Local Menu
Research guides by subject
Databases
Electronic Journals
Online Resources
Library catalogs
Quick facts & ready reference
 
   
   

Need help?

ask us

email | chat | phone

 
 
Home   >   eResearch Tools   >   Databases   >   Biology

Biology and Life Sciences


Major Databases
BasicBIOSIS was cancelled because:
  • It was not truly effective at being either basic or comprehensive (based on user comments).
  • It was extremely expensive (> 4 times the cost of its replacement).
  • The complete version of Biosis is available back to 1969.
  • Use Biological & Agricultural Index Plus instead.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
  • Coverage: selected core literature in biology and agriculture.
  • Content: Records cover 360 journals, 200 of which are indexed back to 1983. The libraries subscribe to half these titles in Fulltext* (± 1997-current).
  • Level: Basic (ideal for introductory courses or information).
  • Indexing: Good. Use ‘Thesaurus’ to collect terms, add keyword search for more specifics, then combine in search history
  • Unique features: Core focus
  • Tip: use   get this item buttons instead of Limit to full text for access to 3 times more fulltext! (Only 1/3 of our fulltext is searched when you use this limit.)

Biological Sciences
  • Provides access to over 30 databases that can be searched simultaneously for scholarly citations and abstracts to articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, selected books and patents in the biological sciences.
  • 1982-present
  • Updated Monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
  • Great for finding scholarly citations to the literature in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary medicine.

BIOSIS
  • Provides access to scholarly citations for articles in publications in biology and related fields.
  • 1969-Present
  • Updated Weekly
  • Available to students at the Claremont Colleges by appointment only. Contact Jason Price (x18437)
  • Comprehensive worldwide coverage of research in the biological and biomedical sciences.

Birds of North America Online
  • Provides detailed life history information for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
  • The print version of BNA (18 volumes in 18,000 pages) was completed in 2002, a joint 10 year project of the American Ornithologists' Union, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, and the Academy of Natural Sciences.
  • Online contents will be updated frequently, with contributions from researchers, citizen scientists, and designated reviewers and editors.
  • Will build image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more.
  • Each online species account will contain recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.

PubMed
  • Provides access to over 11 million citations in medicine and biology
  • National Library of Medicine's search engine for Medline, PreMedline and related databases
  • 1966-Present
  • Updated daily
  • Publicly available to anyone using the internet
  • Great for finding scholarly articles in biomedicine and related fields of research
  • Contains links to many full-text articles in journals to which we subscribe electronically
Web of Science
  • Provides access to scholarly science and social science journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
  • Sciences citation index: 1955-present
  • Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
  • Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
  • Help using this database is available.

Other Databases
AGRICOLA
  • Provides access to citations for articles on every major agricultural subject, plus some life sciences and related applied biology topics.
  • 1970-Present
  • Updated Monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
  • Great for finding articles on applied life sciences topics. Academic biology is also covered here, some of which is not covered in Biosis.

Aquatic Sciences:
  • Provides access to scholarly citations for all publications in the aquatic sciences worldwide.
  • 1978-Present
  • Updated Monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
  • Great for finding citations to all the literature in the aquatic sciences.

Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts
  • Provides access to citations for articles and new patents on biotechnology and bioengineering.
  • 1982-present
  • Updated Monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
  • Great for finding the latest scholarly articles, reports, regulations and patents in all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Environmental Sciences
  • Provides a gateway to over 15 databases that can be searched simultaneously for scholarly citations and abstracts to articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, books and government publications in the environmental sciences.
  • 1981-present
  • Updated Monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
  • Great for finding scholarly citations to the literature in environmental studies.

General Science Abstracts   SEARCH OmniFile
  • Provides access to citations to articles and reviews published in General Science journals. Covers Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Botany, Computers, Earth Sciences, Environment, Health, Physics, Food, and Zoology. Abstracts included.
  • 1984 - present
  • Updated monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
  • Great for undergraduate research on General Science topics.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
  • Contains many helpful navigation tools; articles can be browsed by an alphabetically organized subject list, or by the database’s search feature. Also contains a handy acronym finder.
  • Articles are full text.
  • Subjects include, but are not limited to, Analytical Techniques, Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Chemical Reactions, Energy, Environmental Protection, Inorganic Chemicals, Materials, Organic Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Processes and Process Engineering, and Renewable Resources.

MEDLINE
  • Provides access to citations for articles on all areas of medicine.
  • 1965-Present
  • Updated Monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
  • Great for finding articles in medical literature (3500 journals). Includes some regular biology not necessarily covered in Biosis.
  • See also PubMed.

Plant Science
  • Provides access to citations for scholarly articles in plant pathology, symbiosis, genetics, etc.
  • 1994-Present
  • Updated Monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
  • Great for finding research articles in plant pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry and genetics.

PrimateLit
  • Provides access to bibliographic citations to the scientific literature in the field of primatology, relating to research, conservation, and veterinary care of nonhuman primates.
  • 1940-present.
  • Includes all types of publications and many subject areas including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography.
  • Over 200,000 citations.
  • Produced by the Wisconsin Primate Research Center.

   
Biology Research Guide
 
     
Return to the previous page

 

Contact Us Claremont University Consortium Home Home