 |
Anthropology
Major Databases
Anthropology Plus
- Provides access to citations for articles and essays in
anthropology and archaeology.
- 19th century to present.
- Updated quarterly.
- Excellent historical and contemporary coverage of English and
foreign language articles.
AnthroSource
- 100 years of anthropological material, developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
- Complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003
- Seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist
- Current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review.
- Citations in article PDF files are dynamically linked to other publications, both within and beyond AnthroSource.
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography (Human Relations Area Files)
- Provides access to full text ethnographic information on cultural,
ethnic, religious, and national groups. Focuses on mostly pre-industrial
cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups.
Covers 78 cultural groups.
- 1991-present, including updated back files.
- Updated annually.
- eHRAF documents (books, journal articles, dissertations) are indexed at the paragraph
level with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (included)
Other Databases
Social Sciences Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles and book reviews published in over
415 major international English-language scholarly journals in the
social sciences
- 1984-present; (1974-present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- A great database for beginning research on topics in
anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many
other disciplines in the social sciences.
Periodicals Contents Index
- Provides access to selected citations for articles from
a wide range of American and European periodicals.
- 1770-present
- PCI is a very good tool for finding 18th, 19th, and early 20th
century sources.
|
|