 |
Law & Legislation
Major Databases
Academic Universe SEE
LexisNexis Academic
Congressional Universe SEE
Lexis-Nexis/Congressional
CQ Library
- Provides access to full-text articles published in CQ Weekly and
CQ Researcher. CQ Weekly includes floor votes by keyword, bill date, and
bill number. CQ Researcher includes a history, pro & con, and
bibliography for each current issue.
- 1983-Present for CQ Weekly, 1991-Present for CQ
Researcher
- Updated Weekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding information and articles related to current
controversial issues.
GPO Access
- Provides access to multiple government databases, such as the
Federal Register, the Budget of the United States, the Code of
Federal Regulations, Economic Report of the President, the
Government Manual, historic Supreme Court Decisions (1937-1975)
and other various Congressional databases.
- Updated frequently
- Available to anyone, at anytime, from anywhere.
- Official Government resource for selected Executive and Congressional
documents.
LexisNexis Academic (formerly Academic Universe)
- Provides access to full text law journal articles, legal codes,
judge's decisions, SEC filings, and news
stories.
- Most publications are covered 1980-present.
- Updated Constantly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- The best place to find full text interviews, the "news stories"
parts of the database include transcripts of news broadcasts. The
best place for all types of legal research, full text
law reviews, judges decisions, etc. Users can
Shepardize court cases electronically, and then read the full text
of the related decisions.
-
Telnet access to Lexis-Nexis
Lexis-Nexis/Congressional (formerly Congressional Universe)
- Provides citations with abstracts to hearings, committee prints, reports
and documents issued by Congress since 1969, full-text links to bill files,
reports, and witness testimony on Lexis/Nexis.
- 1969-present; (1969-1994 in print)
- Updated weekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Important features include searching by multiple fields, keyword, committee,
witness, bill number, etc. Provides links to U.S. Statutes, Congressional
Record, Federal Register, and many other documents.
Thomas
- Provides access to the fulltext of Congressional Record from 1991,
including Congressional bills and votes from 1989, committee reports and
information, and historical documents.
- 1990-present.
- Available to anyone, from anywhere, at anytime,
- Official Congressional source for legislative research,
searchable.
Westlaw Campus
- Provides full-text access to law cases, federal and state, legal subject guides, law reviews,
statutes and administrative materials, legislative materials and legal encyclopedias.
- Most data 1996- present. Historical Statistics can be obtained from other sources.
- Cases go back to 1945, Federal Register back to 1980.
- Updated daily.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Key search allows searching by Westlaw's keynote system of indexing.
|
|