 |
Literature & Languages
Major Databases
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
- Provides access to citations for critical scholarship on all modern literatures and
languages, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal
articles, series, monographs dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings.
- 1963-present.
- Updated annually.
- The single most important source for identifying critical
analysis of literature written since 1500 A.D.
Humanities Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles from core journals in archaelogy, art, classics,
film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, literary and
political criticism, world history and world literature
- 1984-present; (1974/75-present in print)
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Includes citations to feature articles; bibliographies, book reviews,
interviews, and reviews of motion pictures, ballet and opera.
Oxford English Dictionary
- Provides access to the complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series as well as draft material from the current OED project, representing the latest progress towards a completely revised and updated Third Edition.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- The Oxford English Dictionary is generally viewed as the principal dictionary of record for the English language.
Early English Books Online
- Provides access to the more than 96,000 early printed works in English listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue 1475-1640, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue 1641-1700, and the Thomason Tracts 1640-1661. Full-text images of every page of each work can be viewed online or downloaded.
- 1475-1700
- Updated continuously as items from the period are scanned.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont Colleges modem pool
- This is an incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in English literature, history, linguistics, the fine arts, and the history of printing.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
- Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1963 and 2006.
- The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 118 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia.
- The more than 106,927 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.
- Updated at regular intervals. Over the course of a year, coverage will move forward at least one year and backwards at least three years.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- Provides access to nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701-1800. Full-text images of 33 million text-searchable pages can be viewed online or downloaded.
- 1701-1800
- An incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in English literature, history, linguistics, the fine arts, and the history of printing. When complete, will include every significant 18th-century English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
American Periodical Series (APS) Online
- Provides full text access to more than 150 years of American magazine journalism.
- When complete (at the end of 2003) APS will include full text from 1741-1900. Coverage for some titles
will extend into the mid-20th century.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- An outstanding resource for anyone studying the development of American history and culture from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th
century. Provides primary resources for history, literature, politics, religion, and many other subjects.
English Short Title Catalog
- Describes works printed in England or its dependencies in any language as well as works printed in English anywhere in the world from 1473 to 1800.
- Updated daily.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for identifying very early published works. Many records correspond to the full-text microform sets "English Books, 1473-1800" and "The Thomason Tracts."
Latino Literature
- Offers more than 200 novels, many short stories, approximately 30,000 pages of poetry and more than 250 plays inspired by the intersection of cultures between the United States and six different countries and regions that constitute the Latino world.
- The majority of the works are in English with selected works of particular importance presented in Spanish. The collection begins with the works of Chicano writers in the Southwest in the early 19th century and continues to the present.
- The inaugural collection features 48 plays – 26 of which have never been published before (!) – and more than 13,000 pages of poetry and fiction from authors of Puerto Rican, Dominican, Chicano, Central American, South American, and Cuban descent.
Literature Resource Center
- Provides access to full-text biographies of authors and critical
analysis of literary works and to bibliographies. Corresponds to the
reference works Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism,
and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists
and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
- Covers every literary period and discipline.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool
- Great as a starting point in finding biographical information on an
author or criticism of a literary work.
Literature Online
- Provides access to hundreds of thousands of full-text works of
poetry, fiction, and drama written in English. Also includes full-text
literary reference works and links to literary sites on the web.
- Covers literature from the Early English period through the 20th
Century.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- An excellent source for the full-text of standard as well as
hard-to-find literary works, especially those from the nineteenth century
and earlier.
DiscLit-American Authors CD-ROM
- Provides access to fulltext biographical and critical information on 140 American authors.
Includes the fulltext of 140 books in the Twayne's United States Authors Series published before 1991.
- Available only in the Honnold/Mudd search center.
- Great as a starting point in finding biographical information on an
author or criticism of a literary work.
Virginia Woolf: Multimedia CD
- Provides access to the full-text of all of Woolf's published works,
including letters, diaries, reviews, and variant and hard-to-find
editions. Includes more than 12,000 manuscripts plus scholarly
commentary and detailed explanations of her characters, places
mentioned in her works, and literary allusions.
