 |
Sociology
Major Databases
Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile)
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles from
the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social
and behavioral sciences.
- 1974 - present
- Updated quarterly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Outstanding database for sociological topics.
Social Sciences Abstracts SEARCH OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for articles and book reviews published in over
415 major international English-language scholarly journals in the
social sciences
- 1984-present; (1974-present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- A great database for beginning research on topics in
anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many
other disciplines in the social sciences.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Online access to articles from the 26 volume print encyclopedia.
Covers fields in the social and behavioral sciences including anthropology,
economics, political science, psychology and sociology, as well as the
related disciplines of archaeology, demography, education, geography,
history, law, linquistics and philosophy.
- Over 4,500 signed articles, 90,000 references, 150 biographical entries.
- Unique and valuable resource for students and researchers.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
- Provides access to selected citations for journal
articles, books, government documents and reports and
foreign language publications. Topics covered include economic, political,
business, finance, law, international trade and relations, public
administration, government, political science, public policy
and social issues.
- 1972-present; (1915 - 1990 in print)
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
PsycINFO
- Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles
in psychology and the behavioral sciences.
- 1887- present.
- Updated quarterly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Comprehensive worldwide index to psychology articles and
selected books. Excellent search features.
PsycLit SEE
PsycINFO
Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption Database
-
Provides access to citations for books, articles, reports, and documents
related to child abuse and neglect.
-
1965-Present
-
Updated Annually
-
Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont
Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
-
Great for finding materials on issues and prevention programs related to
physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional/psychological abuse, and neglect
of children.
Other Databases
America: History and Life
- Provides access to citations and abstracts to scholarly articles,
books, dissertations, and book reviews published world wide on the
culture and history of United States and Canada.
- 1964-present
- Updated Monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- The main index for American history and culture; use
Historical Abstracts for world history.
Black Studies on Disc
- Provides access to citations for scholarly and popular articles,
reviews, books, dissertations, and other materials in the humanities,
social sciences, and the arts produced by and about people of African
descent worldwide. Database is a combination of over 150,000 records
from The Catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black
Culture, and the Index to Black Periodicals. Includes materials
dating back to the 8th century A.D., although emphasis is on 19th and
20th century materials.
- 1988-present; (1950-present in print)
- Available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries use the Start menu to access it.
- Excellent resource for locating both popular and scholarly
materials on historical and contemporary issues concerning people of
African descent worldwide.
Chicano Database
- Provides access to citations for scholarly journal articles, books,
articles in popular magazines and newspapers, and other publications about
Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
- 1967-present.
- Updated quarterly.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Combines The Chicano Index, Arte Chicano, Chicana Studies Index,
The Chicano Anthology Index and the Hispanic Mental Health Research:
A Reference Guide all in one resource.
- Major database for identifying research literature in the social sciences
and humanities about Chicanos/Latinos.
Ethnic Newswatch
- Provides access to fulltext articles from newspapers, magazines,
and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Contains mostly
popular publications, although some scholarly material is also included.
- 1960-present
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to
a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Excellent for research on both current and historical topics
concerning ethnic minorities in the U.S. Provides access to topics
and publications which are often not covered by the mainstream press.
Has some international focus. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
GenderWatch
- Provides access to popular and scholarly full-text articles on
gender and women's studies.
- 1978-present
- Updated Quarterly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for finding opinion pieces and popular articles on gender
and women's studies issues.
Left Index
- Provides access to citations from periodicals on the left, with primary emphasis on
politically and culturally engaged scholarship, and secondary emphasis on significant but
little known sources of news and ideas.
- 1990-current
- Also available in print from 1982-1989
- Updated Quarterly
- Available to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges
proxy server or modem pool.
- Coverage includes politics, women's studies, race & ethnicity, social & cultural
theory, environment, philosophy, history, education and law.
Readers Guide Abstracts SEARCH
OmniFile
- Provides access to citations for popular articles from over 250
major magazines and periodicals
- To search recent issues of Readers' Guide (1983-present), click in the box in front of OmniFile and highlight Readers' Guide in the Subject Area menu.
- To search older issues of Readers' Guide (1890-1982), click in the box in front of Readers' Guide Retro.
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Great for finding opinion pieces and popular articles on a
variety of topics including current events, business, fashion,
politics, education, and sports.
Web of Science
- Provides access to scholarly science and social science journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
- Sciences citation index: 1955-present
- Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
- Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
- Help using this database is available.
|
|