 |
Information Science
Major Databases
Computer Database
- Provides computer-related product introductions, news, and
reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering,
communications and the application of technology.
- 1996 - current
- Updated monthly
- Available outside the Libraries only to students, faculty, and
staff of the Claremont Colleges
- Great for maintaining current awareness in computer technology
and researching product reviews.
Computer Science Index
-
Provides access to citations in computer-related journals,
books, newsletters and references services.
-
Periodicals covered include trade publications, general
business and management publications that include computer-related
content, publications of computer- and management-oriented professional
societies and organizations.
-
1996-present
-
Updated quarterly
-
Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
ACM Digital Library
- Provides access to the fulltext of ACM Journals and magazines
- Nearly 9,000 fulltext articles plus almost 20,000 citations
from journals, magazines and conference proceedings
- 1991-present for fulltext; 1985-present for citations
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
- Great for finding technical articles on all aspects of computing
and computer science. Provides a search engine so that all
ACM publications can be searched by author, keyword or subject.
Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
- Continually updated and fully searchable, FAITS contains more than 1250 reports that are clearly written, consistent in format, timely and relevant.
- FAITS reports examine the critical issues, trends, market conditions, products, services, and vendors driving the IT and communications industries.
- FAITS reports provide expert coverage in these14 key areas: IT asset management, wireless communications, application development, electronic commerce, enterprise data networking, business intelligence, converging communications, e-government, mobile business, broadband, information security, telecom & global network services, internet strategies, and web site management.
- Comprehensive database of expert reports including technology tutorials, marketplace overviews, implementation, comparison, and selection guides, product face-off previews, and corporation timelines.
- Company, product, and service profiles.
- Directories and glossaries.
Web of Science
- Provides access to scholarly science and social science journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
- Sciences citation index: 1955-present
- Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
- Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
- Help using this database is available.
ABI/Inform
- Provides access to citations, abstracts, and some fulltext
scholarly and trade journals covering business and management.
- 1985-Present.
- Updated Monthly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Best source for articles on business and management.
Other Databases
Social Sciences Abstracts
- Provides access to citations for articles and book reviews published in over
415 major international English-language scholarly journals in the
social sciences
- 1984-present; (1974-present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- A great database for beginning research on topics in
anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many
other disciplines in the social sciences.
Emerald Databases
- Emerald Fulltext provides access to over 40,000 articles from over 100 management journals.
- Covers all major management disciplines from marketing, human resources management, library and information management and quality to operations management.
- View a list of titles available through Emerald's
A-Z journal listing.
- Full text complete with archives back to 1994 and abstracts back to 1989.
Inspec
- Provides access to citations with abstracts to articles and
reviews in Physics, Electrical and
Electronics Engineering, Computing and Control, and Information
Technology.
- 1969- present
- Updated weekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for research in the applied sciences.
- THE database for physics, electronics and computing.
History of Science and Technology
- Provides access to citations for scholarly books, journal
articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations
in the history of science and technology.
- 1975-present
- Updated frequently
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- "History of Science and Technology" is a combined database
containing records from three sources: ISIS: Current Bibliography of
the History of Science; Current Bibliography in the History of
Science (Technology and Culture); and Bibliographia Italiana
di Storia della Scienza.
|
|