 |
Psychology
Major Databases
PsycINFO (formerly PsycLIT)
- Once on the "Ovid News" page, click Continue to get to PsycINFO
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles
in psychology and the behavioral sciences.
- 1887- present.
- Updated quarterly.
- Comprehensive worldwide index to psychology articles and
selected books. Excellent search features.
PsycLit SEE
PsycINFO
Social Sciences Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles and book reviews published in over
415 major international English-language scholarly journals in the
social sciences
- 1984-present; (1974-present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- A great database for beginning research on topics in
anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many
other disciplines in the social sciences.
Other Databases
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Online access to articles from the 26 volume print encyclopedia.
Covers fields in the social and behavioral sciences including anthropology,
economics, political science, psychology and sociology, as well as the
related disciplines of archaeology, demography, education, geography,
history, law, linquistics and philosophy.
- Over 4,500 signed articles, 90,000 references, 150 biographical entries.
- Unique and valuable resource for students and researchers.
MEDLINE
- Provides access to citations for articles on all areas of medicine.
- 1965-Present
- Updated Monthly
- Great for finding articles in medical literature (3500
journals). Includes some regular biology not necessarily covered
in Biosis.
- See also PubMed.
Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption Database
- Provides access to citations for books, articles, reports,
and documents related to child abuse and neglect.
- 1965-Present
- Updated Annually
- Great for finding materials on issues and prevention programs
related to physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional/psychological
abuse, and neglect of children.
PrimateLit
- Provides access to bibliographic citations to the scientific literature
in the field of primatology, relating to research, conservation, and
veterinary care of nonhuman primates.
- 1940-present.
- Includes all types of publications and many subject areas including
behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies,
psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, developmental and
molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography.
- Over 200,000 citations.
- Produced by the Wisconsin Primate Research Center.
|
|