 |
Economics
Major Databases
EconLit
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for scholarly
resources in economics and related subjects from more than 550
international economic journals.
- 1969-present
- Updated annually
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Covers accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor,
marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, planning, and more.
Social Sciences Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles and book reviews published in over
415 major international English-language scholarly journals in the
social sciences
- 1984-present; (1974-present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- A great database for beginning research on topics in
anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many
other disciplines in the social sciences.
ABI/Inform
- Provides access to citations, abstracts, and some fulltext
scholarly and trade journals covering business and management.
- 1985-Present.
- Updated Monthly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Best source for articles on business and management.
Other Databases
Political Risk Yearbook Online
- Covers 100 countries. Includes history, geography, social conditions and
international relationships, political and economic risks to business and
key economic forecasts.
- Data has a 10-year history, 18-month and 5-year Forecasts.
- Each county report is updated annually.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Special features include visual presentations of the country's economic
performance over time and in relation to other countries in the region.
Reports are in PDF format.
Web of Science
- Provides access to scholarly science and social science journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
- Sciences citation index: 1955-present
- Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
- Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
- Help using this database is available.
STAT-USA
- Provides access to data from the U.S. Commerce Department on
U.S. business, economic and trade community. There are several databases,
including the National Trade
Databank (NTDB), fulltext access to the Survey of Current Business,
and the Export Yellow Pages. Also provides economic news and data.
- Most data 1996- present. Historical Statistics can be obtained from other sources.
- Updated daily, weekly and monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for domestic and U.S.-International trade. Searchable by keyword or
title, very up-to-date statistics.
Statistical Universe
- Provides comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information.
Some full-text, some citations.
- 1973-present
- Updated frequently
- Available only to users at The Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great comprehensive resource for U.S. statistics.
Survey of Current Business
- Provides access to fulltext articles and statistical data on aspects of the
American economy including GNP, GDP, deficits, economic sectors.
- Aug. 1998 - present; (1921- present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Accessed through STAT-USA.
World Development Indicators
- Provides access to economic data elements for more than 200 countries
world-wide from World Bank and other organizations. Includes the 526 data
series which has income group data.
- Data back to 1960 where available
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Data may be searched, cross-tabulated and downloaded into Excel.
- Previous versions,
2001
and
2000,
still available in the search centers of the Libraries only. Note: some 2000 version indicators are not available in the
2001 version.
|
|