Education & Libraries
Major Databases
ERIC (Education Resources Information Clearinghouse)
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for
over 780 journals and documents in the field of education. Includes
program descriptions, research and development reports, and
unpublished documents. Covers education and related fields such as
counseling, psychology, and the social sciences.
- 1966-present
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- National education database sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of
Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement.
Education Full Text SEARCH OmniFile
- To search ONLY Education Full Text in OmniFile:
- Select OmniFile.
- Use the "Subject Area" drop-down menu to select Education.
- Education Full Text, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from
English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or
later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source
documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996. Subjects include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, government funding, and more.
- 1983-present
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
GradSearch
- Provides access to detailed profiles of professional programs
at 1,500 universities in North America.
- Current year only
- Updated Annually
- Available in the Honnold/Mudd search center
- Includes application requirements, tuition & financial aid
information, student and faculty profiles, research affiliations
and specialties.
Other Databases
PsycINFO
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles
in psychology and the behavioral sciences.
- 1887- present.
- Updated quarterly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Comprehensive worldwide index to psychology articles and
selected books. Excellent search features.
PsycLit SEE
PsycINFO
Social Sciences Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles and book reviews published in over
415 major international English-language scholarly journals in the
social sciences
- 1984-present; (1974-present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- A great database for beginning research on topics in
anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many
other disciplines in the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile)
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles from
the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social
and behavioral sciences.
- 1974 - present
- Updated quarterly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Outstanding database for sociological topics.
ABI/Inform
- Provides access to citations, abstracts, and some fulltext
scholarly and trade journals covering business and management.
- 1985-Present.
- Updated Monthly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Best source for articles on business and management.
LibraryLit
- Provides access to citations for articles in 200 library and information science periodicals published internationally.
- 1984-present
- Updated monthly
- Also includes citations for more than 600 monographs on libraries and librarianship.
|