 |
Criminal Justice
Major Databases
Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile)
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles from
the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social
and behavioral sciences.
- 1974 - present
- Updated quarterly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Outstanding database for sociological topics.
Social Sciences Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles and book reviews published in over
415 major international English-language scholarly journals in the
social sciences
- 1984-present; (1974-present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- A great database for beginning research on topics in
anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many
other disciplines in the social sciences.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
- Contains summaries of over 174,000 U.S. and International
publications, including federal, state, and local government reports
relating to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control.
- Links to full-text when available.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
- Search the NCJRS Abstracts Database for summaries of more than 160,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
- Search full-text Federal sources for crime and justice
information, research, statistics, and funding opportunities.
Searches more than 1,500 full-text publications on this site
plus publications and other web pages from NCJRS
partner agency web sites.
Other Databases
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
- Provides access to selected citations for journal
articles, books, government documents and reports and
foreign language publications. Topics covered include economic, political,
business, finance, law, international trade and relations, public
administration, government, political science, public policy
and social issues.
- 1972-present; (1915 - 1990 in print)
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
America: History and Life
- Provides access to citations and abstracts to scholarly articles,
books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the
culture and history of United States and Canada.
- 1964-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- The main index for American history and culture; use
Historical Abstracts for world history.
Readers Guide Abstracts
- Provides access to citations for popular articles from over 250
major magazines and periodicals
- To search recent issues of Readers' Guide (1983-present), click in the box in front of OmniFile and highlight Readers' Guide in the Subject Area menu.
- To search older issues of Readers' Guide (1890-1982), click in the box in front of Readers' Guide Retro.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for finding opinion pieces and popular articles on a
variety of topics including current events, business, fashion,
politics, education, and sports.
|
|