 |
Medicine & Health
Major Databases
PubMed
- Provides access to over 11 million citations in medicine and biology
- National Library of Medicine's search engine for Medline, PreMedline and related databases
- 1966-Present
- Updated daily
- Publicly available to anyone using the internet
- Great for finding scholarly articles in biomedicine and related fields of research
- Contains links to many full-text articles in journals to which we subscribe electronically
MEDLINE
- Provides access to citations for articles on all areas of medicine.
- 1965-Present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for finding articles in medical literature (3500
journals). Includes some regular biology not necessarily covered
in Biosis.
Other Databases
AIDS & Cancer Research Abstracts
- Provides access to scholarly citations for the worldwide
literature on AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics.
- 1982-Present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding scholarly articles on AIDS and cancer includes both
basic science research and clinical applications.
Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts
- Provides access to citations for articles and new patents on
biotechnology and bioengineering.
- 1982-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding the latest scholarly articles, reports,
regulations and patents in all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering,
including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental
and marine biology.
PsycINFO
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles
in psychology and the behavioral sciences.
- 1887- present.
- Updated quarterly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Comprehensive worldwide index to psychology articles and
selected books. Excellent search features.
PsycLit SEE
PsycINFO
Toxline (NLM)
- Provides access to scholarly citations for articles and
monographic materials on toxicology.
- 1992-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to uses at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding scholarly research material on all areas of
toxicology.
Web of Science
- Provides access to scholarly science and social science journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
- Sciences citation index: 1955-present
- Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
- Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
- Help using this database is available.
|
|