|
|
Census & Demographic Datasets
Datasets Available at the Libraries
Web Sites for More Information
Library Datasets
CensusCD
- Provides access to data from the 1980 Census of Population and Housing,
detailed down to the block statistics level.
- 1979 data
- Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
- Downloadable data, all on one CD-ROM.
CensusCD+Maps
- Provides access to data from the 1990 Census of Population and Housing,
detailed down to the block statistics level, with mapping.
- 1989 data
- Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
- Downloadable data, all on one CD-ROM. Can generate thematic maps.
Census of Population and Housing
- Provides access to data from the 1990 Census of Population and Housing,
official data source from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- 1989 data
- Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
- Official source for U.S. demographic data. CDs provide detailed
statistical information from the national level down to city, census
tract and block statistics. Also gives many statistical breakdowns,
such as income, ethnicity, foreign-born, education, language,
occupation, and housing.
Equal Employment Opportunity File
- Provides sample census data to support affirmative action planning
for equal employment opportunity. Contains tabulations detailing
occupational and educational attainment by age and race. Covers all
counties, metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs), and places of
50,000+ inhabitants.
- Contains 1990 Census data.
- May be updated after tabulation of the 2000 census.
- Available only in the Honnold/Mudd search center.
RAND California
- Provides access to data on California and its cities
and counties, ranging from the economy to crime rates to school
test scores; an online index of public policy and research
publications; and monthly reports on the California economy.
- Some data back to 1970; most in 1990s
- Updated frequently
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or
connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding statistical data pertaining to California.
Web Sites
CGU
Academic Computing Data Services Division
United Nations
Statistical Division
United States Bureau of the Census
| |