Local Menu
Research guides by subject
Databases
Electronic Journals
Online Resources
Library catalogs
Quick facts & ready reference
 
   
   

Need help?

ask us

email | chat | phone

 
 
Home   >   eResearch Tools   >   Databases   >   Religion

Religion


Major Databases
ATLA Religion
  • Provides access to scholarly citations for books and articles on religion and religious studies.
  • 1949-Present
  • Updated Semi-Annually
  • Available outside the Libraries only to students, faculty, and staff of the Claremont Colleges.
  • Great for finding scholarly articles on all aspects of religion and religious studies.


Humanities Abstracts   SEARCH OmniFile

  • Provides access to citations for articles from core journals in archaelogy, art, classics, film, folklore, linguistics, music, performing arts, literary and political criticism, world history and world literature
  • 1984-present; (1974/75-present in print)
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
  • Includes citations to feature articles; bibliographies, book reviews, interviews, and reviews of motion pictures, ballet and opera.


Index Islamicus

  • Provides access to scholarly citations for books, articles, and reviews related to Islam and Middle Eastern Studies. Includes works on arts, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, science and various other aspects of Muslim life.
  • 1906-Present

Patrologia Latina
  • Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.
  • Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
  • Contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.

Other Databases
Academic Universe SEE LexisNexis Academic


America: History and Life

  • Provides access to citations and abstracts to scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the culture and history of United States and Canada.
  • 1964-present
  • Updated Monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
  • The main index for American history and culture; use Historical Abstracts for world history.


Historical Abstracts

  • Provides access to citations with abstracts for scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published worldwide on world history, covering 1450 AD to present.
  • 1966-present
  • Updated Monthly
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
  • For history of United States or Canada use America: History and Life.


LexisNexis Academic (formerly Academic Universe)

  • Provides access to full text law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings, and news stories.
  • Most publications are covered 1980-present.
  • Updated Constantly.
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
  • The best place to find full text interviews, the "news stories" parts of the database include transcripts of news broadcasts. The best place for all types of legal research, full text law reviews, judges decisions, etc. Users can Shepardize court cases electronically, and then read the full text of the related decisions.
  • Telnet access to Lexis-Nexis


Past Masters

  • Full Text philosophy and theology classics online in scholarly editions (many of them complete). Includes works of Plato, Aristotle, Aquinas, Augustine (Latin), Descartes, Spinoza, and Leibniz, Hobbes, Bacon, Locke, Luther, Santayana, Mill, Nietzsche (German), Pierce, Rousseau, Sidgwick, Anselm (Latin), Kierkegaard (Danish), Dewey, and others. Powerful searching and text analysis capabilities.
  • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
  • This is an incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in philosophy, theology, political theory, and intellectual history.

   
Religion Research Guide
 
     
Return to the previous page

 

Contact Us Claremont University Consortium Home Home