 |
History
Major Databases
America: History and Life
- Provides access to citations and abstracts to scholarly articles,
books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the
culture and history of United States and Canada.
- 1964-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- The main index for American history and culture; use
Historical Abstracts for world history.
Historical Abstracts
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for scholarly
articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published worldwide
on world history, covering 1450 AD to present.
- 1966-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- For history of United States or Canada use America: History
and Life".
L'Année philologique
-
Provides access to citations from all known scholarly work published in
any language concerning the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and
linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology,
religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics,
papyrology and epigraphy, and concerning the time period from the second
millennium B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D.
-
1969 - present
-
Most comprehensive source for current classics research.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
- Provides access to documents related to women’s history, 1543-1945. Includes some two million page images from primary documents on topics such as women's rights, suffrage, birth control, the nature and role of women, the historical and legal status of women, prostitution, the education of girls and women, biography and autobiography, and secondary materials on women writers, marriage and the family, employment of women, women and religion, and women's voluntary associations.
- 1543-1945
- Extensive collection of primary and secondary source materials for women’s studies, history, political science, international studies, and American studies.
Patrologia Latina
- Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.
- Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
- Contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Women and Social Movements in the United States
- Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities.
- Examines perspectives on women’s social movements from Colonial times to the present. Excellent resource for primary sources.
- The database presents 20,000 pages of books, pamphlets and related materials to provide scholars with in-depth access to the published histories and records of women’s reform organizations throughout the United States.
Database of Classical Bibliography (DCB) SEE
L'Année philologique
Dyabola
- Click the "IP-Access" checkbox, then choose "Realkatalog DAI Rom."
- Provides access to citations of articles from publications covering archaeology, paleolithic culture and so-called "prehistory"; culture, art and architecture of the ancient world; and the early middle ages.
- 1995- current (1950-present in print).
- Citations in German. The electronic version of the Archaologische Bibliographie.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- Major interdisciplinary source for scholarly materials about the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
- Lists books and journals published since 1859 to present.
- Select one of two separate databases: books or journals.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
History of Parliament
- Provides access to the fulltext with illustrations of the
History of Parliament, a source that covers the workings of the
British parliaments between 1386 and 1820.
- 1386-1820
- Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
- Provides full biographies of Members of Parliments and long
introductory historical surveys of the workings of Parliment by period.
History of Science and Technology
- Provides access to citations for scholarly books, journal
articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations
in the history of science and technology.
- 1975-present
- Updated frequently
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- "History of Science and Technology" is a combined database
containing records from three sources: ISIS: Current Bibliography of
the History of Science; Current Bibliography in the History of
Science (Technology and Culture); and Bibliographia Italiana
di Storia della Scienza.
HeinOnline
- Provides comprehensive, historical access to such materials as law journals (back to the 19th century), international and US treaties (back to 1776), out-of-copyright legal classics, the federal register (back to 1936), and Supreme Court slip opinions from 2002.
- All material is fully searchable and in PDF format, including all charts, graphs, pictures, photographs, and footnotes.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans
- Provides access to Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800).
- Evans is the definitive source for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker
- Provides access to Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819).
- A definitive source for for primary documents in early 19th-Centry American history and life, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
- May be cross-searched via the Early Americana interface (also include "Early American Newspapers").
Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876)
- Complete runs of approximately 171 newspapers from 24 states. Upon completion the series will have 1000-1200 newspapers.
- With Early American Imprints, a definitive source for primary documents in 17th- 18th, and early 19th-Centry American history and life, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
- May be cross-searched via the Early Americana interface (also include "Early American Imprints").
American Periodical Series (APS) Online
- Provides full text access to more than 150 years of American magazine journalism.
- When complete (at the end of 2003) APS will include full text from 1741-1900. Coverage for some titles
will extend into the mid-20th century.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- An outstanding resource for anyone studying the development of American history and culture from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th
century. Provides primary resources for history, literature, politics, religion, and many other subjects.
Historical Los Angeles Times
- Provides full text access (pdf) from the beginning of the newspaper in 1881.
Upon completion (with a projected date of 2006), the database will include the complete contents
of the LA Times through 1984.
- Searchable by keywords.
- Includes photographs, ads, classifieds, comics and cartoons.
- To search the contents of the
Los Angeles Times from 1985 to present,
please use NewsBank America’s Newspaper
Early English Books Online
- Provides access to the more than 96,000 early printed works in English listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue 1475-1640, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue 1641-1700, and the Thomason Tracts 1640-1661. Full-text images of every page of each work can be viewed online or downloaded.
- 1475-1700
- Updated continuously as items from the period are scanned.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont Colleges modem pool
- This is an incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in English literature, history, linguistics, the fine arts, and the history of printing.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- Provides access to nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701-1800. Full-text images of 33 million text-searchable pages can be viewed online or downloaded.
