Chemistry
Major Databases
Scifinder Scholar
-
Provides access to scholarly citations in chemistry and related fields.
-
Updated Biweekly
-
Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Also requires download of proprietary CAS software, instructions for which are at this
link. Check with your IT people before using with college owned equipment.
-
Covers all the chemical literature. This is the database for chemists worldwide.
Web of Science
- Provides access to scholarly science and social science journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
- Sciences citation index: 1955-present
- Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
- Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
- Help using this database is available.
Other Databases
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- Contains many helpful navigation tools; articles can be browsed by an
alphabetically organized subject list, or by the database’s search feature.
Also contains a handy acronym finder.
- Articles are full text.
- Subjects include, but are not limited to, Analytical Techniques,
Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Chemical Reactions, Energy, Environmental
Protection, Inorganic Chemicals, Materials, Organic Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Processes and Process Engineering, and Renewable Resources.
PubMed
- Provides access to over 11 million citations in medicine and biology.
- National Library of Medicine's search engine for Medline, PreMedline and related databases
- 1966-Present
- Great for finding scholarly articles in biomedicine and related fields of research
- Contains links to many full-text articles in journals to which we subscribe electronically
|