Local Menu
Research guides by subject
Databases
Electronic Journals
Online Resources
Library catalogs
Quick facts & ready reference
 
   
   

Need help?

ask us

email | chat | phone

 
 
Home   >   eResearch Tools   >   Databases   >   Women's and gender studies

Women's and Gender Studies


Major Databases
Women's Studies International
  • Provides access to scholarly citations for books and articles on gender and women's studies
  • 1972-Present
  • Updated Semi-annually
  • Internet Explorer is the recommended web browser.
  • Great for finding scholarly articles on gender and women's studies topics.

GenderWatch
  • Provides access to popular and scholarly full-text articles on gender and women's studies.
  • 1978-present
  • Updated Quarterly
  • Great for finding opinion pieces and popular articles on gender and women's studies issues.

Contemporary Women's Issues
  • Provides access to citations for scholarly and popular articles, newsletters, reports, and documents on gender and women's studies.
  • 1992-Present
  • Full-text access to global information on women in over 150 countries.
  • Great for finding popular articles and ephemera on gender and women's studies topics.

Defining Gender, 1450 – 1910
  • Five centuries of advice literature for men and women. This collection brings together approximately 60,000 images of original documents, both manuscript and printed materials, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Divided into five sections, each section features thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Gender Studies. The five sections: Conduct & Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility (available Summer 2006), and the Body (available Summer 2007).
  • 1450-1910
  • Primary and secondary source materials focusing on advice literature; valuable for a wide range of subjects including Women's & Gender Studies, Cultural Studies, history, and literature.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
  • Provides access to documents related to women’s history, 1543-1945. Includes some two million page images from primary documents on topics such as women's rights, suffrage, birth control, the nature and role of women, the historical and legal status of women, prostitution, the education of girls and women, biography and autobiography, and secondary materials on women writers, marriage and the family, employment of women, women and religion, and women's voluntary associations.
  • 1543-1945
  • Extensive collection of primary and secondary source materials for women’s studies, history, political science, international studies, and American studies.

Women and Social Movements in the United States
  • Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities.
  • Examines perspectives on women’s social movements from Colonial times to the present. Excellent resource for primary sources.
  • The database presents 20,000 pages of books, pamphlets and related materials to provide scholars with in-depth access to the published histories and records of women’s reform organizations throughout the United States.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
  • Provides access to a fulltext collection of letters, diaries, and unpublished manuscripts written by women from Colonial times to 1950.
  • Currently 18th and 19th Century
  • Great for finding primary source documents to support advanced research on women and women's issues from colonial times to 1950.

Women Writers Online
  • Provides full-text access to important books by and about women published from 1400 to 1850.
  • Updated Continuously
  • Great for quick access to major historical works by and about women.
Other Databases
Women's Studies is an interdisciplinary subject. To locate other databases related to women's studies and issues return to the database page, and examine the database descriptions listed under other subject areas that relate to your research. For example, if you are researching the work of Charlotte Perkins Gilman, databases in the Language and Literature category would also be useful.

   
Women's Studies Research Guide
 
     
Return to the previous page

 

Contact Us Claremont University Consortium Home Home