- 1701-1800
- An incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in English literature, history, linguistics, the fine arts, and the history of printing. When complete, will include every significant 18th-century English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
English Short Title Catalog
- Describes works printed in England or its dependencies in any language as well as works printed in English anywhere in the world from 1473 to 1800.
- Updated daily.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for identifying very early published works. Many records correspond to the full-text microform sets "English Books, 1473-1800" and "The Thomason Tracts."
HarpWeek: 1857-1872, Civil War Years and Early
Reconstruction
- Provides access to the fulltext of Harper's Weekly, one of the
most important general news and culture magazines of mid to late
19th Century America.
- 1857-1872 (Civil War years and early reconstruction)
- Irregular updates
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Project will eventually include all of Harper's Weekly through
the beginning of the twentieth century.
Palmer's Index to the London Times
- Provides access to citations for articles from The Times
Newspaper of London.
- 1790-1905
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Honnold/Mudd Library has The Times of London in microform
from 1785-present.
Other Databases
ABC Pol Sci SEE
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
-
Provides the full-text of articles from the following major African American newspapers
published in the United States in the 19th century: Freedom's Journal,
The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era,
Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
-
Years covered: 1827-1902
-
Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
Art Retrospective
- Provides access to citations for articles on advertising art; antiques; archaeology;
architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art;
crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art; graphic arts; industrial
design; interior design; landscape architecture; motion pictures;
museology; painting; photography; pottery; sculpture; television;
textiles; and video.
- 1929-1984
- Includes art journals, yearbooks and select museum bulletins
published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well
as English.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
Art Full Text
- Provides access to citations from more than 250 of the leading arts journals.
- 1984 - present, full-text of selected journals begins in 1997.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Topics covered include advertising art; antiques; archaeology;
architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art;
crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art; graphic arts; industrial
design; interior design; landscape architecture; motion pictures;
museology; painting; photography; pottery; sculpture; television;
textiles; and video.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
- Provides access to citations for critical scholarship on all modern literatures and
languages, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal
articles, series, monographs dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings.
- 1963-present.
- Updated annually.
- The single most important source for identifying critical
analysis of literature written since 1500 A.D.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
- Provides access to selected citations for journal
articles, books, government documents and reports and
foreign language publications. Topics covered include economic, political,
business, finance, law, international trade and relations, public
administration, government, political science, public policy
and social issues.
- 1972-present; (1915 - 1990 in print)
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
Past Masters
- Full Text philosophy and theology classics online in scholarly editions (many of them complete). Includes works of Plato, Aristotle, Aquinas, Augustine (Latin), Descartes, Spinoza, and Leibniz, Hobbes, Bacon, Locke, Luther, Santayana, Mill, Nietzsche (German), Pierce, Rousseau, Sidgwick, Anselm (Latin), Kierkegaard (Danish), Dewey, and others. Powerful searching and text analysis capabilities.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- This is an incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in philosophy, theology, political theory, and intellectual history.
Periodicals Contents Index
- Provides access to selected citations for articles from
a wide range of American and European periodicals.
- 1770-present
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- PCI is a very good tool for finding 18th, 19th, and early 20th
century sources.
Philosophers Index
- Provides access to citations for scholarly books and journal articles
in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
- Updated quarterly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- Provides access to citations for articles in more than 300 political science
and government journals.
- 1984-present
- Updated 3 times a year.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for finding articles on politics and government.
ATLA Religion
- Provides access to scholarly citations for books and articles on
religion and religious studies.
- 1949-Present
- Updated Semi-Annually
- Available outside the Libraries only to students, faculty,
and staff of the Claremont Colleges.
- Great for finding scholarly articles on all aspects of religion
and religious studies.
Women's Studies International
- Provides access to scholarly citations for books and articles
on gender and women's studies.
- 1972-Present
- Updated Semi-annually
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding scholarly articles on gender and women's
studies topics.
Humanities Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles from core journals in archaelogy, art, classics,
film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, literary and
political criticism, world history and world literature
- 1984-present; (1974/75-present in print)
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Includes citations to feature articles; bibliographies, book reviews,
interviews, and reviews of motion pictures, ballet and opera.
Readers Guide Abstracts SEARCH
OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for popular articles from over 250
major magazines and periodicals
- To search recent issues of Readers' Guide (1983-present), click in the box in front of OmniFile and highlight Readers' Guide in the Subject Area menu.
- To search older issues of Readers' Guide (1890-1982), click in the box in front of Readers' Guide Retro.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for finding opinion pieces and popular articles on a
variety of topics including current events, business, fashion,
politics, education, and sports.
|
|