 |
News & General Interest
LexisNexis Academic (formerly Academic Universe)
- Provides access to full text law journal articles, legal codes,
judge's decisions, SEC filings, and news
stories.
- Most publications are covered 1980-present.
- Updated Constantly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- The best place to find full text interviews, the "news stories"
parts of the database include transcripts of news broadcasts. The
best place for all types of legal research, full text
law reviews, judges decisions, etc. Users can
Shepardize court cases electronically, and then read the full text
of the related decisions.
-
Telnet access to Lexis-Nexis
NewsBank Full-Text Newspapers
- Complete full-text content of local and regional news. Includes Los Angeles Times.
- Paid advertisements are excluded .
- Coverage varies by newspaper. Updated daily.
Los Angeles Times
- Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events,
schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries,
and people in the community.
- Paid advertisements are excluded.
- 1985-present.
Historical Los Angeles Times
- Provides full text access (pdf) from the beginning of the newspaper in 1881.
Upon completion (with a projected date of 2006), the database will include the complete contents
of the LA Times through 1984.
- Searchable by keywords.
- Includes photographs, ads, classifieds, comics and cartoons.
- To search the contents of the
Los Angeles Times from 1985 to present,
please use NewsBank America’s Newspaper
Palmer's Index to the London Times
- Provides access to citations for articles from The Times of London.
- 1790-1905
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
Periodicals Contents Index
- Indexes a wide range of American and European periodicals, from 1770 to present.
- Indexes over 3,290 Journals
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
- PCI is a very good tool for finding 18th, 19th, and early 20th century sources.
Readers Guide Abstracts SEARCH
OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for popular articles from over 250
major magazines and periodicals
- To search recent issues of Readers' Guide (1983-present), click in the box in front of OmniFile and highlight Readers' Guide in the Subject Area menu.
- To search older issues of Readers' Guide (1890-1982), click in the box in front of Readers' Guide Retro.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for finding opinion pieces and popular articles on a
variety of topics including current events, business, fashion,
politics, education, and sports.
Wall Street Journal Online SEE
ABI/Inform
WilsonSelectPlus
- Provides access to selected full-text articles from popular and
scholarly periodicals across the disciplines.
- 1994-Present
- Updated Weekly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
| |