 |
Encyclopedias
AccessScience
- Online version of the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
- Coverage: 9th edition (2000- present)
- More than 7100 articles in 81 major areas of science and technology
- 115,000+ definitions from McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Sci. & Tech. Terms
- Breakthroughs and Discoveries (weekly updates)
- Hundreds of research updates (daily)
- 2000+ biographies of scientists
- Links to relevant web sites
Britannica Online
- From Encyclopedia Britannica, searchable and browseable
collection of Britannica's articles database. Includes articles,
which are not yet in print editions.
- 72,000 articles; 10,000 illustrations, 75,000 definitions
- Continuous updating
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
- Includes complete encyclopedia as well as Merriam Webster's
Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year
Encyclopedia Americana Online
- Provides access to current and accurate articles which are more recent than the
print edition of the encyclopedia.
- 45,000 articles; 25 million words; 6500 specialists and 6100
bibliographies included
- Ipdated quarterly
- Also has 830 maps, 1,000 + Tables; images included in black and
white line art; Internet links from 30,000 articles; article to
article links
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
- American Journal included as a searchable database of newsworthy weekly current events.
Wall Street Journal Almanac includes articles, tables and
graphs organized into 10 chapters by subject, updated annually
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
- Provides access to 2,500 full text articles on Astronomy and
Astrophysics.
- Contains many up-to-date current events and news articles related
to discoveries and research in the fields of Astronomy and
Astrophysics.
- Has a Workgroup feature which allows students to create a workspace
and share materials with one another.
- Contains extensive linking to other, related electronic resources.
- Users can personalize this resource through the 'My EAA' feature.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology SEE
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
FactSearch
- Provides facts and statistics on current social, economic,
environmental, and political issues from about 300 newspapers,
periodicals, and The Congressional Record and Congressional hearings.
- 1984-Present
- Update quarterly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Web links to free full text are included frequently.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Contains the full text of over 100 social science, humanities and science reference resources.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Online access to articles from the 26 volume print encyclopedia.
Covers fields in the social and behavioral sciences including anthropology,
economics, political science, psychology and sociology, as well as the
related disciplines of archaeology, demography, education, geography,
history, law, linquistics and philosophy.
- Over 4,500 signed articles, 90,000 references, 150 biographical entries.
- Unique and valuable resource for students and researchers.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- Contains many helpful navigation tools; articles can be browsed by an
alphabetically organized subject list, or by the database’s search feature.
Also contains a handy acronym finder.
- Articles are full text.
- Subjects include, but are not limited to, Analytical Techniques,
Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Chemical Reactions, Energy, Environmental
Protection, Inorganic Chemicals, Materials, Organic Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Processes and Process Engineering, and Renewable Resources.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- The first "dynamic" reference work, published as a project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (Stanford University).
- Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
| |