 |
Computer Science
Major Databases
ACM Digital Library
- Provides access to the fulltext of ACM Journals and magazines
- 1991-present for fulltext; 1985-present for citations
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding technical articles on all aspects of computing
and computer science. Provides a search engine so that all
ACM publications can be searched by author, keyword or subject.
IEEE Xplore
- Provides searching of IEEE transactions, journals, magazines
and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE
Standards.
- Full-text access to the core conference proceedings and IEEE
journals from 1998 to the present.
Google Scholar
- Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- Orders your search results by relevance. As with Google web search, the most useful references appear at the top of the page.
CiteSeer.IST
- A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
- Aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of the scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
- Developed at the NEC Research Institute.
Computer Database
- Provides access to computer-related product introductions, news, and
reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering,
communications and the application of technology.
- 1996 - current
- Updated monthly
- Available outside the Libraries only to students, faculty, and
staff of the Claremont Colleges.
- Great for maintaining current awareness in computer technology
and researching product reviews.
Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
- Continually updated and fully searchable, FAITS contains more than 1250 reports that are clearly written, consistent in format, timely and relevant.
- FAITS reports examine the critical issues, trends, market conditions, products, services, and vendors driving the IT and communications industries.
- FAITS reports provide expert coverage in these14 key areas: IT asset management, wireless communications, application development, electronic commerce, enterprise data networking, business intelligence, converging communications, e-government, mobile business, broadband, information security, telecom & global network services, internet strategies, and web site management.
- Comprehensive database of expert reports including technology tutorials, marketplace overviews, implementation, comparison, and selection guides, product face-off previews, and corporation timelines.
- Company, product, and service profiles.
- Directories and glossaries.
Inspec
- Provides access to citations with abstracts to articles and
reviews in Physics, Electrical and
Electronics Engineering, Computing and Control, and Information
Technology.
- 1969- present
- Updated weekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for research in the applied sciences.
- THE database for physics, electronics and computing.
|
|