 |
Classics
Major Databases
Database of Classical Bibliography (DCB)
SEE L'Année philologique
Dyabola
- Provides access to citations of articles from publications covering
archaeology, paleolithic culture and so-called
"prehistory"; culture, art and architecture of the ancient world;
and the early middle ages.
- 1995- current (1950-present in print).
- Updated infrequently
- Available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries.
- Citations in German. The electronic version of the Archaologische
Bibliographie.
L'Année philologique
-
Provides access to citations from all known scholarly work published in
any language concerning the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and
linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology,
religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics,
papyrology and epigraphy, and concerning the time period from the second
millennium B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D.
-
1969 - present
-
Most comprehensive source for current classics research.
Patrologia Latina
- Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.
- Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
- Contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Other Databases
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
- Provides access to citations for articles in journals and other
international publications focused on post-classical Western art.
Database includes RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art).
- 1975-present.
Humanities Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles from core journals in archaelogy, art, classics,
film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, literary and
political criticism, world history and world literature
- 1984-present; (1974/75-present in print)
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Includes citations to feature articles; bibliographies, book reviews,
interviews, and reviews of motion pictures, ballet and opera.
Social Sciences Abstracts
- Provides access to citations for articles and book reviews published in over
415 major international English-language scholarly journals in the
social sciences
- 1984-present; (1974-present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- A great database for beginning research on topics in
anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many
other disciplines in the social sciences.
|
|