- Available only to users in the Honnold/Mudd search center
- Primary sources offer opportunities for study by researchers in
women's studies, psychology, history, and creative writing as well
as literature.
Walt Whitman: Multimedia CD
- Provides access to the fulltext of all the works of Walt Whitman in a
scholarly edition, first editions, and in selected manuscript
form as well as contemporary reviews of Whitman's works. Includes
800 manuscript images, including the rare "blue book" in color
facsimile, and over 130 photographs of Whitman.
- Available only to users in the Honnold/Mudd search center
- Primary sources offer opportunities for study by researchers
in gay and lesbian and gender studies, history, art, and
photography as well as literature.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
- Provides access to citations from thousands of 19th Century journal articles covering
literature, religion, politics, social science, political economy,
women's writing, archaeology, science and the arts.
- 1824 - 1900
- Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
- Provides primary source access to nineteenth century thought
in an enormous span of subject areas as well as to the very first
publication of major literary works such as Dickens' Oliver Twist.
Articles indexed are from 45 of the most important monthly and
quarterly journals from the nineteenth century. Also provides
tables of contents for the journals.
Women Writers Online
- Provides full-text access to important books by and about women published from 1400 to 1850.
- Updated Continuously
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for quick access to major historical works by and about women.
Other Databases
Arts and Humanities Citation Index SEE
Arts and Humanities Search
Arts and Humanities Search
- Provides access to information on who has cited who in the major
art and humanities journals.
- 1980-Present
- Updated Weekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for finding out if a particular work has been cited by
other authors, or what sources a particular author has cited in
their work.
America: History and Life
- Provides access to citations and abstracts to scholarly articles,
books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the
culture and history of United States and Canada.
- 1964-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- The main index for American history and culture; use
Historical Abstracts for world history.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
- Provides access to scholarly citations for books, book chapters,
journal articles and other materials published worldwide in the
social sciences and humanities focusing on Latin America. Includes
citations from more than 1,350 social science and 550 humanities
journals and conference proceedings
- 1990-present; (1935-present in print)
- Updated annually
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Premier database for identifying research literature on
historical and emerging issues pertinent to the study of Latin
America. Covers social sciences and humanities topics in alternate
years.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- Major resource for identifying scholarly research on Latin
America, the U.S.-Mexican border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
- Provides access to citations for articles, reviews, bibliographies,
original literary works and other documents in major disciplines of the
social sciences and humanities.
- Covers more than 400 scholarly journals published worldwide.
- 1970-present
- Updated weekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
HarpWeek: 1857-1872, Civil War Years and Early Reconstruction
- Provides access to the fulltext of Harper's Weekly, one of the
most important general news and culture magazines of mid to late
19th Century America.
- 1857-1872 (Civil War years and early reconstruction)
- Irregular updates
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a
Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Project will eventually include all of Harper's Weekly through
the beginning of the twentieth century.
Historical Abstracts
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for scholarly
articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published worldwide
on world history, covering 1450 AD to present.
- 1966-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- For history of United States or Canada use America: History
and Life.
International Index to the Performing Arts
- Provides access to citations for articles in more than
200 scholarly and popular performing arts
periodicals. Also includes biographical profiles,
conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies,
reviews, and events. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry
including dance, film, drama, television, theater,
stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance,
comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and more.
- Updated annually
- 1998-present
- Available to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
- Provides access to citations for articles on all aspects of the
study of language including phonetics,
morphology, syntax and semantics, and anthropological linguistics.
- 1973-present; (1967-present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
- Provides access to more than 75,000 definitions, including
pronunciation guides and word histories.
- Tenth Edition
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
Periodicals Contents Index
- Provides access to selected citations for articles from
a wide range of American and European periodicals.
- 1770-present
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- PCI is a very good tool for finding 18th, 19th, and early 20th
century sources.
Because so much research in literature is interdisciplinary, you may
also want to look at other
subject lists; for
example, art, philosophy, religion, or women's studies.
|
|