 |
Philosophy
Major Databases
Philosophers Index
- Provides access to citations for scholarly books and journal articles
in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
- Updated quarterly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
Past Masters
- Full Text philosophy and theology classics online in scholarly editions (many of them complete). Includes works of Plato, Aristotle, Aquinas, Augustine (Latin), Descartes, Spinoza, and Leibniz, Hobbes, Bacon, Locke, Luther, Santayana, Mill, Nietzsche (German), Pierce, Rousseau, Sidgwick, Anselm (Latin), Kierkegaard (Danish), Dewey, and others. Powerful searching and text analysis capabilities.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- This is an incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in philosophy, theology, political theory, and intellectual history.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- The new standard source, replacing the older Encyclopedia of Philosophy, with frequent
updates, additions, and links to world-wide web sources.
- Updated quarterly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
Other Databases
L'Année philologique
-
Provides access to citations from all known scholarly work published in
any language concerning the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and
linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology,
religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics,
papyrology and epigraphy, and concerning the time period from the second
millennium B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D.
-
1969 - present
-
Most comprehensive source for current classics research.
CGU Descartes
Web Site
- Provides searchable English and French editions of the last
published work of René Descartes, Passions de l'ame, 1649
(Passions of the Soul, 1650)
- Available to anyone, at anytime, from anywhere
Greek-English Lexicon
- Provides access to the Liddell and Scott Greek-English
lexicon as well as well as the Lewis and Short Latin Dictionary.
- Available to anyone, at anytime, from anywhere.
Patrologia Latina
- Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.
- Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
- Contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
ATLA Religion
- Provides access to scholarly citations for books and articles on
religion and religious studies.
- 1949-Present
- Updated Semi-Annually
- Available outside the Libraries only to students, faculty,
and staff of the Claremont Colleges.
- Great for finding scholarly articles on all aspects of religion
and religious studies.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
(formerly ABC Pol Sci)
- Provides access to citations for articles in more than 300 political science
and government journals.
- 1984-present
- Updated 3 times a year.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for finding articles on politics and government.
Art
Retrospective
- Provides access to citations for articles on advertising art; antiques; archaeology;
architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art;
crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art; graphic arts; industrial
design; interior design; landscape architecture; motion pictures;
museology; painting; photography; pottery; sculpture; television;
textiles; and video.
- 1929-1984
- Includes art journals, yearbooks and select museum bulletins
published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well
as English.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
Art Full Text
- Provides access to citations from more than 250 of the leading arts journals.
- 1984 - present, full-text of selected journals begins in 1997.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Topics covered include advertising art; antiques; archaeology;
architecture and architectural history; art history; computers in art;
crafts; decorative arts; fashion; folk art; graphic arts; industrial
design; interior design; landscape architecture; motion pictures;
museology; painting; photography; pottery; sculpture; television;
textiles; and video.
Database of Classical Bibliography (DCB)
SEE L'Année philologique
PsycINFO
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles
in psychology and the behavioral sciences.
- 1887- present.
- Updated quarterly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Comprehensive worldwide index to psychology articles and
selected books. Excellent search features.
PsycLit SEE
PsycINFO
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
- Provides access to citations for critical scholarship on all modern literatures and
languages, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal
articles, series, monographs dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings.
- 1963-present.
- Updated annually.
- The single most important source for identifying critical
analysis of literature written since 1500 A.D.
Historical Abstracts
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for scholarly
articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published worldwide
on world history, covering 1450 AD to present.
- 1966-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- For history of United States or Canada use America: History
and Life".
America: History and Life
- Provides access to citations and abstracts to scholarly articles,
books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the
culture and history of United States and Canada.
- 1964-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- The main index for American history and culture; use
Historical Abstracts for world history.
History of Science and Technology
- Provides access to citations for scholarly books, journal
articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations
in the history of science and technology.
- 1975-present
- Updated frequently
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- "History of Science and Technology" is a combined database
containing records from three sources: ISIS: Current Bibliography of
the History of Science; Current Bibliography in the History of
Science (Technology and Culture); and Bibliographia Italiana
di Storia della Scienza.
Women's Studies International
- Provides access to scholarly citations for books and articles
on gender and women's studies.
- 1972-Present
- Updated Semi-annually
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding scholarly articles on gender and women's
studies topics.
Humanities Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles from core journals in archaelogy, art, classics,
film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, literary and
political criticism, world history and world literature
- 1984-present; (1974/75-present in print)
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Includes citations to feature articles; bibliographies, book reviews,
interviews, and reviews of motion pictures, ballet and opera.
|
|