Local Menu
Research guides by subject
Databases
Electronic Journals
Online Resources
Library catalogs
Quick facts & ready reference
 
   
   

Need help?

ask us

email | chat | phone

 
 
Home   >   eResearch Tools   >   Databases   >   Music

Music


Major Databases - Reference Sources
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
  • Provides fulltext access to the 29 volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed, 2001.
  • Authoritative source featuring biographies of composers and performers, and information on major music topics; world music; jazz, rock, and pop; and musical instruments and their history. Includes bibliographies and lists of composers' works.
  • Annual and quarterly updates
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.

Musical America
  • Serves as a directory to the performing arts by providing email, web site, and mailing addresses of artists, managers, orchestras, opera companies, dance companies, ensembles, choral groups, festivals and competitions, performing arts series, foundations, awards, state arts agencies, music publishers, record companies, schools, and music critics.
  • Provides daily news releases relating to the performing arts industry and artists.
  • Includes performance reviews and feature articles highlighting the international and North American performing arts scene year in review.
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.

Major Databases - Audio
Naxos Music Library
  • A collection of classical music available online, it includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 80,000 tracks, including classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.
  • Continually updated
  • While listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.

Major Databases - Journal Indexes
Music Index
  • Provides access to citations for articles in 640 music journals published in 20 countries
  • 1976 - present; 1949-1999 in paper
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
  • Scholarly articles about all field of music. Use in combination with IIMP for retrospective music coverage.

RILM - Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale
  • Provides access to citations for articles from 3,500 music journals as well as festschriften, reviewing sources, and dissertations.
  • 1969- present (1967-1995 in print)
  • Updated monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
  • Scholarly and international coverage.

Major Databases - Indexes to Scores
Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae (CMM)
  • Indexes all volumes in the Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae series as of January 1999. CMM is a series of modern editions of music scores from the 14th to 16th century including selected codices and the complete works of representative Italian, French, Flemish, and Spanish composers.
  • Provides biographical information on composers and their works.
  • Offers bibliographical information and source materials for further research.
  • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.

CPM plus - Catalogue of Printed Music in the British Library
  • Provides access to citations for printed music
  • 1503-1996.
  • Available in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
  • Source to check for information on music publishers and editions of music.

Other Databases

Arts and Humanities Citation Index SEE Arts and Humanities Search


Arts and Humanities Search

  • Provides access to information on who has cited who in the major art and humanities journals.
  • 1980-Present
  • Updated Weekly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
  • Great for finding out if a particular work has been cited by other authors, or what sources a particular author has cited in their work.

Humanities Abstracts   SEARCH OmniFile
  • Provides access to citations for articles from core journals in archaelogy, art, classics, film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, literary and political criticism, world history and world literature
  • 1984-present; (1974/75-present in print)
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
  • Includes citations to feature articles; bibliographies, book reviews, interviews, and reviews of motion pictures, ballet and opera.
   
Music Research Guide
 
     
Return to the previous page

 

Contact Us Claremont University Consortium Home Home