|
|
Economic & Financial Datasets
Major Datasets
National Trade Data Bank (NTDB)
- Provides access to data, reports, and handbooks on US trade,
imports, and exports. Note: NTDB is a part of STAT-USA.
- 1991- Present.
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding information on trade statistics, foreign markets,
and international trade restrictions.
OECD Statistical Compendium
- Provides OECD data on a wide range of topics including
Agriculture and Food, Development and Aid, General Economic Problems,
Economic Indicators, National Accounts, Employment, Energy, Financial
and Fiscal Affairs, Industry, Science and Technology.
- 1998
- Available only in the Honnold/Mudd Search Center.
- Essential reference work for anyone needing the macroeconomic
overview of the economies of the OECD member countries.
RAND California
- Provides access to data on California and its cities
and counties, ranging from the economy to crime rates to school
test scores; an online index of public policy and research
publications; and monthly reports on the California economy.
- Some data back to 1970; most in 1990s
- Updated frequently
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or
connecting to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for finding statistical data pertaining to California.
Research Insight (formerly Compustat)
- Provides access to extensive financial data on companies that have been
traded on any U.S. stock market in the last 20 years. Data is taken from
SEC reports, but then "corrected" to control for the variety of accounting
packages used. In this way it is "standardized" to facilitate comparisons
between companies. Covers over 19,000 publicly traded companies.
(Mostly U.S., very limited coverage of Canadian companies.)
- Covers the last 20 years.
- Updated Annually.
- Available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries.
- This database can be searched for a match on a single variable
(for instance to create a list of all the public companies listed
as doing business within an SIC) or with complex formulas
(the researcher can devise a complex investment strategy and
screen the database for companies have grown a certain percent
and that have p/e's above or below a certain percent of the market, etc.)
Data can be saved as a delimited file and imported into any program that will
accept such a file. Only source for standardized data so that companies
can be meaningfully compared.
STAT-USA
- Provides access to data from the U.S. Commerce Department on
U.S. business, economic and trade community. There are several databases,
including the National Trade
Databank (NTDB), fulltext access to the Survey of Current Business,
and the Export Yellow Pages. Also provides economic news and data.
- Most data 1996- present. Historical Statistics can be obtained from other sources.
- Updated daily, weekly and monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Great for domestic and U.S.-International trade. Searchable by keyword or
title, very up-to-date statistics.
Survey of Current Business
- Provides access to fulltext articles and statistical data on aspects of the
American economy including GNP, GDP, deficits, economic sectors.
- Aug. 1998 - present; (1921- present in print)
- Updated monthly
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges or connecting
to a Claremont Colleges modem pool.
- Accessed through STAT-USA.
World Development Indicators
- Provides access to economic data elements for more than 200 countries
world-wide from World Bank and other organizations. Includes the 526 data
series which has income group data.
- Data back to 1960 where available
- Available only to users at the Claremont Colleges
or connecting to a Claremont Colleges proxy server or modem pool.
- Data may be searched, cross-tabulated and downloaded into Excel.
- Previous versions,
2001
and
2000,
still available in the search centers of the Libraries only. Note: some 2000 version indicators are not available in the
2001 version.
See also the
CGU Academic Computing Data Services Division Web Site for more
information and links to other economic and financial databanks.
Specific Datasets
Gross Product by Industry (for the United States and
States
- Provides data on economic estimates for the United States: gross product by industry for 1947-97; detailed gross output for 1977-97: manufacturing
product shipments for 1977-96; manufacturing industry shipments for 1977-97; detailed indirect business
taxes for 1978-97 and for all states for 1977-96; gross state product by industry; compensation of
employees; indirect business taxes; property-type income.
- 1947-1997 for Unites States; 1977-1997 for states.
- Available only to users in the search centers of the Libraries.
- Produced by the Bureau of Economic Analysis.
State Personal Income, 1929-1998
- Provides access to data on state personal income estimates for the
years 1929-1998.
- Available to anyone, at anytime, from anywhere.
- Produced by the Bureau of Economic Analysis.
See also the
CGU Academic Computing Data Services Division Web Site for more
information and links to specific economic and financial databanks.
| |