 |
Ethnic & Cultural Studies
Major Databases
African-American Biographical
Database
- Provides full-text biographical information about more than
30,000 famous and lesser-known African-Americans from all walks of
life. Consists of a collection of digitized directories,
encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, yearbooks, newsfile
clippings and other sources. Most biographical sketches are from the
Chadwyck-Healey Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950 project.
- Covers 1790-1950
- Updated bimonthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Useful for exploring the contributions that African-Americans
have made to history, music, religion, education and many other
areas. Many entries accompanied by illustrations or photographs.
Good source of biographical information about African-Americans not
easily found in other sources.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
-
Provides the full-text of articles from the following major African American newspapers
published in the United States in the 19th century: Freedom's Journal,
The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era,
Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
-
Years covered: 1827-1902
-
Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Provides access to citations for western-language monographs, articles,
book chapters, and conference proceedings on all parts of Asia.
- 1971-Present
- Updated Continuously
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Allows the user to search the database by using keywords, or browse
articles by country, topic, or journal title.
Black Studies on Disc
- Provides access to citations for scholarly and popular articles,
reviews, books, dissertations, and other materials in the humanities,
social sciences, and the arts produced by and about people of African
descent worldwide. Database is a combination of over 150,000 records
from The Catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black
Culture, and the Index to Black Periodicals. Includes materials
dating back to the 8th century A.D., although emphasis is on 19th and
20th century materials.
- 1988-present; (1950-present in print)
- Available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries use the Start menu to access it.
- Excellent resource for locating both popular and scholarly
materials on historical and contemporary issues concerning people of
African descent worldwide.
Chicano Database
- Provides access to citations for scholarly journal articles, books,
articles in popular magazines and newspapers, and other publications about
Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
- 1967-present.
- Updated quarterly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Combines The Chicano Index, Arte Chicano, Chicana Studies Index,
The Chicano Anthology Index and the Hispanic Mental Health Research:
A Reference Guide all in one resource.
- Major database for identifying research literature in the social sciences
and humanities about Chicanos/Latinos.
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography (Human Relations Area Files)
- Provides access to full text ethnographic information on cultural,
ethnic, religious, and national groups. Focuses on mostly pre-industrial
cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups.
Covers 78 cultural groups.
- 1991-present, including updated back files.
- Updated annually.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- eHRAF documents (books, journal articles, dissertations) are indexed at the paragraph
level with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (included)
Ethnic Newswatch
- Provides access to fulltext articles from newspapers, magazines,
and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Contains mostly
popular publications, although some scholarly material is also included.
- 1960-present
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Excellent for research on both current and historical topics
concerning ethnic minorities in the U.S. Provides access to topics
and publications which are often not covered by the mainstream press.
Has some international focus. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
- Provides access to scholarly citations for books, book chapters,
journal articles and other materials published worldwide in the
social sciences and humanities focusing on Latin America. Includes
citations from more than 1,350 social science and 550 humanities
journals and conference proceedings
- 1990-present; (1935-present in print)
- Updated annually
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Premier database for identifying research literature on
historical and emerging issues pertinent to the study of Latin
America. Covers social sciences and humanities topics in alternate
years.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- Major resource for identifying scholarly research on Latin
America, the U.S.-Mexican border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
- Provides access to citations for articles, reviews, bibliographies,
original literary works and other documents in major disciplines of the
social sciences and humanities.
- Covers more than 400 scholarly journals published worldwide.
- 1970-present
- Updated weekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
Harvard Korean Studies Bibliography
- Provides references to some 50,000 articles, 17,000 books, 4,000 chapters in books, 7,000 dissertations, and 4,000 reviews written in English and other European languages which use the roman alphabet.
- Covers works in all subject areas published from the 16th century to 1997.
- Available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries.
HRAF (Human Relations Area File)
SEE
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography (Human Relations Area Files)
Latino Literature
- Offers more than 200 novels, many short stories, approximately 30,000 pages of poetry and more than 250 plays inspired by the intersection of cultures between the United States and six different countries and regions that constitute the Latino world.
- The majority of the works are in English with selected works of particular importance presented in Spanish. The collection begins with the works of Chicano writers in the Southwest in the early 19th century and continues to the present.
- The inaugural collection features 48 plays – 26 of which have never been published before (!) – and more than 13,000 pages of poetry and fiction from authors of Puerto Rican, Dominican, Chicano, Central American, South American, and Cuban descent.
Other Databases
Ethnic Studies is an interdisciplinary area drawing primarily upon subjects in both the humanities and social sciences.
Databases other than those listed above may also be appropriate for your research needs. To locate additional
databases, return to the databases page to see descriptions of other resources which are also useful for
researching topics pertinent to ethnic studies.
|
|