 |
Art
Major Databases
Art Full Text
- Provides access to citations from more than 250 of the leading arts journals.
- 1984 - present, full-text of selected journals begins in 1997.
- Available outside the Libraries only to students, faculty, and
staff of the Claremont Colleges.
- Topics covered include advertising art; antiques; archaeology;
architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art;
crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art; graphic arts; industrial
design; interior design; landscape architecture; motion pictures;
museology; painting; photography; pottery; sculpture; television;
textiles; and video.
Art Retrospective
- Provides access to citations for articles on advertising art; antiques; archaeology;
architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art;
crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art; graphic arts; industrial
design; interior design; landscape architecture; motion pictures;
museology; painting; photography; pottery; sculpture; television;
textiles; and video.
- 1929-1984
- Includes art journals, yearbooks and select museum bulletins
published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well
as English.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
ARTbibliographies Modern
- Provides access to citations for journals and other publications
covering all aspects of modern art, photography, and design, beginning
with Impressionism in the late 19th century to the present.
- 1974-Present.
- Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition
catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Particularly good for information on lesser-known and new artists.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
- Provides access to citations for articles in journals and other
international publications focused on post-classical Western art.
Database includes RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art).
- 1975-present.
Grove's Dictionary of Art Online
- Provides access to the fulltext of the 34-volume Grove's Dictionary of Art.
Contains thousands of entries on artists, patrons, dealers, scholars,
genres, media, movements, archeological sites, historic cities, and art
theory, and links to more than 15,000 images from museum collections
worldwide.
- Updated frequently.
- Available only to users at The Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont College's modem pool.
ARTstor
- Digital library of approximately 300,000 art images.
- Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
- Specific collections include: the art history “survey collection”, Asian art from 3000 B.C. to the present, architectural history of the Western world from earliest antiquity to the present, and from the middle east to the Americas, old master European prints from the 15th century to the early 19th century, mural paintings and related art and texts associated with the several hundred Buddhist cave shrines in Dunhuang, China, and the MoMA "Digital Design Collection".
Other Databases
Arts and Humanities Citation Index SEE
Arts and Humanities Search
Arts and Humanities Search
- Provides access to information on who has cited who in the major
art and humanities journals.
- 1980-Present
- Updated Weekly
- Available outside the Libraries only to students, faculty,
and staff of the Claremont Colleges.
- Great for finding out if a particular work has been cited by
other authors, or what sources a particular author has cited in
their work.
Humanities Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles from core journals in archaelogy, art, classics,
film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, literary and
political criticism, world history and world literature
- 1984-present; (1974/75-present in print)
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Includes citations to feature articles; bibliographies, book reviews,
interviews, and reviews of motion pictures, ballet and opera.
Periodicals Contents Index
- Provides access to selected citations for articles from
a wide range of American and European periodicals.
- 1770-present
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- PCI is a very good tool for finding 18th, 19th, and early 20th
century sources.
|
|