 |
Mathematics
Major Databases
MathSciNet
- Provides access to
over 58 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical
Publications
- 1940-present
- Updated daily
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding reviews of mathematical literature and other
related subjects. Provides links to the fulltext of electronic
journal articles.
Current Index to Statistics
- Contains cumulative bibliographic citations to statistical books and articles in more than
1,000 journals, with coverage generally extending back to 1974, earlier in some instances
- Issued by: American Statistical Association, and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics
- Current frequency: Annual
Web of Science
- Provides access to scholarly science and social science journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
- Sciences citation index: 1955-present
- Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
- Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
- Help using this database is available.
Other Databases
AccessScience
- Online version of the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
- Coverage: 9th edition (2000- present)
- More than 7100 articles in 81 major areas of science and technology
- 115,000+ definitions from McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Sci. & Tech. Terms
- Breakthroughs and Discoveries (weekly updates)
- Hundreds of research updates (daily)
- 2000+ biographies of scientists
- Links to relevant web sites
ACM Digital Library
- Provides access to the fulltext of ACM Journals and magazines
- 1991-present for fulltext; 1985-present for citations
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding technical articles on all aspects of computing
and computer science. Provides a search engine so that all
ACM publications can be searched by author, keyword or subject.
|
|