Statistics Sources
Finding Statistical Resources
- Maintained by the Libraries Government
Publications Librarian. An excellent starting point for locating statistical
information produced by various governmental and non-governmental organizations.
CGU Academic
Computing Data Services
- Descibes and links to various datasets held by CGU. Some are available
only to CGU students, faculty, and staff but others, like
ICPSR, are made
available to other Claremont College users.
Fedstats
- Provides a gateway to finding statistics produced by
more than 70 federal government agencies and bureaus.
Statistical Universe
- Provides comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information.
- Some full-text, some citations
- Gives option to search back to pre-1973
- Updated frequently
- Available only to users at The Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great comprehensive resource for U.S. statistics.
UNSTATS (United Nations Common Statistics)
- Internet Explorer must be used to access this database.
- Provides selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.
- Updated variously. Also provides economic news and data.
- Single data series available for up to 10 countries and up to 20 years. Select multiple series, countries and years (some back to 1966) for retrieval in Excel 97, ASCII (CSV) formats, or printer friendly format.
FactSearch
- Provides facts and statistics on current social, economic,
environmental, and political issues from about 300 newspapers,
periodicals, and The Congressional Record and Congressional hearings.
- 1984-Present
- Update quarterly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Web links to free full text are included frequently.
|