Local Menu
Research guides by subject
Databases
Electronic Journals
Online Resources
Library catalogs
Quick facts & ready reference
 
   
   

Need help?

ask us

email | chat | phone

 
 
Home   >   eResearch Tools   >   Databases   >   Statistics   >   Datasets: Alphabetical list
  Statistics  Datasets  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Datasets Held by the Libraries of the Claremont Colleges

    CensusCD
    • Provides access to the 1980 Census of Population and Housing, detailed down to the block statistics level.
    • Statistical data
    • 1979 data
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center
    • Downloadable data, all on one CD-Rom

    CensusCD+Maps
    • Provides access to the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, detailed down to the block statistics level, with mapping.
    • Statistical data
    • 1989 data
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center
    • Downloadable data, all on one CD-Rom. Can generate thematic maps.

    Census of Population and Housing
    • Provides access to the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, official data source from the U.S. Census Bureau
    • 1989 data
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center
    • Official source for U.S. demographic data. CDs provide detailed statistical information from the national level down to city, census tract and block statistics. Also gives many statistical breakdowns, such as income, ethnicity, foreign-born, education, language, occupation, and housing.

    Compustat SEE Research Insight

    Equal Employment Opportunity File

    • Using data from the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, provides sample census data to support affirmative action planning for equal employment opportunity. Contains tabulations detailing occupational and educational attainment by age and race. Covers all counties, metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs), and places of 50,000+ inhabitants.
    • Contains 1990 Census data.
    • May be updated after tabulation of the 2000 census.
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd search center

    Gross Product by Industry (for the United States and States
    • Economic estimates for the United States: gross product by industry for 1947-97; detailed gross output for 1977-97: manufacturing product shipments for 1977-96; manufacturing industry shipments for 1977-97; detailed indirect business taxes for 1978-97 and for all states for 1977-96; gross state product by industry; compensation of employees; indirect business taxes; property-type income
    • 1947-1997 for Unites States; 1977-1997 for states
    • Available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries
    • Produced by the Bureau of Economic Analysis

    Marriage and Divorce Data Sets
    • Contains marriage and divorce data sets for 1989-1995
    • 1989-1995
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics

    Multiple Cause of Death
    • Contains information on deaths that occur in the United States
    • 1994 data
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.

    Natality Data Set 1995
    • 1995
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics

    National and State Summary Data Tables, 1996
    • Presents mathematics and science results from the 1996 National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) and the 1996 NAEP State Assessments
    • 1996
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center
    • Produced by the National Center for Educational Statistics

    National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey III
    • Designed to obtain nationally representative information on the health and nutritional status of the population of the United States
    • Includes the NHANES III Household Adult Data File, NHANES III Household Youth Data File, NHANES III Examination Data File, NHANES III Laboratory Data File, and the NHANES III Dietary Recall Data Files
    • 1988-94
    • Includes the NHANES III Reference Manuals and Reports
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics

    National Health Interview Survey
    • Includes five NHIS core files: Household, Person, Condition, Doctor Visit, and Hospital and five supplemental files: Access to Care, AIDS Knowledge and Attitudes, Health Insurance, Immunization, and Year 2000 objectives.
    • 1994
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Contains the Questionnaires and Flashcards used in the survey
    • Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics

    National Health Interview Survey on Disability, Phase I
    • Contains both the person and condition files including children and adults
    • Data collected include sensory, communication and mobility problems; health conditions; activities of daily living; functional limitations; mental health; service and benefits; special health needs, etc
    • 1994
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics

    National Household Education Survey (NHES)
    • The NHES in an ongoing project to conduct studies on important education issues
    • 1991, 1993, 1995, 1996
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Produced by the National Center for Education Statistics

    National Trade Data Bank
    • U.S. Import and Export information, including data, reports and handbooks.
    • Each issue varies in titles covered.
    • 1991- Present. (Most recent issues available through STAT-USA, to find past years of individual titles check Blais, many of them used to come in as serials in paper.)
    • Updated Monthly.
    • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool

