bibliography for the article-shows you where the ideas came from
      • Times cited – links to articles that cite the selected article – shows you where the idea is going

Questions?

Please contact Jezmynne Westcott at

jezmynne.westcott@libraries.claremont.edu
ext. 77437
[(909) 607-7437]
 
     
Return to the previous page

 

Contact Us Claremont University Consortium Home Home