 |
Business & Industry
Company & Industry Information
ABI/Inform
- Provides access to citations, abstracts, and many fulltext articles
from over 1000 scholarly and trade journals covering business and
management. Information on over 60,000 companies.
- 1985-Present.
- Updated Monthly.
- In addition to full-text articles in text format, PDF files allow
reproduction of graphs and diagrams.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool
Hoovers
- Provides access to directory and financial information about over 12 million companies and 600 industries.
- Advanced search features like “Build Company List” and “Build Executive List.”
- Data available for dead companies in the “Business Boneyard.”
- Updated daily.
- Browse lists of companies organized by stock index, geography, industry, and more.
Disclosure SEE Lexis-Nexis/Academic
FIS Online SEE Mergent
Online
Mergent
Online
- Mergent (Moody's) Company Data and International Company Data
is a database containing information on over 25,000 companies worldwide.
- Provides historical data going back 10 years in some cases, data
is downloadable into Excel format.
- MERGENT Equity Portraits combines fundamental company information
with stock price, volume and other data to paint a detailed picture
of over 10,000 U.S. firms, and analysis of the firm's financial
health, in-depth industry analysis and text commentary on the firm
both in absolute terms, as well as relative to industry peers.
Million Dollar Database
- Directory access to public and private California companies,
with 250 or more employees at the location listed; $25 million
or more in sales; or tangible net worth greater than $500,000.
- Searchable by keyword, SIC code, and geographical location.
- Current year only.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for creating lists of establishments by SIC code and geography.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool
Research Insight (formerly Compustat)
- Provides access to extensive financial data on companies that
have been traded on any U.S. stock market in the last 20 years.
Data is taken from SEC reports, but then "corrected" to
control for the variety of accounting packages used. In this way
it is "standardized" to facilitate comparisons between
companies. Covers over 19,000 publicly traded companies. (Mostly
U.S., very limited coverage of Canadian companies.)
- Covers the last 20 years.
- Updated Annually.
- Available only to users in the Honnold/Mudd search center.
This database can be searched for a match on a single variable (for
instance to create a list of all the public companies listed as doing
business within an SIC) or with complex formulas (the researcher
can devise a complex investment strategy and screen the database
for companies have grown a certain percent and that have p/e's above
or below a certain percent of the market, etc.) Data can be saved
as a delimited file and imported into any program that will accept
such a file. Only source for standardized data so that companies
can be meaningfully compared.
Valueline Investment Survey Online
- This resource provides graphs and charts of financial information
on companies that sell stock.
- Current year only. Also Available in paper.
- Some files updated weekly, some daily.
- This database is available only in the search center of the Honnold/Mudd
library where the password can be obtained from the librarian at
the reference desk.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
- Comprehensive web-based data management system that draws from a wide variety of financial,
economic, and marketing data sources.
- Best known for its holdings of historical financial data from CRSP and COMPUSTAT.
- User name and password required. Claremont Colleges users may contact librarian
mary.martin@libraries.claremont.edu
concerning access
Databases for Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals or
Newspapers
ABI/Inform
- Provides access to citations, abstracts, and many fulltext articles
from over 1000 scholarly and trade journals covering business and
management. Information on over 60,000 companies.
- 1985-Present.
- Updated Monthly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- In addition to full-text articles in text format, PDF files allow
reproduction of graphs and diagrams.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
Academic Search Premier
- A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
- In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,176 journals in the collection.
- This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Business
and Management Practices
- Provides access to citations from scholarly journals and trade
publications covering management.
- 1995- Present.
- Updated Weekly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
Business Source Premier
- This is the industry's most used business research database, providing the full text for more than 8,800 serials. Provides full text back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998.
- Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
- Updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost
- Contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review etc. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922, including Academy of Management Journal.
Emerald
Databases
- Emerald Fulltext provides access to over 40,000 articles from
over 100 management journals.
- Covers all major management disciplines from marketing, human
resources management, library and information management and quality
to operations management.
- View a list of titles available through Emerald's A-Z
journal listing.
- Full text complete with archives back to 1994 and abstracts back
to 1989.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
JSTOR
- JSTOR is a collection of full text electronic journals. There
are 46 journals from the area of business and management.
- Historical only –collection does not have the current several
years issues of the journal. The search can be limited to the business
journals by selecting that category.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
OmniFile/
Full Text Mega (Social Sciences Abstracts)
- Indexes and abstracts over 250 English language core journals
in the social sciences. 1984-present, in electronic format.
- Also available in paper format, 1975-present. Good for scholarly
journal articles.
- Full text available, links to library holdings.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
Regional Business News
- Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Updated on a daily basis.
- Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Web of Science
- Provides access to scholarly science and social science journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
- Sciences citation index: 1955-present
- Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
- Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
- Help using this database is available.
Wall Street Journal Online SEE ABI/Inform
Industry and Economic Information
Almanac
of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios, 2000
- Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges
by SIC code.
- Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records.
- Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
STAT-USA
- Provides access to data from the U.S. Commerce Department on
U.S. business, economic and trade community. There are several
databases, including the National Trade Databank (NTDB),
fulltext access to the Survey of Current Business, and the Export
Yellow Pages. Also provides economic news and data.
- Most data 1996- present. Historical Statistics can be obtained
from other sources.
- Updated daily, weekly and monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for domestic and U.S.-International trade. Searchable by
keyword or title, very up-to-date statistics.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
LexisNexis Statistical
- Provides comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information.
Some full-text, some citations.
- 1973-present
- Updated frequently
- Available only to users at The Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great comprehensive resource for U.S. statistics.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
National Trade Data Bank (NTDB)
- Provides access to data, reports, and handbooks on US trade,
imports, and exports. Note: NTDB is a part of STAT-USA.
- 1991- Present.
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding information on trade statistics, foreign markets,
and international trade restrictions.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
Standard & Poors Net Advantage (Industry Surveys & Stock Reports)
- Provides online access to the very popular Industry Surveys and Stock Reports.
- Current reports only, hisotical are available in paper back to 1978 Hon HC106.6 .S74 (Latest paper in Hon Ref).
- Industry Surveys give a nice overview of large industries, and often provide statistics on the top companies in the industry, Stock Reports also give latest financial update on stock data, as well as historical data.
Survey of Current Business
- Provides access to fulltext articles and statistical data on
aspects of the American economy including GNP, GDP, deficits, economic
sectors.
- Aug. 1998 - present; (1921- present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Accessed through STAT-USA.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
|
|