    National Study of Postsecondary Faculty
    • Provides data on major educational policy questions on topics such as compensation, roles and differences between full- and part-time faculty, attitudes, career and retirement plans, etc.
    • 1993
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Produced by the Office of Educational Research and Improvement

    Nationwide Personal Transportation Survey
    • A compilation of national data on the nature and characteristics of personal travel
    • 1983 and 1990
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Produced by the Bureau of Transportation Statistics

    OECD Statistical Compendium
    • Compilation of OECD statistics covering a wide range of topics: Agriculture and Food, Development and Aid, General Economic Problems, Economic Indicators, National Accounts, Employment, Energy, Financial and Fiscal Affairs, Industry, Science and Technology
    • 1998
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Essential reference work for anyone needing the macroeconomic overview of the economies of the OECD member countries

    Perinatal Mortality Data File
    • Provides data on the combination of births, infant deaths, and fetal deaths that occurred in the United States in 1995.
    • 1995
    • Some of the variables included in the data set are race and age of mother and father, marital status of mother, medical risk factors, obstetric procedures, birthweight, gestational age, parity, prenatal care, method of delivery, abnormal conditions of the newborn, and congenital anomalies of the child.
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics

    RAND California
    • An extensive statistical database on California and its cities and counties, ranging from the economy to crime rates to school test scores; an online index of public policy and research publications; and monthly
    • reports on the California economy.
    • Some data back to 1970; most in 1990s
    • Updated frequently
    • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
    • Great for finding statistical data pertaining to California.

    Research Insight (formerly Compustat)
    • Provides extensive financial data on companies that have been traded on any U.S. stock market in the last 20 years. Data is taken from SEC reports, but then "corrected" to control for the variety of accounting packages used. In this way it is "standardized" to facilitate comparisons between companies.
    • Covers over 19,000 publicly traded companies. (Mostly U.S., very limited coverage of Canadian companies.)
    • Covers the last 20 years.
    • Updated Annually.
    • Available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries
    • This database can be searched for a match on a single variable (for instance to create a list of all the public companies listed as doing business within an SIC) or with complex formulas (the researcher can devise a complex investment strategy and screen the database for companies have grown a certain percent and that have p/e's above or below a certain percent of the market, etc.) Data can be saved as a delimited file and imported into any program that will accept such a file.

    Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS) and Teacher Follow Up Survey (TFS)
    • Nation's largest sample survey of the characteristics and conditions of America's public and private schools and the teachers and principals who work in them
    • Covers 1987-1994 for SASS and 1988-1995 for TFS
    • Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
    • Produced by the National Center for Education Statistics

    State Personal Income, 1929-1998
    • Contains State personal income estimates for the years 1929-1998
    • Available to anyone, at anytime, from anywhere.
    • Produced by the Bureau of Economic Analysis

    Statistical Universe
    • Provides comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information
    • Some full-text, some citations
    • Gives option to search back to pre-1973
    • Updated frequently
    • Available only to users at The Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
    • Great comprehensive resource for U.S. statistics

    Survey of Current Business
    • Full-text articles and statistical data on aspects of the American economy including GNP, GDP, deficits, economic sectors.
    • Aug. 1998 - present online
      1921- present in paper
      Honnold/Mudd Reference: annual edition
    • Monthly
    • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool
    • Accessed through STAT-USA

    World Development Indicators
    • Provides economic data elements for more than 200 countries world-wide.
    • Includes 526 data series, including income group data.
    • Data back to 1960 where available
    • Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
    • Data may be searched, cross-tabulated and downloaded into Excel.
    • Previous versions, 2001 and 2000, still available in the search centers of the Libraries only. Note: some 2000 version indicators are not available in the 2001 version.
    • Sources include many World Bank publications as well as other resources.

 
     
Return to the previous page

 

Contact Us Claremont University Consortium Home Home