 |
Biographies
Major Databases
American National Biography
- Provides portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
- Updated quarterly, with hundreds of new entries and revisions each year.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
African-American
Biographical Database
-
Provides full-text biographical information about more than 30,000 famous
and lesser-known African-Americans from all walks of life. Consists of
a collection of digitized directories, encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries,
yearbooks, newsfile clippings and other sources. Most biographical sketches
are from the Chadwyck-Healey Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950
project.
-
Covers 1790-1950
-
Updated bimonthly
-
Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
-
Useful for exploring the contributions that African-Americans have made
to history, music, religion, education and many other areas. Many entries
accompanied by illustrations or photographs. Good source of biographical
information about African-Americans not easily found in other sources.
Marquis Who's Who
- Biographies of 1.2 million leaders and achievers from around the world, past and present, and from every significant field of endeavor.
- Includes Who's Who in American History.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2001.
- Remarkable people in any walk of life who were connected with the British Isles excluding living people.
- Published after twelve years' work, involving over 10,000 people, writing and editing 60 million words to produce a website with over 100,000 pages.
Other Databases
Academic Universe SEE
Lexis-Nexis/Academic
Britannica Online
-
Provides access to Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes 72,000 articles;
10,000 illustrations, 75,000 definitions.
-
Continuously updated
-
Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
-
Includes complete encyclopedia as well as Merriam Webster's Collegiate
Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Grove's Dictionary of Art Online
- Provides access to the fulltext of the 34-volume Grove's Dictionary of Art.
Contains thousands of entries on artists, patrons, dealers, scholars,
genres, media, movements, archeological sites, historic cities, and art
theory, and links to more than 15,000 images from museum collections
worldwide.
- Updated frequently.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
International Index to the Performing Arts
- Provides access to citations for articles in more than
200 scholarly and popular performing arts
periodicals. Also includes biographical profiles,
conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies,
reviews, and events. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry
including dance, film, drama, television, theater,
stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance,
comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and more.
- Updated annually
- 1998-present
- Available to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
Lexis-Nexis/Academic (formerly Academic Universe)
-
Provides access to full text news stories, law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, and SEC filings.
-
Most publications are covered 1980-present.
-
Updated Constantly.
-
Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
-
The best place to find full text interviews, the "news stories" parts of the
database include transcripts of news broadcasts. The best place for all types of
legal research, full text law reviews, judges decisions, etc. Users can Shepardize
court cases electronically, and then read the full text of the related decisions.
Literature Resource Center
- Provides access to full-text biographies of authors and critical
analysis of literary works and to bibliographies. Corresponds to the
reference works Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism,
and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists
and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
- Covers every literary period and discipline.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great as a starting point in finding biographical information on an
author or criticism of a literary work.
| |