 |
Engineering
Major Databases
Engineering Village 2
- Provides access to citations from engineering/technology journals and
conference proceedings worldwide.
- 1980 - present
- Great for scholarly research in Engineering.
IEEE Xplore
- Provides searching of IEEE transactions, journals, magazines
and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE
Standards.
- Full-text access to the core conference proceedings and IEEE
journals from 1998 to the present.
BioEngineering Abstracts
- Provides access to citations for articles on all aspects of
engineering including electrical, mechanical, materials and
bioengineering. Note: Engineering Specialties is a part of Cambridge
Scientific Abstracts.
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
- Great for scholarly research in Engineering
Other Databases
Inspec
- Provides access to citations with abstracts to articles and
reviews in Physics, Electrical and
Electronics Engineering, Computing and Control, and Information
Technology.
- 1969- present
- Updated weekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for research in the applied sciences.
- THE database for physics, electronics and computing.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
- Provides access to citations for almost all U.S.
government-sponsored research in all fields, as well as to
information from many international organizations.
- 1964-Present
- Updated Biweekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding unpublished but unclassified research reports
in scientific, technical, engineering, and other fields.
Web of Science
- Provides access to scholarly science and social science journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
- Sciences citation index: 1955-present
- Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
- Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
- Help using this database is available.
|
|